We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL LANDSCAPE AND VIEW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay to your Saves list
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Manco II 123, Yucay - Urubamba, Yucay, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Commerce Township, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“BEAUTIFUL LANDSCAPE AND VIEW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The gardens and landscaping were constantly maintained and beautiful. Especially with the mountains in the background. Everything was well maintained and clean and the staff was extaordinary. They were always trying their best to make sure we were comfortable and they were very helpful if we needed assisstance. It would be more convenient to set up any tours you want before you leave as there are no tour agencies close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again very soon. Thank you so much for your nice comments. I am totally glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. We will make our best effort to offer a best service always.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    160
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
83
229
38
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel was great! We loved the grounds as the gardens and chapel were well maintained. The hotel was in great shape. The breakfast was the best spread we found in our travels in Peru with eggs made to order, including omelettes, ham, yogurt, cereal, and breads. Everything was very fresh. We had a wonderful dinner here as well. For us, the hotel staff was superb! Our luggage did not arrive in Peru when the four of us did. We had such a time trying to contact the airline trying to find out when our luggage would arrive. The hotel staff were such a help to us during this time, and went out of their way for us. We truly appreciate their help. They spoke English which was great for us. Finally when our luggage did not arrive and we could not get in touch with the airline we left the hotel to continue with our vacation. About an hour after we left the hotel contacted us to let us know our luggage had arrived at their hotel. We enjoyed a local festival in town ( Yucay ) which was great to see the local people. A taxi ride is about 3 minutes and 7 soles ($3 or so ) into Urubamba. Great place!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We are totally happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your nice comments. We would be glad if you visit us again. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. We will make our best effort to offer a best service always.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night en route to Machu pichu. The landscaping is lovely and the place is huge inside. The reception desk was friendly and the service was good. Our room was decent size and had a small patio overlooking the courtyard area. They also have a colorful chapel inside !!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again ans stay more days. Thank you so much for your nice comments. I am totally glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. We will make our best effort to offer a best service always.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed three nights, a pause in our trip in Peru / Bolivia. Some rooms have a strange lock, people can be locked from the outside ! Our litlle girl was scared and we asked to change room. People there were very nice and do whatever they can to make you happy. They switched us to rooms in the cloister. That was great. The place is fantastic, very quiet. Food is good for lunch, dinner or breakfast. Don't hesitate to ask for more heaters if yours doen't work properly. We've been very happy to rest there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Really sorry if your little child was scared but our convent is a heritage and totally beautiful. I am totally glad all your family enjoyed your stay. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. We will make our best effort to offer a best service always.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
GeneraL Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon, and made a note of this on our reservation. When we arrived at the hotel the first thing the clerk told us was that if we didnt have our Peruvian migration card, we would be taxed 28% and we would need the card to get on Peruvian rail to visit Machu Piccu and if we didn't have it we would not be allowed to visit the ruins. This upset me, I had to call my mother in law in Arequipa to look for our migration card and have my sister in law fax it to the hotel, we found out the next day when taking the train to machu Piccu that we did not need this just our passport. And never once were we wished a happy honeymoon. Later that afternoon we were hanging out in the lobby and noticed that there was some coca tea offered, when we went to get a cup all of them were dirty about 30 cups with empty sugar packets, for three hours it remained this way until a tour guide pointed it out to the reception desk, they were not that busy at this time either. The service in the restaurant was great the servers there never stop moving and are very courteous, as was the srvice at the bar. I expected more from Sonesta, but with so many hotels in the area this is one I won't return to visit again. It is a shame too , as the property itself is beautiful. One recommendation I want to make is for dinner take a short walk down the street to Ananau (sorry missing tilda above second n) great service great food reasonably priced in a cozy comfortable setting.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the front of hotel for better wifi poor reception in the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. Really sorry about the inconvenients you had, our staff never wanted to be unpolite, they only asked the procedures. Some agencies or guests tell they are celebrating birthdays, honeymoons and weddings to the reservation department and as a courtesy we offer celebration cards, petit fours or birthday cake but the department verified in the emails and did not have any celebration. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. We will make our best effort to offer a best service always.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here two nights! Nice room with views of the church and mountains! 2X1 happy hour in the lobby bar was great after being out all day! Excellent breakfast buffet with a wide variety of items to select from. Lunch buffet great too. We felt that the dinner menu wasn't broad enough and had limited selections. Room was clean..but there were some small flies that somehow got into the room..they were all dead in the bathtub the next day..the grounds are wonderful and I rested on the chaise lounge and read one afternoon...totally peaceful! Was on a tour with Andes Adventures.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Really happy to know you and your mum loved the hotel and these mosquitos are around the big gardens. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. We will make our best effort to offer a best service always.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Upon our arrival to the hotel, we were very tired after the long flight from the US to lima and then the short flight to Cusco. The staff immediately took our luggage and got us into our extremely clean Room. The beds were like sleeping on one of the clouds routinely seen floating in the surrounding valley.

The hotel restaurant was very good with my favorite being the Lomo Saltado. A daily Breakfast buffet is provided featuring an omelette station at which you can order your eggs prepared just as you want. Lunch is served buffet style featuring many of the local favorite dishes or order from the menus.

The staff is very warm and friendly as we were made to feel like part of the family. This hotel is well suited as a base from which to tour the ruins or as a place to spend a relaxing holiday. WE WILL BE BACK NEXT YEAR!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Really happy to know that you will back to the hotel. We are glad for your kindness. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. We will make our best effort to offer a best service always.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay

Address: Plaza Manco II 123, Yucay - Urubamba, Yucay, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Yucay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Sacred Valley of the Incas and surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Sonesta Posada del Inca Yucay is a former 18th century colonial-style monastery. This charming 87-room posada is a one-hour drive from the ancient Inca capital of Cusco and close to Machu Picchu. The area's year-round warm weather is ideal for hiking, rafting, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay Hotel Yucay
Sonesta Yucay
Yucay Sonesta
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay Peru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.