We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sushi, great mains and decent wine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locos De Asar

Locos De Asar
San Jose 1065, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
00598 2903-2120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 453 restaurants in Montevideo
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Parrilla y restaurant ubicado en el centro de Montevideo a pasos de los principales hoteles, nos especializamos en parrilla tipica Uruguaya seleccionamos los mejores cortes Angus para deleite de los paladaresmas exigentes, contamos tambien con una amplia y variada carta en la queel comensal encontrará pastas caseras elaboradas por nuestros chef, asi como tambien la cocina vasca a cargo del reconocido chef Jesus Lariz Iriondo, carnes de caza, pescados y mariscos y postres artesanales. A la noche el cliente dispones del asesoramiento de nuestro sommelier Artigas Velazquez, visitenos y comprobará la calidad de nuestros paltos y el esmerado servicio de nuestro personal complementado por una calida decoracion y musica funcional acorde, contamos ademas con aire acondicionado y a la noche custodia privada en el acceso. Los esperamoscon gusto en nuestra casa para hacerlo sentir como nuestro invitado especial.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Sushi, great mains and decent wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This place was close to our hostel, and we tried it cos it said sushi outside. Absolutely delighted with our decision, gorgeous sushi, then a lovely main, and two bottles of descent cheap wine. Total bill including tip was 2000 pesos which is 40 euro each, great value. 5/5

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    40
    41
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

It was a very big disappointment. I asked for a expensive "exportation bife de chorijo" I got a over-nerved grassy beef I would never had. Desserts have not inspiration. The attendants didn´t went neither looked to your table, so you would have to shake your hands to call them, and they made a face that serving you was a favour. Wines are common and overpriced. You simple pay too much for a less than average food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Meats were almost inedible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We were referred by the Oxford Hotel to this restaurant. They said it had the best meat around. We were interested, because we had not yet tasted the meat in South America. We ordered skewers containing chicken, beef, pork and two kinds of sausage. Although we enjoyed watching the cook at the big open fire, and the waiter was very professional and friendly, the meat was terrible. We spent about $140 USD for the meal and a bottle of low-priced wine. We only tasted each of the meat choices. We had no desire to eat more than that.
It was unfortunate that that was our first experience with meats in South America, because we avoided meat for the rest of our trip, even after we returned to Argentina. Two days before we left to return to the states, we tried beef in a great restaurant in Buenos Aires and absolutely loved it. We were so sorry that we had avoided meat until then.www.locosdeasar

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“We loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

A beautiful place, shared with the Tannat restaurant just beside, with excellent service, good wine list and good food. We actually tried the parilla platter which was yummy, especially the beef Angus that was melting in the mouth.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel, and we had high expectations as it was our only parrilla in Uruguay. We ordered the combo parrilla for 2. The ribs were almost all fat and inedible. The entrecot was so tough it was hard to cut. The chicken was dry and tough on the outside and almost raw at the bone. The waiter ignored us through the whole meal and we only managed to get the bill by asking another waiter. Overall a real dissapointment. We are confident that are many great parrilla places in Montevideo, but this is NOT one of them.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locos De Asar also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Locos De Asar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locos De Asar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.