We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay to your Saves list
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Manco II 123, Yucay - Urubamba, Yucay, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Landscape!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Honestly, the best part of this hotel is the landscape. Since you're in the Sacred Valley, the views of the Andes surrounding this hotel are amazing. Breathtaking, even, especially at sunrise and sunset.

The hotel rooms themselves were only fine. They have been recently remodeled, which is nice, but the beds were kind of hard and there's no real windows or doors (mainly wooden shutter-like things), so the room can get cold in the winter. Turn on the electric heater early in the evening so your room is warm when you get back (we did not do this and it was pretty chilly when we wanted to go to bed). This hotel was also weird to me because there were no queen or king beds, just two full-size beds per room. This proved bizarre for any couples traveling because you can't actually sleep together unless you want to cram into one full bed (but why do that when there's just two beds).

The bathroom was nice but the bathtub had weird drainage issues, which was just kind of icky. There were enough towels for two people, so that was at least a redeeming bathroom quality. So, the rooms themselves were OK. But the actual hotel, the lobby, the restaurants, and the entire property was beautiful, well-maintained, and provided excellent views of the Andes on all sides. The staff were friendly, spoke English, and provided suggestions for things to do when needed. There's an on-site restaurant, bar, meeting rooms, and shopping. There's also llamas grazing in the middle of the complex, which is super cute! They enjoy pets, which is super fun.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very happy for your visit and preference. We would like to thank for the time you took to fill out our survey and share will all the people who visit this page about our Hotel. We are really sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay. We really appreciate your opinion because they will let us to know oue weakness and improve for the future. We hope this is not the last time you visit us and please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kins regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    181
    27
    12
    8
See reviews for
97
250
45
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Pros:
Lovely setting with view to the garden and mountains. The space is very open and the rooms have enough space. The breakfast was very nice and comprehensive, particularly with prepared to order eggs. The staff helped us arrange transport at the last minute due to another pre-arranged transport provider canceling at the last minute. Within 10 minutes of phoning the hotel, someone met me at the airport and within another 20 minutes, we were en route to the hotel. The staff helped us arrange a taxi tour of the sacred valley and Cusco at the last minute which was much appreciated, in addition, to connecting us to other affordable sources of transport around the sacred valley with reasonable rates. Lastly, the hotel also helped us do our laundry at the last minute (late night) and had it ready for us the next day due to luggage arrival issues.

Cons:
The common areas and rooms need significantly more heating due to the coldness of the area and the layout of the hotel. We only ate at the hotel one evening but the dinner did not seem fresh/recently made; we recommend they look into ways to enhance the flavor and 'freshness' of the food. Also, as other reviews have noted, we recommend the hotel look at revamping the locks to the doors as it's not sustainable in this day and age.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the gardens or mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank your visit and the time to share with us and all the people who visit this web site your great experience. Your opinion is very valuable for us in order to improve in our procedures and offer you a better service. We also would like to thank you for the suggestions. I have reported them to my superiors to take them in consideration and make some changes in our restaurant area. We hope this is not the last time you visit us and you can have the opportunity to see these changes.

We wish you all the best and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question.

Kind regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. The rooms we had were a good size, everyone had a double bed (or super king size), but the best part was the grounds. The hotel is set in what looks like a former monastery or small community. It has its own chapel and the gardens are beautifully maintained. There wee a number of local artisan sellers around the grounds which made it easy to buy reasonably priced souvenirs. The rooms we had were all ground floor and set in small courtyards. Only issue was bathrooms which were clean but a bit tatty, dripping taps, but list of hot water and toiletries provided. Breakfast was a large buffet included in the room rate. Avoid the restaurant buffet lunch, we were stung for S/60 pp. better option to pay S/5 for a cab to the plaza de armas at Urubamba and eat at one of the small restaurants for a fraction of the price. Also, for the best Pisco Sour pop into the unassuming Becky's.

Room Tip: Excellent ground floor courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank your preference and the tiem you took to share with us your opinion about your stay in our Hotel. Your opinion is very important for us, they will let us to improve in the future and make some changes for good to offer you a better service. We are very happy to know you have enjoyed very much of the rooms and setting of our Hotel and at the same time we feel very sorry for the issues you had. I am reporting the problems of the bathroom to the manteinance area to fix them asap. Let me explain you that the price of our buffet is a good price for the quality food. space, time and service we offer here in comparison with others. But it is always the option of our guest to choose the place you would like to eat. Once again we thank your time and visit, wishing you all the best.

