We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Don Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Don Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Piedras 234 | esq. Perez Castellanos, Montevideo, Uruguay   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Art Deco Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

TIn the historic center of Montevideo footsteps from the Mercado del Puerto
Beautifully Art Deco Boutique Hotel very nice solarium and swimming pool
Connected to the best restaurant of Montevideo El Palenque
The hotel has a private parking and a super breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo D, Director Comercial at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Frank,

First of all I would like to personally thank you for leaving your review about your positive experience with us at the Don.

I am happy to read that you found our hotel to be an "Art Deco Jewel" and also due to you valued our proposal and services. Further, I am also glad to know that you valued our service by 5/5 since we all make a great effort on a daily basis to try to provide service excellence.

Furthermore, it is also a pleasure to get to know that you had an excellent gastronomical experience at El Palenque, from which you are correct about your comments, the referent and traditional restaurant of ours is one of the best options of the city to have an epic gastronomical experience.

We look forward to have the pleasure of receiving you again at the Don,

Warm regards from the Don!

Adolfo Díaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    67
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
128
16
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent two nights here in June. Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast included. Located across from the market by the port and in the old city, but still an easy walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo D, Director Comercial at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Joe,

First of all, thanks for leaving your review about your positive experience at our Don, I am personally happy to read that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us.

Additionally, I am also happy due to you valued our staff, rooms and breakfast, thanks for your positive comments regarded to them, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. Moreover, I will personally tell the rest of the staff that you valued our service, since such comments tend to enlighten our sparks to continue to improve and provide excellent experiences toour guests.

Last, but not least, also thanks for valuing our location, as you well said, it is a specially convenient hotel for people who need to be near the Center of Montevideo, the traditional "Mercado del Puerto", the "Old City" and the Port of Montevideo.

I look forward to have the pleasure of receiving you again at our Don Boutique Hotel.

Warm regards from the Don.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very well located, new, clean, beautiful, nice service and with a fantastic rooftop... If you want to stay at Ciudad Vieja I'm sure there is no other better option............................................ :D

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo D, Director de Recepción at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Deaer Ti_Vidal,

First of all I would like to personally thank you for leaving your review about your experience at our Don Boutique Hotel in Trip Advisor.

Secondly, it is a pleasure to read that you had a very positive experience with us and that you think that our Don is the best option in the Old City.

Further, in regards to your comments, it is also a pleasure for me to read that you valued our location, cleaniness, design and service. We all try hard day by day to try to provide positive experiences with outstanding service to all of our guests.

We look forward to have the pleasure of receiving you again.

Warm regards from the Don!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Don is a small hotel in a terrific location -- on a quiet small street near the public market and the ferry dock. The neighborhood is diverse and full of interesting shops and restaurants. It's walking distance to many attractions and it's easy to grab a cab. The hotel is clean and attentive to small comforts. The staff are extremely helpful and our room rate was a bargain by Montevideo standards. The only thing I didn't like were the tvs in the lobby, which no one watched and they distracted from the ambiance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo D, Director de Recepción at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Yabolo,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your review of your experience our Don Boutique Hotel in Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that your experience was "Great" at our Don.

In regards to your comments related to our location, we are also happy to read that you valued it, as you well mentioned, we have a few "strengths" aligned to our location.

On the other hand, we are also delighted to know that you found our little Don clean and comfortable.

Concerning the staff performance, it is also a pleasure to read that our staff was extremely helpful, since day by day we make a great effort to try to provide a very good service and it is important to us to read from guests that they value our efforts.

Last but not least, in relation to your comments about the TV's, honestly I do tend to agree with you in that it can distract someone from the ambiance, though honestly some guests do watch the TV's. Anyway, I will let management know about your view in regards to this aspect.

We look forward to have the pleasure of receiving you again at the Don "Yabolo".

Warm regards from the Don!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensheim
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great place, especially the rooftop pool area, great service, staff members "con corazón", delicious breakfast. People living in the really poor neighborhood don't appreciate to be surrounded by well-off tourists.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo D, Director de Recepción at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Iris-Andrea,

Thanks for reviewing us on TripAdivsor, we appreciate it!

Thanks to your valuable feedback we can take it into consideration so as to improve a provide better experiences to our guests.

