We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Zonamerica

Save Saved
You added Regency Zonamerica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency Zonamerica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 8 km. 17 | Jacksonville, Montevideo, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 80 hotels in Montevideo
Chongqing, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

it is really very nice hotel,quiet,clean.
There is a little story.We booked this hotel by my parnter in Uruguay,price is USD140.but we checked tripadvisor,it is only USD109.After dscussing this issue with hotel,hotel promised USD109 is OK.
This hotel is too far to downtown.Hotel has shuttle bus between downtown and hotel.
Everyday night 20:00 departure,23:00 back to hotel.
If you often go to downtown and no car,please consider carefully.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    33
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
29
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

From the outside, and even the inside, this looks like a nice hotel. It is sited on a former research farm and surrounded by open fields which are very scenic. But, once checked in, the many shortcomings begin to appear. The room was clean and spacious, but was outfitted with only small twin beds. They were very light so that every time I moved in bed, it would shift across the floor. The night stands beside the beds were shaped like mushrooms with room only for a very small clock-radio and no place to put a magazine or book. The bathroom was okay, but the toilet seat was loose and in constant danger of slipping off the base. Most of the time, I did not need the heat (it was winter), but when I did turn it on, the fan was very noisy and every time it cut on or off, it was loud enough to wake me. The gym facilities were quite limited. Two of the three treadmills were broken and the elliptical machine was so flimsy that it was in danger of falling apart if used vigorously. For breakfast, the offering was pretty limited, with sliced fruit (nor very good), a small offering of cereal, bread, cheese, ham and some scrambled eggs. The staff were pleasant and professional, and definitely made up for some of the other physical deficiencies.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at the Regency Zonamerica in November 2012 while on my first visit to South America. The Regency Zonamerica is located in a beautiful countryside setting outside of Montevideo. It is very quiet and safe at night, with lots of free parking. It has an outdoor pool and a small indoor gym on the second level.

The room was pleasantly decorated, clean, and well-maintained. At first I was going to give it a three, then I decided that at least it was a good bargain for the money so I raised my rating to four.

I agree with other reviewers that the Regency seems to be trying to pass itself off as a slick, upscale, sophisticated business hotel (since after all, it's next to the Zonamerica business park), but it's really not. U.S. travelers will find it quite average and roughly equivalent to a decent Holiday Inn Express or Best Western.

As everyone has noted, the most serious problem with this hotel is its location. Like many other countries, Uruguay is lagging far behind the U.S. in developing suburbs equipped with both upscale hotels and shopping centers, so Regency Zonamerica is your only decent option if you want to stay in the suburbs.

In other words, if you are visiting Montevideo, you either have to stay in the middle of the city and put up with the city noise at night, or you can to rent a car and drive in from Regency Zonamerica. But if you choose the latter, then you have to put up with the annoying paucity of any restaurants or shopping centers near the hotel!

However, you do get to see the "real" Uruguay while traveling along Route 8 between Regency Zonamerica and Centro, as opposed to the relatively upscale neighborhoods of Carrasco along Avenida Italia which links the airport to Centro.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I found this hotel desperately average, to be brutally honest - it certainly attempts to be a stylish business hotel but the cost-cutting at every turn means that it falls short...

Admittedly, just over $100/night isn't a bad price for a half-decent, modern hotel, but I can't help feeling that most international business travellers will be left feeling somewhat underwhelmed.

The rooms are pretty basic: plastic flooring, cheap pillows & mattresses, small low-pressure shower heads, no shower gel, no black-out blinds/curtains, wardrobe with only one sliding door (so, one side is always open? really?! why?!).

Dinner options were very limited (probably the shortest menu I've seen in a hotel of this type), breakfast was barely adequate: the scrambled eggs were nice, but why no toast (or, even sliced bread)? Every bread roll and pastry was well past its best. The fruit was similarly unappealing. The staff were more interested in watching the TV in the bar than providing any sort of service.

Facilities: gym - small; spa - hot tub felt a bit grubby; 3 outdoor swimming pools? Well, let's be honest: it's one pool split into 3 sections...

Overall, it's adequate but it could all be so much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Great quiet and relaxing place to stay near the airport. We had an early flight out of MVD and chose to stay at this hotel. Reception was friendly and professional. Our room was large, clean and modern, with a beautiful view of the pool and countryside and a nice cozy bed with lots of soft pillows (with a comforter!). This was also the only hotel during our four week trip with small bath towels! The hotel isn't close to any restaurants or entertainment, so the free shuttle to some dining options in the Carassco area was very convenient.

My only critiques are that the grout around the bath tub was full of black mildew and some minor stains on the duvet cover...pretty gross, but below par housekeeping seems like a trend here during our stay in Brazil, Argentina, and Uruguay. The front desk agent at 5am (who just woke up from a nap), also provided my husband with horrible instructions to the airport, which nearly caused us to miss our flight. Besides this, we still enjoyed our stay and would love to return to this hotel if we need to be close to MVD.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

friendly and helpful staff, which is very very difficult to find in Uruguay. conveniently located 15 mins from the airport. there is also a free transport to the city.
the hotel is clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

Excellent attention!
It is quite far from Montevideo (you should go with a car or rent one), but the place where is located is quiet and with lot of green.
The food at the restaurant is excellent, but the menu is too short.
The pool is awesome.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Zonamerica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Zonamerica

Address: Ruta 8 km. 17 | Jacksonville, Montevideo, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 80 hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Zonamerica 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Regency Zonamerica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Zonamerica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.