We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERIOUS COOKING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Francis

Restaurant Francis
Luis de la Torre 502 | esquina Jose María Montero -Punta Carretas, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
598-2 7118603
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 453 restaurants in Montevideo
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Torremolinos, Spain
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
691 helpful votes 691 helpful votes
“SERIOUS COOKING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our hotel Sheraton recommended--it was amazing.
really busy with outside seating
many staff--great service---excellent FRESH FISH.
Expensive for URUGUAY but on an International basis -acceptable.
I strongly recommend

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    823
    425
    92
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good and fairly child-friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've been at Francis twice, both times for lunch.
The space is quite nice and the service has been quite good.
I've had Sushi both times, my husband had a nice baby beef with sweet potatos and our friends shared a Brasero. There is a child menu which should have some veggetables, but it's quite ok.
Everything was delicious and with good presentation. I particularly like the desserts at Francis, cheese cake was delicious, my daughter shared pancake with "dulce de leche" which is quite big and tasty (good for 2).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We tried this restaurant upon arriving in Montevideo, on our first night. It was Christmas Day, which might account for the higher price of the meal. This basically is our only complaint. The meal and service were very good. I recommend it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overcooked!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We ordered our stakes medium rare and sent them back twice due to being overcooked. When the third piece of meat also was overcooked we lost our faith and ate anyway. :-(

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived quite ealry (around 8:30) on a Monday evening and were luck there was still a couple of tables without reservation, carefull! The food was just perfect, we had meat, a plate for 2 which has a fantastic taste and a lot of food. We had a tannat wine, good selection offered by the restaurant. There is also an octopus grileed as appetizer which is very very good. The price is not cheap but definetely worth it ( slightly above 100usd/person) - recomemend it, great restaurant, i will definetely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Francis also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Restaurant Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.