We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona de Yucay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Casona de Yucay to your Saves list
La Casona de Yucay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Manco II de Yucay 104 Urubamba, Yucay, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spend 1 night in this amazing hotel, clean rooms, excellent service, all the staff was really nice and helpful. Just to be there it give you peace and relaxation mood. Really impressed with everything, definitively will be back someday, I will recommend this place to anyone that just want a nice, clean and relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    67
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
52
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a lovely duplex suite, with a pretty view of the countryside. The magnificent gardens that embrace the property are only matched by the "Apus" (tall mountain guardians) that acompany the hotel accomodations that sprawl on green lawns.
The dining room welcomes you with a local menu full of surprises and tasty treats. The staff is friendly and eager to serve. We can't wait to visit again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel was confortable and nice; the rooms were clean. the workers of the hotel were very friendly. And also the landscape around the Hotel were like a dream. I am really appreciate the help that this hotel offer us to made our holidays the best of our lifes

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed the night here after a day trip to the sacred valley before moving on to Machu Picchu. The town of Yucay is quite small but a short stroll down the main strip gives views of (I believe) the peak of Mt Veronica and two of the oldest trees in the sacred valley. (~450 years). The hotel grounds and garden were spectacular with well manicured trees/flowers. The restaurant had a very talented musician and good food although service was lack-luster. The bar seemed to be happening but we were too tired to party all night. Overall a beautiful hotel in overwhelming scenery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It seems to be de rigeur in the Sacred Valley to put people in hotels out in the countryside where there is nothing to do. The hotel is satisfactory but not brilliant and a bit hard to judge when there are only about 4 rooms out of several hundred that are occupied. You end up in these places late afternoon as your tour through the valley ends and you are in the middle of nowhere. I don't see the point.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

After the delights of charming Cusco and awesome Ollantaytambo, La Casona offered a little slice of peace and tranquility and a good nights sleep before moving onto magnificent Machu Picchu!

We arrived one late afternoon in mid-October after an energetic days sightseeing, in time to appreciate the setting sun on the distant snow capped mountains and the beautiful grounds of the hotel. An early evening around a welcoming open fire prepared us for a good night and a not-too-early start to catch the train to MP the following day.

Couldn't fault the rooms, clean and functional, impressive shower pressure. Food and drink both most acceptable.

Would recommend this place as a stop-off/base for doing Machu Picchu and exploring the Sacred Valley for longer than our schedule allowed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was also on the Adventures Abroad tour and welcomed the peace and quiet of this lovely hotel in the Sacred Valley. Had lunch in the restaurant and had some excellent crepes - a couple of fellow travellers enjoyed the quinoa soup. The dining room was very nice and there was some good local entertainment. I think we all really enjoyed the experience after the hustle and bustle of Lima. It was an early night because we had an early train to Machu Picchu the next morning so we didn't get a lot of time at this hotel but I really enjoyed my time there.
The room was basic but certainly adequate, the grounds were lovely and the setting was beautiful. I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends travelling to Peru.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casona de Yucay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de Yucay

Address: Plaza Manco II de Yucay 104 Urubamba, Yucay, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Yucay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casona de Yucay 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Casona de Yucay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona De Yucay Hotel Yucay
La Casona De Hotel Yucay
La Casona De Yucay Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casona de Yucay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.