We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Austral Hotel Montevideo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Austral Hotel Montevideo to your Saves list
Austral Hotel Montevideo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hector Gutierrez Ruiz 1296 | esq calle San José, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Our first stay in Montevideo was quite pleasant and we decided to book this place as it had decent reviews and wasn't going to break the bank.

Negatives - STINKY DIRTY BATHROOM. There was so much mold in our shower it was horrible. As soon as you stepped into the shower, you could just smell an old, musty, dirty smell. Ugly brown fixtures in the bathroom with brown tiling didn't help either.
Bed was squeaky and bouncy. Pillows were SOOOO lumpy.
Shutters missing and our curtains didn't close properly.
Hotel was just very dated and appeared to be stuck in the 1960s or something - the pictures are very misleading.
Room was very noisy with street noise.

Positive - great location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    46
    74
    39
    36
See reviews for
23
81
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The room was in serious need of gutting... (not just repair) the bathroom looked like it was from 1970 and I'm being generous. The facilities were all brown? The ceiling in the bathroom was covered in mold and was actually falling down in the shower because of the mold. There are so many other hotels in the area, stay somewhere else it will be worth spending a couple extra bucks to not breathe in the mold.

Room Tip: I think some of the upper rooms were renovated, but my best advice is stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

When I first saw my room, I thought it needed a little work, but then I had the breakfast & it was incredible as is the lobby and the wonderful staff & the location is absolutely outstanding. It is near Plaza La Cajancha that is gorgeous & when you have breakfast you look out to incredible architect. A few steps to all bus stops, Plaza Independencia and the beaches!! Fabulously clean, lovely beaches!! Montevideo has class!!!! I stayed at Hotel Austral 1 month and it really felt like home!!! I liked having a small refrigerator in my room.

Room Tip: My room looked out to the street, it wasn't that noisy, but then again...I wear Mack's Earpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Great location and lobby. Breakfast also very good. Room needs a lot of work. Carpet ripped and dirty. Walls need paint, plaster falling from ceiling in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piriapolis, Uruguay
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed on may 7th for one night because of the location downtown MVD.

The room was extremely small and noisy. Half of the outside shutters were missing, so we could not cut the road noise at all. We asked for another room, but were told they were full.
After an enjoyable visit in the Solis Theatre we had a very noisy night because of the traffic on the street and from our neighbours bathroom. You could even see their light through the vents of our bathroom???!!!

The next day I had a swollen eye and problems with my nose. A typical allergic reaction, which is now after one day is getting better. Normally I do not have problems like this.

Next time we definately need another hotel, if necessary with even higher prices.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

After a few days hostel-travelling was it a really good change to stay for 3 nights in a hotel. This hotel was absolutely fine, clean not that big rooms but very closed to the city center. We had really 3 good days in Montevideo!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

This hotel was chosen by the organisation of the course I was attending due to its excellent location in the center of Montevideo. I shared a tiny room with two twin beds with a colleague. The room smelled of mold and cleaning products. Lots of my colleagues who were staying in the hotel came down with allergies. I had a hard time breathing at night and had to take antihistamines everyday. Keep in mind that I am not prone to allergic reactions of any kind. Wifi internet was free, but awful. The staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austral Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austral Hotel Montevideo

Address: Hector Gutierrez Ruiz 1296 | esq calle San José, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austral Hotel Montevideo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Austral Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austral Hotel Montevideo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.