We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful bar/resto by the sea.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Che Montevideo

Che Montevideo
Rambla Mahatma Gandhi, Montevideo, Uruguay (Punta Carretas)
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 454 restaurants in Montevideo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Punta Carretas
Punta del Este, Maldonado, Uruguay
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Delightful bar/resto by the sea.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

There are not many places actually by the sea, as the authorities dont grant permits not to block the view. Che Montevideo is one of them. Super view, just by the water lapping the deck under your table. Standard menu of cold and hot snacks. Well worth a visit, specially during the day, for the view.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    44
    111
    87
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location, average food, bad service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I been here many times. Each time someone comes to visit I take them here.
PROS:
Location, location location. It's on the water and it has a very nice setting.

CONS:
STAFF - not very friendly
FOOD - is ok, could be MUCH better for the price
PRICE - not cheap for what they offer

I've also notice that it's not very clean. I always check on the bathrooms to value cleanliness and in this case each time I found it dirty. :(

It's a pity coz they could be the BEST place in Mvd...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
“A rip off warning!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After a looong walk along the beautiful rambla, we felt it was time for dinner and have walked into this restaurant, the name we did not even notice at entrance. The setting was attractive, waterfront, nice terrace almost over water and we fell for it. But, that is were the nice ends. The restaurant manager (I suppose it is her role) was quite agressive when we said we did not want any bread and butter for starters, pointing out to us it is a must (as it is we experienced in most of the restaurants in Montevideo and it is highly overpriced!). So, we said ok, lets not call the police over a bowl of bread and butter!
The service was good, though, by the very nice waiter, but the food was not up to scratch and specially not up to the price list given. Be warned - he waterfront is included in the price. So, we said, ok, let's enjoy the meal a bit more expensive then elsewhere, but maybe the taste is worth it. The taste of food was lets say ok, but not amazing, there was a taste of the beach in my salad that I did not appreciate, it was seasoned with the sand, namely. The biggest surprise came with the bill - all the prices in the meni are tax excluded! We were not previously warned of this, which would be fair, considering that price list is higher than elsewhere, excluding tax. This has not happened to us at any other Montevideo restaurant and we have visited quite a few during 6 day visit. That did it. We paid the bill and wanted to leave, when the manager walked up to us with quite an attitude asking us why we did not pay the service charges. As much as we felt sorry for the guy who was the least to blame for the situation, we kept it our right to at least put a stop there to being completely ripped off and walked out of the restaurant leaving the manager a bit gobsmacked, deservingly.
On leaving, we made sure we remembered the name of restaurant - "Che" on Rambla Mahatma Gandhi.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nomadcrazychica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Romantic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We chose to go to this restaurant for my birthday dinner and it was the perfect setting. We sat outside with a nice outdoor view, the service was good, our waiter very attentive, he recommended the special salmon dish, which I chose, but I found it disappointing. It was quite tasteless and dry, even though it was supposed to be seared in honey. The apple pancake and strawberry daiquiri was delicious.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Great seaside view, too hot terrace in summer, food is OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had to sit inside as the terrace was meltiong hot on Dec 23rd 2012, but the place was nice and the views unique of Pocitos seaside coastline. We had the seafood appetizers (tabla de mar) which were a bit oily, I'd rescue the algae empanadillas. The fish and meats were very good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Che Montevideo also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Che Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Che Montevideo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.