We hope this is not the last time you visit us and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We didn’t stay here long enough to fully appreciate the beauty of Sonesta Posadas del Inca. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the rustic village feel of the hotel with the layout of the buildings and grounds and the location in the Sacred Valley. Our room and bathroom were a good size and well appointed. Breakfast was much better than the standard fare most hotels offer in Peru.

We will stay longer next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very happy to know you have enjoyed of all our services and setting during you stay in our Hotel. We would like to thank your preference and the time to share with us and all the people that use this website to take future decisions on their trips and make them take a good decision on where to stay in the Sacred Valley, being our Hotel an excellent option. We hope this is not the last time you visit us and please do not hesitate to contact me if you haveany question.

Kind regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel was beautiful. It reminded me of a village, with rooms for patrons, a church on the grounds and a restaurant set amongst a backdrop of fountains and gardens. Room was spacious and had all modern amenities. Wifi was good. Cafe and restaurant on site. Breakfast was ok - nothing really special. Dinner was more expensive than I thought it would be (>40 soles for a small main course/entree). There is a shop about a block away where you can purchase water. The hotel put on some entertainment for guests - traditional Peruvian music. It was a nice touch! I'm not really sure if anything is walkable from the area - I did try to look for restaurants in walking distance but no luck.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear guest,

All the family at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay would like to thank your preference and the time you took to share your great experience with us and with all the people who visit this website. We are very happy to know you have enjoyed your days in our Hotel and everything was the way you planned. We also thank your perception of our dinner service, we know the prices are in the average and it is also because we offer very good food, service and quality comparison with other places. We wish you all the best and hopefully you can have another chance to visit us.

Please if you have any question, do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

What a lovely place! I happily stayed here for seven nights while doing high altitude horseback riding with Perol Chico during the day. This hotel is built around an old hacienda "big house"/casona with its own chapel. The gardens are lovely, and the attentive staff smiling. People seem happy to work here! It´s nicer to stay here in quiet Yucay than in bustling Urubamba. Full breakfast buffet is available from 4:30 AM for early risers heading to catch the train to Machu Picchu. You can guide the cook preparing the eggs for you, to make the eggs are soft (not fried too hard). And you can request espresso for 6 soles extra. I also recommend a viisit to the masseuse in the little shop right outside the hotel gates - excellent massages at 80 soles ($30).

Room Tip: Ask for room upstairs, so you dont hear the upstairs sounds of people rising to go to Machu Picchu a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very very happy to know youu have enjoyed your days here in our Hotel during your trip to the Sacred Valley. We also would like to thank your preference and the time to share with us and all the people who visit this web site your great experience. It was our wish you can spend a wonderful time here that is why we are always willing to do our best for you.}

We hope this is not the last time you visit us and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Absolutely a gem of a hotel. We were on a tour and they definitely saved the best until last. It used to be a monastery and has been converted into a hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water and toiletries. The gardens were awesome. Breakfast was very good with scrambled eggs or omelettes cooked while you wait. Best breakfast of the tour. The only hotel with safety deposit box in the room. No coffee/tea making facilities which was the norm throughout the trip. I would stay there again. My husband was taken ill and we were unable to travel to Lima with our group. Once he felt better reception went out of their way to help with the onward travel arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest,

It has beean such a great pleasure to have you here and helped you in anything you needed. We are very happy and feel very flattered to know you consider us the best Hotel in your tour and you had a memorable stay.

We hope your husband could be in good condition in order to enjoy more about our country. I am going to make extensive your thankfulness to the front office staff. I ma sure they will be very happy with your lovely words and will motivate us to make the best for our guest.


Kind regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay

Address: Plaza Manco II 123, Yucay - Urubamba, Yucay, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Yucay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Sacred Valley of the Incas and surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Sonesta Posada del Inca Yucay is a former 18th century colonial-style monastery. This charming 87-room posada is a one-hour drive from the ancient Inca capital of Cusco and close to Machu Picchu. The area's year-round warm weather is ideal for hiking, rafting, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay Hotel Yucay
Sonesta Yucay
Yucay Sonesta
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay Peru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.