We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tandory

Tandory
Ramon Masini and Libertad, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay (Pocitos)
+598 2709 6616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 523 Restaurants in Montevideo
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion, Tapas, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pocitos
Description: Fusion cuisine with European, Latino and Asian influences, one of the most famous Chef in the country. Unique dishes in relaxed and elegant room. Good wine list tables, should be reserved.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nice experience, mix of flavours.
Exotic food, were you can experience a different menu. I travel a lot to Asia, and I can tell it is a greta place to enjoy this kind of food.
Make your self a time to go to Tandory

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    215
    46
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Probably the best place in Montevideo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tandory is one of the few really good places to eat in Montevideo. The food is exotic, well condimented, with some asian, mid-eastern and local foods. Worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This resturant is one of the best places I have ever eaten at. Upon entering we were greated by the chef/owner who made us feel like we were at his home. He took the time to explain the menu to us and even helped by recomending us some dishes we would like. He was spot on!!!! We started with a salad which had a curry vinagrette which was very favorable. My wife ordered the fish of the day and I had the skirt steak. Both were cooked to perfection, she especially like the different vegetables that accompanied the fish. It's a shame that we came here on our last night of our trip. The next time we visit this will be the first place on our list.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly People & Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I travel to Uruguay regularly for business and have eaten at Tandory several times over the last month. The staff are welcoming and the chef always has good recommendations. The menu is eclectic with something to fit every mood and everything I have ordered has been excellent (the Moroccan salad is my favorite salad in Uruguay). I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is the one place to go for a sophisticated but unpretentious night out with friends, especially if you have people over from abroad and want to take them somewhere special. The food is amazing, the smell, the color, presentation. And tastes even better! We enjoyed a good wine too, the selection is wide the prices are ok. The atmosphere is great for conversing, soft music, soft lights...The service was perfect, the chef and owner visited the table to suggest the appropriate dish depending on our tastes. Really there is no place like Tandory in Mv, highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandory also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Tandory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.