We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel... Thin walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterCity Premium Hotel Montevideo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterCity Premium Hotel Montevideo to your Saves list
InterCity Premium Hotel Montevideo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ibiray 2398 esq. Echeverria | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Montevideo
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good hotel... Thin walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at Intercity for 4 nights, from May 29th till June 2nd.

I loved the location, the staff, the bed, the shower size and water pressure, the free Wi-Fi (good signal).

The hotel is located at “Punta Carretas”, a very nice and safe neighborhood. I personally didn’t and wouldn’t stay in “Ciudad Vieja” because it can be dangerous at night. Punta Carretas area has excellent restaurants, bakeries, parks and shopping places. It’s close to Punta Carretas Shopping (mall) and safe to walk around, even at night. There are also many buses that go from ’21 de Septiembre” to everywhere in the city. And if you don’t have a lot of luggage, take the DM1 “Punta Carretas” bus at the airport and you’ll be just 3 blocks away from the hotel.

The hotel was nice, looked new, very friendly and helpful staff. The room I stayed at was small and the shower room had some spots that could be cleaner, but overall nice.

Things I didn’t like: The walls were thin, at least in my room. I could hear people talking in other rooms, their television on, some banging at the walls, and every time someone would flush or take a shower. Also, the cleaning staff woke me up on my first morning there. It was around 9 AM and I heard voices and a lot of noise coming from the hall. When I opened the door to see what was going on, I was surprised to see that all that noise came from the cleaning ladies.

The breakfast was good, but it would be nice to have more options (the 4 days I was there they served the exactly same thing). Fresh orange juice would also be a nice touch.

The Wi-Fi worked well during all my stay.

I also loved the shower and the water pressure. One of the best ever!

The daily rate was reasonable. I booked directly at their website and got a good value.

Overall, the stay was good. With some drawbacks, but I would stay there again. I would definitely take my earplugs though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    297
    51
    8
    6
See reviews for
130
280
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The staff were great, and they gave us some helpful advice about Montevideo. The breakfast (included in the price) was very good. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood, near some restaurants and bars. Overall, it's a pretty bare bones hotel. The room was a decent size. Ikea-ish furniture. The bathroom could have been cleaned better. We also had an unpleasant smell in our room, possibly coming from the plumbing. If we return to Montevideo (which we'd like to) we'll stay elsewhere, but it's not a bad place for one night at the price. For a longer stay I'd find somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good apartments, clean, located in front of a school in Punta Carretas neighborhood and 7 blocks from the main Mall: Punta Carretas Shopping.
Gentle and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.
But if you go by car, you will may have to park it on the street. There is a small garage for maybe six or seven car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The staff at this hotel are very helpful and friendly and speak enough English to give you directions advice and book tours. The room we had was big, clean and quite. The breakfast is excellent, fresh fruit, pastries and eggs which you have in the dining room on the ground floor. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I spent a total of 4 nights at this hotel in February 2013.

Positives: The room was clean and comfortable, the (included) breakfast in the restaurant was very good, and the service was excellent, especially at the front desk. The price was reasonable, about $110/night all inclusive. The location is pretty good, in a residential neighborhood with shopping and restaurants within reasonable walking distance.

Negatives: As with most South American hotels we have stayed in, a king bed was unavailable, so we settled for two twins. There was no dresser, so we had trouble figuring out where to put our clothes. There were no washcloths, which again seems to be par for the course in South America.

Mixed: Dinner in the restaurant was mostly good but there was one dish that was not explained well, and that we found inedible. The internet was pretty slow overall, making Skype nearly unusable, but at least it was included in the room rate and the speed was acceptable for general web surfing most of the time.

Overall, definitely a positive experience; we would stay there again gladly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent just two nights here on a work-related trip and it was an almost perfect experience. The room was spacious, comfortable and reasonably priced ($140), the welcome at checkin was friendly, and in perfect English, and the location convenient. Because I travel a fair bit for work I almost always comment on the availability or not of internet access, because so many hotels charge extra for this, and at rates that are often quite high, and frankly, a rip-off. I hope that in a few more years a good wi-fi signal throughout the hotel will be part of the room price and just regarded as standard. Until then, this hotel is exemplary: strong, free signal throughout. No complaints: I recommend this hotel and will return myself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 04 days in Montevideo at Intercity. We really enjoyed our stay, since the hotel is new, good spacious rooms, free Wi-fi and the breakfast is quite reasonable.
The location is good, but you should walk about 01km to reach the Shopping Punta Carretas and a little more to the beaches.
I would come back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterCity Premium Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCity Premium Hotel Montevideo

Address: Ibiray 2398 esq. Echeverria | Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — InterCity Premium Hotel Montevideo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the fancy neighborhood of Punta Carretas, and with free smart services such as breakfast and Internet, the new and modern InterCity Premium Montevideo hotel offers an excellent stay in outstanding rooms with panoramic windows and beautiful views of the city. Spacious and luxurious rooms with beds that are a dream come true and will make you want to stay forever. Sumptuous bathrooms covered in porcelain tiles, with warm floor and shower with massage control. All rooms have free wireless Internet access. The hotel is located in the well-known and elegant neighborhood of Punta Carretas in Montevideo, the best option to stay at as it is a neighborhood combining the quietness of residential areas with restaurants, shops and offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterCity Premium Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterCity Premium Hotel Montevideo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.