We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe and friendly: probably the best in Montevideo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja to your Saves list
El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja
Ituzaingo 1436, Montevideo 11000, Uruguay (Ciudad Vieja)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, safe and friendly: probably the best in Montevideo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Friends had recommended this hostel to me and I have to say I was a bit worried about the standards of hostels in South America. It was actually very clean (sheets and bed were spotless and smelt nice, bathrooms were constantly cleaned) and safe (there are lockers in the room). The staff from the hostel is really helpful - one of the guys spent 15 mins looking at bus times and routes for me to go to Tres Cruces, the coach station! There are also a comfortable common area with free Internet, TV and kitchen, and a rooftop area where people meet for a drink in the evening. People in my room were friendly and quiet when coming back late at night. I slept as well as at home. On top of that, it's really cheap (£8 per night). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    85
    40
    10
    13
See reviews for
11
29
96
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Clean washrooms (except 1), kitchens and dorms. Better fans are required in the rooms as it was stifling hot and the ceiling fan did not work. There was a fan fastened to the wall but that was only good for 3 beds. Bikes for rent, good knowledge of area and activities. Dinners offered were good and good value, which was good because the area was not safe after dark and dinner time is after dark.

Room Tip: make sure the fan is working if you are travelling in their summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

We did not know the city would be closed when we arrived on the first day of the new year, so we were not able to enjoy as much.

It is walking distance to the beach and the main plaza. The breakfast is standard with bread, yogart, and cereal with ahoy beverage. Staff is nice, but they were not too knowlegable of what to do on the holiday. Beds were typical and showers were decent.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I moved from another hostel to here (because the female dorm over there all of of sudden was full with men) and wished I had stayed here from the very start. Good beds, very clean and most of all very helpfull. I checked out, but could leave my luggage there during the day and when I picked it up after another day at the beach, I could use the shower and kitchen - which to me was heaven, as I was getting on the bus and plane for a 24-hours trip. I recommend everybody to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hostal was easy to find and located in a great area, the staff were really helpful and friendly, and the rooms and facilities were clean and tidy. It was really easy to find out information and book transport and accommodation in and to other locations in Uruguay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but this place seemed to be nice. The breakfast was really good. We stayed a while in the same neighbourhood in different hostel before this place and didn't notice anything unsafe there. We also used the local buses instead of taxis and found them really nice, clean and safe. The problem with the location is that it's quite far away from the beaches.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I had a great time in this hostel. The hostel had a lovely atmosphere.Great place to meet people. It was very clean. The staff were so helpful,they provided us with so much information. the owner even gave us a lift from Colonia to Montevideo.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja

Address: Ituzaingo 1436, Montevideo 11000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo > Ciudad Vieja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Montevideo
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.