We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja

Save Saved
You added El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja
Ituzaingo 1436, Montevideo 11000, Uruguay (Ciudad Vieja)   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Based on value alone, this place is terrible. I cannot understand why this place rates highly on Tripadvisor. 720 pesos a night for an unclean, and very unhygienic bed in a dark and dingy dorm.

*I am talking from comparable experience; hence over 120 reviews.

Feedback for travellers:
The staff are friendly, but that is about it. I have stayed in hostels in the same price range that have been extremely clean, very presentable, very close to beaches, and in nicer parts of a city. They have also had laundry rooms, huge communal areas with DVDs, games, sofas, metal lockers (not wooden drawers that are falling to pieces), clean and spacious bathrooms, etc. Look elsewhere, you can do so much better for the price. Especially because this hostel is in the worst and most dangerous part of town.

Feedback for management:
This hostel needs to dramatically drop the price, or spend more money on cleaning and upgrading the place. Not all backpackers are scruffy, unhygienic and carefree. Some have standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    81
    34
    9
    9
See reviews for
9
26
91
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We booked this hostel through a popular worldwide hostel service due to its high score in previous reviews. However when we arrived we discovered that it does not live up to its reputation.

1) The beds (mattresses) were filthy. There were mattress protectors on them, but these were dirty too.
2) The pillows were not just yellow with age, but stank of stale spit, sweat and urine. When we picked them up to make the beds we discovered just how bad this was - disturbing the pillow wafted the stench straight into our faces and made us feel sick.
3) The 'lockers' under the beds were in such bad repair that I could easily have prised them open using my own teeth. They were certainly not safe places to leave our valuables.
4) The floor in the dormitory had clearly not been swept for days, possibly weeks, with piles of dust and dirt on the floor - not just 'behind the beds' or tucked away in a corner where dirt often collects, but in the main walkway.
5) The bathrooms stank of drains and were filthy.

The receptionist tried to help, and he offered various ways of resolving our problems (new pillows, use of the private bedroom at extra cost), but by this time we felt too disheartened to stay so we left, losing our night's fee.

I have stayed in over 50 different hostels, hotels or other accommodations in the last year, and in previous travelling trips, and I have never seen a place so utterly disgusting. I have never been anywhere that the smell of the pillow has made me feel physically sick, and I never intend to do so again.

The price of this hostel is comparable to other hostels in this city, so I do not accept the argument 'you get what you pay for'. You can pay the same somewhere else and expect a decent standard of hygiene and security. I will never stay in this hostel or any of the others in the same chain.

Room Tip: Pick a room in a different hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juiz de Fora, MG
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hostel was great! Staff is really helpfull and super nice, the rooms and bathrooms are clean, there're two big living rooms and a great terrace to hang out, talk and cook! really felt like family and recommend the El VIajero - Ciudad Vieja 100% to anyone planing to visit Montevideo! (:

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very friendly staff, helping out wherever they could. Good atmosphere and good location at the beginning of the old town. After one week I felt like at home, because it's a small place and very familiar. I especially liked the weekly dinner for all guests and staff and cooking sessions with other guests.
My stay was enriched by the special house ghost Camila, who taught me everything about Uruguayan men ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malo, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My favorite people (who just happen to work at a hostel in Independencia Plaza) were gone! A sign on the door routed me to El Viajero on Rincon and Ituzaingo. A very helpful man walking up from the Mercado del Puerto went with me looking for the place. It's half way down the block. He warned me approximately 6 times in 5 minutes to "not walk alone in this area". Up a steep staircase to the desk and a lovely girl named Debra greeted me. Even with no reservation she was gracias and told me which mattress was the better one on the bunks! She showed me around, told me about the free breakfast, told me to pay when I checked out. Geronimo came on duty next and helped me with the balky computer. Gustavo was there in the morning, checked me out and gave me a discount! A happy camper at El Viajero.

Room Tip: You are given sheets to make your own bed. You rent a towel for 40 UYU (pesos). The 6 bunk female do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very helpful staff, clean hostel, and above all great location (in the old downtown)... here are the main advantages of this friendly hostel. Free computers are also available, common rooms are nice to spend time and share with others. Definitely a place to recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A good place to stay..
You feel like family..
Good location..
I didnt enjoy the room.. and the bathroom was not clean... but wasnt a big deal!

They have a great staff, and it was very nice!

Close to Mercado del Puerto and some spots to go out by day and night!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja

Address: Ituzaingo 1436, Montevideo 11000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo > Ciudad Vieja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty lodging in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.