We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“asmall restaurant,big prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ricci

Ricci
Joaquin Nunez 2844, Montevideo, Uruguay (Punta Carretas)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #326 of 523 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Punta Carretas
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“asmall restaurant,big prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

a friend of ours recommended the spot, it is very small, an old house that was renovated, as are most of the restaurants in montevideo, very clean, good service, excellent food, both quality and quantity, small menu, very short wine list, but good quality. good for an intimate,quiet dinner,
also have special prices/menu for lunch during weekdays. very nice desserts. a few blocks away from sheraton montevideo. residential neighborhood. on the whole, pretty good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    50
    22
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food with a wonderful selection of wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The restaurant is very well furnished and the cave is an extra that you cannot miss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Evidently hit an off night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Judging by everyone else on here we had a bad night....sort of. The appetizers were to die for. Totally mouth watering. So it looked like a fantastic night. But then the actual meal was wretched. Awful tasting risotto and pasta (how does anyone screw up pasta?). Understand that we NEVER slam a restaurant. We're not picky at all. Our level of "It's ok"...is pretty low by most standards. This place just seemed to push all the wrong buttons. It was decorated beautifully and with LOTS of waiters/waitresses. But virtually no customers. So they're just standing their sort of at attention staring at us. You could hear a pin drop in the place. We felt like we were in a very very very uptight museum. Lots of attitude from the staff and the bill was considerably higher than any other restaurant we visited in Montevideo and even Punta. And we've pretty much hit the whole top 20 on the tripadvisor restaurant list. So this disappointed on so many levels. Personally I would never go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Good Food, Cozy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nice ambiance from the street view, cozy atmosphere inside, straight forward two page menu, professional service and good presentation. The food was tasty. Moderately priced. A clientele mix of businessmen, tourists and locals. A relatively safe neighborhood at night. If you wonder around the residential streets of Punte Carretas you can find a number of other equally good restaurants.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great atmostphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

In a month of traveling in Argentina and Uruguay, this was our favorite restaurant. Everything was delicious and the people were nice - and spoke English, which was helpful in negotiating what was vegetarian (and there were plenty of veg and non-veg choices).

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ricci also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Ricci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ricci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.