We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dind´t like it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Hotel Montevideo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Esplendor Hotel Montevideo to your Saves list
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Soriano 868, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dind´t like it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

There is no parking in the Hotel. Feeling not to safe in the neighborhood at night. No heating in the bathrooms. Air conditiner wasn't enough for heating the bedroom. Breakfast was OK. The hotel was quiet, and has comfortable beds. But generally not very well mantained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    233
    114
    48
    32
See reviews for
96
241
30
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Argentina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

It was our first stay at this hotel. My wife and I spent 2 nights there, 16 and 17 July.

The hotel was quiet, has very comfortable beds, provides a most acceptable breakfast buffet and the staff are polite and very helpful.

In addition the hotel is a short walk to 18 de Julio, the main avenue of Montevideo,. All buses travel along this avenue . The bus trariff is Peso $20..

We have visited Montevideo many times and this hotel is the best that we have experienced in Montevideo.

Room Tip: Request a room with WIFI service
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I had a prepaid reservation for two rooms. When arriving to the hotel they informed me that my rooms were not available and the hotel staff did nothin to solve my problem. When visiting Montevideo, this should be your last option!/ tenia dos habitaciones ya paga (con anticipacion). Al llegar al hotel me informen que mi habitacin no esta disponible y no hacen un solo esfuerzo en resolver el problema que ellos generaron. Si visitas Montevideo, este hotel tiene que ser tu ultima opcion! Pesimo.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Even i made my reservation online with Expedia, they did not have it when I arrived. The hotel was with high occupancy so the gave my a handicap room with two sgl bed. My reservation was made for 1 queen bed. Sorry this is the last room we have...
The bed is terrible, completely sunken in the midle. The room was dirty, and they are many stains spots in the bathroom.
Breakfast is very poor and was hard to get a clean table.
The only thing that worked was wifi,

Room Tip: Don´s stay at the handicap room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montevideo, uruguay
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I choose this hotel for a friend, specially for the pool as part of a winter week end plan: but it was a great deception because it wasn't warm. Room its ok, nice bathroom and good room service.

As in other reviews its said , the area is not the best at night, and all the stuff about Barrio de Las letras , doesn't exist, there are some theaters nearby , but don expect more than that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had a really great time here. The view was awesome. The staff were super helpful. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The view was great. The rooftop room was we're breakfast is. Great view and really nice buffet. Great little details - like iMacs for the lobby computers, wall plugs that don't need adapters. Very well located. I couldn't have been happier.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good location. You can walk from here to main atractions - Teatro Solis, Ciudad Vieja, feria de domingo... Very friendly and cozy.
The exception: the blond recepcionist in the morning. I told her 3 times to fix the security box in the room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendor Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Montevideo

Address: Soriano 868, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel Montevideo 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo is located in the heart of the recently inaugurated Barrio Literario. The property was residence of important historical characters, such as Julio Cortazar who wrote “The Condemned Door” inspired by a room of the old hotel.The old building was completely refurbished to achieve this beautiful boutique hotel, keeping the distinctive facade of the old lodging but remodeling the interior to offer comfort, relax and a unique experience of design and innovation.Esplendor Hotel Montevideo offers, among many conveniences, indoor pool, spa, two meeting rooms and the old Cervantes Theater completely remodeled to be used as ballroom while keeping its ancient splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.