In regards to your comments, we loved to hear that you loved the place and the roof top pool area, while also our service. We all make a huge effort at the Don to provide positive experiences to our guests, we insist on the service at a daily basis and it is always a pleasure to hear that a guest values it!

In regards to the neighborhood, you are correct, this neighborhood is a business are with plenty of movement by day though not at night. As you also well mentioned, sometimes you can cross with people that don´t appreciate to be surrounded by well-off tourists, but sometimes yes!

We look forward to receive you again at the Don Hotel.

Warm regards from the Don team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at the Don Boutique hotel for our honeymoon. I'll try to make this quick and easy for you.

PROS:
- complimentary glass of sparkling wine when we walked in, not bad!
- comfortable bed, pillows
- good bath products
- very good complimentary breakfast
- kind, attentive staff

CONS:
- pool isn't warmed
- no restaurant in-house (read: no room service)
- neighborhood is being gentrified. few businesses are open after 6, so it becomes a ghost town and you need to take a cab everywhere (or the bus, if you can figure that out.) you need to be aware of your surroundings when walking around at night. it's not dangerous, but if you're not from a city and used to it or not a seasoned traveler, you will look like a target.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo D, Director de Recepción at Don Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Casey,

Thanks for choosing us for your honey moon, it was a pleasure for us having you both at our hotel!

Also thanks for mentioning several positive aspects of our service, all the personnel works hard day by day to try to pursue service excellence and every aspect of the hotel was thought to provide positive, unique and comfy experiences to all of our guests.

In regards to the cons you mentioned, you are correct, the pool wasn't warmed when you stayed at our Don. In relation to this, generally the pool is warmed at this season but the warming machine was being fixed during the last days and the pool needs 3 days with the machine turned on in order to get warm.

In regards to the restaurant, you are correct, it isn't in-house, however it is in front of our hotel at the traditional and amazing "Mercado del Puerto", which to be precise, it is located only at a 20 feet distance.

Concerning the neighborhood, I must say that what you felt is also felt by several guests. The "Old City" is a neighborhood which is full of movement till 18:00 hrs, then it is a little bit freaky. However, I also need to say to you that now it is safer due to security cameras have been established recently in many corners.

We look forward to have the pleasure of counting with your presence at our hotel.

Warm regards from the Don team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We booked initially for just 3 nights, but ended up staying a week. We used this hotel in Montevideo as a base for trips along the Uruguay coast. It's a lovely boutique hotel with the best staff. A big thanks to Ignacio, Nicolas and Gonzalo who were very helpful with renting a vehicle, giving directions, recommending restaurants and any other questions we had. And Daniel serves the best breakfasts, which is included in the cost of the room. Fresh squeezed orange juice every morning was a treat, and you could have eggs any style to the already fully loaded plate that was put in front of you every morning.

We also liked the very comfortable memory foam pillows and view of the market (amazing BBQs or parillas) right across the street. One evening a group was sitting out listening to someone playing the guitar. Very nice, and we got to enjoy it as well. They also have a rooftop terrace and pool which was a nice surprise.

The only downside was that we visited just after the new year, when the streets were almost deserted and many restaurants were closed.

But again, can't say enough about the great staff. Gracias Ignacio, Nicolas, Gonzalo and Daniel you made our stay in Montevideo a wonderful experience and we will have wonderful memories always of Uruguay because of their kindnesses.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face the market, but the back is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Boutique Hotel

Address: Piedras 234 | esq. Perez Castellanos, Montevideo, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Don Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Don is an exclusive Boutique Hotel created in an Art-Deco traditional builiding decorated with a modern style. In addition, it offers 2 roof tops, one with a pool and another one with panoramic views to the city and the Rio de la Plata. To sum up, it also has a solarium and a bar with views to the Centro of Montevideo.The Don is located in the traditional Old City, in front of the referent Mercado del Puerto, a metres from the Port of Montevideo.The rooms of the Don have an elegant decoration with tones of black and white. They are created with the floor of wood and count with an air conditioner, TC LCD with cable and Free high speed Wi-Fi each. Some rooms also count with private jacuzzis.The traditional and referent restaurant of the hotel, El Palenque, prepres regional and traditional local dishes and it also offers ones of the best wines of South America.Breaktasts are provided between 7:30 and 11:00 am, and are a la carte. A few options are croissants, fresh organge juice and fruits between another tasty options.Lastly, it also offers free parking to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Don Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.