We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of After Hotel Montevideo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added After Hotel Montevideo to your Saves list
After Hotel Montevideo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arturo Prat 3755, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Montevideo
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A small hotel with good access to airport and city centre. Close to Montevideo shopping centre.
Small but adequate rooms for short stay. Very busy reception, could do with more staff at busy times.
Good breakfast, staff were helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro S, Operations Manager at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Mr.Val,

On behalf of our entire Hotel Staff and myself I would like to thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments about our good breakfast and the excellent service of our staff.

I look forward to having you satayed at our hotel again.

Warm regards,

Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    184
    56
    11
    5
See reviews for
55
171
21
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in March and found it comfortable. The staff were very helpful. We did have an issue with the reception staff(or lack of staff). The reception was very busy as the hotel seems to be used by a lot of airline staff. There seemed to be only on member of staff behin the desk. Internet facilities were only adequate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro S, Operations Manager at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Sra. Joni,

Espero se encuentre bien.

Primeramente quería agradecerle en nombre de nuestro equipo y el mio propio, sus comentarios positivos hacia nuestro hotel, donde hace mención sobre lo servicial que es nuestro staff.

Por otra parte también tomamos nota de su comentario que nos realiza, en lo que refiere a que uno de los días contabamos con poco personal en la recepción al momento de la llegada de la tripulación. Siempre tenemos previsto este tema, en alguna oportunidad sucede que concurrimos a ayudar a otro huésped con alguna necesidad y nos queda descubierta el área por unos minutos.

Desde ya quedo a su entera disposición y esperamos pronto tenerla hospedada nuevamente.

Saludos cordiales,

Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel is in a fine location, especially for business, as they are close to the World Trade Center. The bus to downtown is also easy to catch on the corner. The staff was helpful although they told me one thing about paying in pesos and then said that wasn't correct after i'd taken out the pesos to pay. But otherwise, the breakfast is very good, but the pool is an enlarged, COLD bathtub. It is microscopic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro S, Operations Manager at After Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Artemis,

Espero se encuentre bien.

Quería agradecerle en nombre de nuestro equipo y el mio propio, sus comentarios positivos hacia nuestro hotel, donde hace mención sobre nuestra ubicación, sobre nuestro variado desayuno y la cordialidad de nuestro Staff.

Así mismo tomaremos en cuenta su comentario de su percepción de la piscina. Al momento no tenemos un plan de ampliación de la misma, pero lo tendremos en cuenta para un futuro.

Desde ya quedo a su entera disposición y esperamos pronto tenerlo hospedado nuevamente.

Saludos cordiales,

Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Room could have been a bit larger, but apart from that an excellent hotel. Good value for money. Good breakfast. Well equiped gym for a hotel, small pool, but nice roof terrace area. In all: modern hotel with homely atmosphere.

Special compliments to the staff. A very friendly crew that made us feel at home.

Tip: Check out the pizza place accross the street: great pizza, nice people, nice place, and cheap compared to other restaurants in Montevideo..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location, which I loved. Right across from a little beach, where we could hang out with our daughter and watch the beach soccer etc. When we checked in, we got a free upgrade, which was wonderful. The room was big, with a very comfortable bed, and sofa, and everything was very clean and brand new. The pool is small but nice, and the breakfast is good. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had booked After Hotel because we needed a bit of comfort after staying in hostels for over a week and get a bit of a sleep before we moved on. We stayed for 2 nights, the rooms were very comfortable and clean, with a great shower. The breakfasts that were available were great, cereals, fruits, breads, meats and hot foods.
There was a small gym on the top floor along with a swimming pool and terrace facilities, very nice to look over the Buceo area of the city and the World Trade Centre.
Because it was next to the World Trade Centre it was a bit away from the City Centre, but not that far that you were on the bus for ages.
If you go 2 streets up from the hotel there was a shopping centre and a street that was bustling with bars.
There is nowhere to eat or drink along the promenade/beach.
All in all, After Hotel did the trick for us, we were needing to recharge the batteries and this hotel certainly allowed us to do that.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our company selects the hotel, so I have no choice in selection. The issue are as follows:

Noise: Street noise is excessive, all day and all night - cars, people, dogs and horses.

Internet: If you like dial up type speed you will love it! If you want to do work or Skype forget about it.

Room Service: Three time after midnight I have tried to order and each time they have said the only thing they can make is a ham and cheese sandwich. Several items are listed but on the after 12AM menu but they will only make the one item. That would be OK if it has been good but I would put in the below average category.

Shower: The tub is narrow so standing in it and not banging into the walls take some effort. If you a big person your not going to enjoy this at all. Water pressure is just acceptable.

Beds: Most of my fellow workers find the beds to be hard. I found them OK and soft goods on the beds were acceptable.

Rooms: The rooms have been clean but I don't see any way they can mitigate the street nose so if sleep is important look for another location.

Pool: I did not test the pool temp but the roof top pool deck was clean and nice.

Staff: The Room Service staff is not great if you only speak english. It took four calls today to order a club sandwich. On the third call after giving the girl my room number three times she simply hung up. I had to call a fourth time and ask the front desk to take care of it. Front desk staff is always nice and they try to be helpful

ATM: The hotel could use an ATM, the only other choice is to walk over to the Mall and find one.

On our work chat board most members are calling for a change from this hotel do to the noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to After Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about After Hotel Montevideo

Address: Arturo Prat 3755, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — After Hotel Montevideo 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After Hotel is located next to the Yacht Club, World Trade Center Montevideo, Montevideo Shopping Mall and Montevideo Free Zone. The area has recently been named as the new "City" of Uruguay's capital city. Situated in a vibrant area full of night clubs and restaurants. After Hotel offers 92 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and safes. Rooms feature city or beach views. LCD televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. This Montevideo hotel provides complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and direct-dial phones. Housekeeping is offered daily and wake-up calls can be requested. After Hotel features an international restaurant "Morado", and a coffee and cocktail bar called "20 pasos Cafe" (Spanish for 20 steps to the coffee and drinks) where our guests can enjoy nice cocktails and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your After Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage After Hotel Montevideo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.