We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Esplendor Hotel, Montevideo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Montevideo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Esplendor Hotel Montevideo to your Saves list
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Soriano 868, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Montevideo
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Esplendor Hotel, Montevideo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was a lovely hotel with great friendly staff, especially receptionist Guzmon who was extremely helpful to us. The hotel has been renovated and the rooms are very good, and there are interesting artworks in the lobbies. The free wi-fi was very welcome, and there was a lounge with television also. Breakfast is in the top floor (6th floor) and has an interesting view of the rooftops of downtown Montevideo! Overall, a great value hotel, great staff, and I would recommend to others without hesitation. Fiona & Ross, Sheltand, Scotland, UK

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor had a very tiny balcony onto the street - just big enough to stand in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdoue-GteEsplendor, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Esplendor Montevideo!
Thak you for your time and your comments.
Hope to see you on your next stay with us.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    188
    89
    39
    27
See reviews for
79
188
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked a suite and the room was very nice. The room a had a huge bed, a big flat screen tv, a mini bar and a good size jacuzzi bath. We really like dour room although there were a lot of scuff marks on the wall. A quick paint job would of done wonders.

The included breakfast was served on the sixth floor in a very nice room with a view of the ocean in the distance and some pretty buildings around it. The choice on offer for breakfast was very good.

The hotel had a good small gym, spa and swimming pool.

The location was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdoue-GteEsplendor, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It really helps in order to give a better service every day.
We apreciate your commento about the paint job. We are working on that, now we have finished the 5ft floor.

Looking forwar to welcome you back any time soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Chile
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The good: location (2 blocks from Teatro Solis) and price. I could not find de 4 stars. Weeks in advance we asked for a room with twin beds, they gave us joined beds. The staff is young and nice, but all the time we need to repeat our requests. The hair dryer did not work, we shared a portable hair dryer with another passangers. The towels have different shades of grey, and some of them had stains. Every day the knobs in the shower felt off. The bed sheets seem clean but they have stains. The internet signal in our room was weak, we use the computers in the lobby all the time. We used the swiming pool but the water was very cold. We got into the sauna to stop shivering. The floors were wet and very slipery, we have to put a towel on the floor to be able to walk to the sauna. The breakfast was standard. The entrance door to the breakfast area got stuck for days. My mothet and cousin were on another room and we could not call them on the phone, the internal communication system never worked, I was glad that we were only 1 floor apart. The products in the bathroom were basic, bring your own hair conditioner and body cream. I was glad we were only 1 floor apart. I agreed that for the price and the location was a good choice, and the street was quiet. The hotel has everything, But so many things went wrong or they were just OK...next time we will try another place.

Room Tip: So far this area is quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel is a lovely old building, sympathetically modernised with the reception area being an interesting blend of old and new. However, in other places like corridors and dining room, it still looks like a work in progress. Being central you either overlook walls or a busy road as expected. The air conditioning in our room was ineffectual and the towels decidedly grubby and grey. We were only given two towels as well. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Hotel Esplendor offered good facilities and rooms at a reasonable price. Breakfast was good and the hotel was very well located, only two blocks from Plaza Independencia. Recommended for those on a budget who want a range of facilities in a well located hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel is on a beautiful historic building and has a very modern eclectic design, which we loved. The rooms are standard, we had to change once because the a/c wasnt working and in the other room the a/c made noises but since it was only one night we let it pass.

The pool and sauna area are great, they are indoor, although they can heat up the pool a bit more. Breakfast is plenty on a nice top area of the hotel, they should let the balcony open though.

Overall is was a good stay and experience, great wifi signal and decor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

...taking into account that it's relatively budget-friendly, offers free breakfast and use of gym, sauna and swimming pool, as well as a high-speed internet connection, it's definitely priceworthy. Also, a big plus for allowing us to check in at 7 a.m. AND have a free breakfast on our check-in day!

Some more attention could be paid to details, but if you'd need a good place to stay in central Montevideo and don't want to bust your budget, we'd definitely recommend Esplendor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendor Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Montevideo

Address: Soriano 868, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel Montevideo 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo is located in the heart of the recently inaugurated Barrio Literario. The property was residence of important historical characters, such as Julio Cortazar who wrote “The Condemned Door” inspired by a room of the old hotel.The old building was completely refurbished to achieve this beautiful boutique hotel, keeping the distinctive facade of the old lodging but remodeling the interior to offer comfort, relax and a unique experience of design and innovation.Esplendor Hotel Montevideo offers, among many conveniences, indoor pool, spa, two meeting rooms and the old Cervantes Theater completely remodeled to be used as ballroom while keeping its ancient splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.