We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh ingredients in a "secret location" in the Old City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Beso - CLOSED

El Beso
Reconquista 587 | Ciudad VIeja, Montevideo 11009, Uruguay (Ciudad Vieja)
0059829166141
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Dessert, European, Contemporary, Eclectic
Neighborhood: Ciudad Vieja
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Ciudad Vieja
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients in a "secret location" in the Old City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The problem with this lovely restaurant is that it's not open on weekends or in the evening as far as we can see. It should be!

It's rare to see cilantro on a menu in Montevideo. Here you have it, along with hearty home-made soups, wonderful fresh bread basket... We recommend this place to our clients who are 1. fed up with meat 2. vegetarians (who typically have a hard time in this part of the world finding something different and tasty to eat).

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
América del Sur
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, short menu, nice food, good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

"El Beso" is located in the Old City, near the "Solis Theatre".
The place has also a shop inside.
There are few options in the menu, including an executive one.
Food was good; attention was excellent; the place is very nice.
I liked the dessert: "Tortita tibia de chocolate" (chocolate cake).
You can let your impressions - handwritten - in a notebook (old style).....

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“WOW. Loved it. An oasis in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Not sure where to start. This is a renovated building on the outskirts of the Ciudade Vieja, an area that many Montevideans avoid because it is dangerous at times, this spot is not though and is very near the teatro Colon. What I love about it is its courage in being different. First it is all painted in white, something fairly unusual in this city where most interiors are sombre. And it has plenty if light. It is part restaurant, part boutique, part art gallery, and part clothes shop. I went for the food base don Trip Advisor reviews. Ended up having a long talk with owner Rossana and her friend Maria Laura, both delightful and charming. The whole atmosphere radiates positive energy and LOVE. Tasty, healthy, fresh food. You cannot go wrong.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

My husband and I came to the restaurant on the recommendation of our B&B hosts. We were thrilled with the recommendation! Everything was perfect. Everyone was very friendly to us, especially our server who was just delightful in every way. El Beso has a wide range of fresh and delicious choices on their menu, from soups and salads to savory tortes to wonderful desserts. During lunch they have at least three daily specials. On our first visit I had the fish special that came with a fabulous side of sauted spinach with carmalized onions and some other goodies (which would be great as a main entree). My husband had an onion and cheese torte with a big, fresh salad. El Beso also has a menu of the day where you can add soup and/or dessert for an extra price (or not). After lunch they have a lighter menu of sandwiches, salads and tortes (plus beverages, and desserts). We both had their unique ice tea with ginger, sugar and mint, and we thought it was excellent. They are open from 10 until 6, closed on Sunday.

The atmosphere is lovely. There is an outisde courtyard, an separate room with books. The main room has a counter (where you can watch all the action in the kitchen) and the rest of the space has lots of light and is attached to a fabulous gift shop with charming and unusual items. Upstairs there is a cool art gallery and a women's clothes boutique with beautiful hand-made clothes and accessories.

We found this to be a wonderful place to eat and relax in between sightseeing in a beautiful city.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
“Welcome Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Great place to bring a book and enjoy the inner courtyard. Great find!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Beso also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Beso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.