We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need urgent renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Austral Hotel Montevideo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Austral Hotel Montevideo to your Saves list
Austral Hotel Montevideo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hector Gutierrez Ruiz 1296 | esq calle San José, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rooms need urgent renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at Austral Hotel in early August 2012. This is a really modest place that I do not recomend. Rooms need urgent renovation. Dirty walls, old and tiny bath, horrible carpet. The only good points are the breakfast and the location. The shower was basically non-functional. Probably one of the worst places I've been.

Room Tip: Maybe if you say that you know the rooms need renovation, but if they could give you the best one av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    46
    74
    39
    36
See reviews for
23
81
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I thought this hotel was good. The room is quite standard and the bathroom is not as bad as others have made out. The bathroom is a little cramped and the shower curtain sticks to you in the shower but that always happens.

Bed was fine and had two good nights sleep here. The hotel is well located in the city centre, within walking distance of most things. There is a main bus stop less than a minute away which took us to some bars and restaurants a bit further down the road.

The foyer area looked quick cool I thought, being orange and green. The lifts are the older fashion ones where you have to shut two sets of doors behind you.

There is a pc in the foyer area for people to use but i found it slow when I tried to use it. Unfortunately when anyone can use a computer they dont look after it and visit sites they probably shouldnt and it gets clogged with spyware. Anyway, there was free wifi if you have your own devise.

Nice stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

If you want to save money this is a good option, but be aware that the building is old and is desperate for renovations. I bookked my stay thru despegar.com, and there the pics are not from this place, that's why o bought. At list the location is good and the breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Our first stay in Montevideo was quite pleasant and we decided to book this place as it had decent reviews and wasn't going to break the bank.

Negatives - STINKY DIRTY BATHROOM. There was so much mold in our shower it was horrible. As soon as you stepped into the shower, you could just smell an old, musty, dirty smell. Ugly brown fixtures in the bathroom with brown tiling didn't help either.
Bed was squeaky and bouncy. Pillows were SOOOO lumpy.
Shutters missing and our curtains didn't close properly.
Hotel was just very dated and appeared to be stuck in the 1960s or something - the pictures are very misleading.
Room was very noisy with street noise.

Positive - great location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The room was in serious need of gutting... (not just repair) the bathroom looked like it was from 1970 and I'm being generous. The facilities were all brown? The ceiling in the bathroom was covered in mold and was actually falling down in the shower because of the mold. There are so many other hotels in the area, stay somewhere else it will be worth spending a couple extra bucks to not breathe in the mold.

Room Tip: I think some of the upper rooms were renovated, but my best advice is stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

When I first saw my room, I thought it needed a little work, but then I had the breakfast & it was incredible as is the lobby and the wonderful staff & the location is absolutely outstanding. It is near Plaza La Cajancha that is gorgeous & when you have breakfast you look out to incredible architect. A few steps to all bus stops, Plaza Independencia and the beaches!! Fabulously clean, lovely beaches!! Montevideo has class!!!! I stayed at Hotel Austral 1 month and it really felt like home!!! I liked having a small refrigerator in my room.

Room Tip: My room looked out to the street, it wasn't that noisy, but then again...I wear Mack's Earpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Great location and lobby. Breakfast also very good. Room needs a lot of work. Carpet ripped and dirty. Walls need paint, plaster falling from ceiling in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Austral Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austral Hotel Montevideo

Address: Hector Gutierrez Ruiz 1296 | esq calle San José, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austral Hotel Montevideo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Austral Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austral Hotel Montevideo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.