We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better dinner to be found in Urubamba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ananau Restaurante

Ananau Restaurante
Calle Garcilaso 155 | Urubamba, Yucay CU084, Peru
51084201623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Yucay
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Peruvian, Contemporary, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lunch and dinner, options are on the menu of Peruvian food, homemade pastas, pizzas, vegetarian, comtemporanea. Homestay
Redondo Beach, CA USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“No better dinner to be found in Urubamba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Simply fabulous Peruvian food in a glass encosed, comfortable room in the center of the property. Owned and managed by Betty who is a delight, and quite a conversationalist. You will enjoy your night out at the Ananau. Make sure to say Hi to Betty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    18
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Nice Welcome Place - Sitio Acojedor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a Hotel (La Casona de Yucai) nearby this restaurant. The first night we were there we decided to take a walk throughout the town. Coming back to the hotel we took a different street and just by chance we passed by the Añañau restaurant. We wanted to check it out and adventured inside. We were welcomed by one employee who was very nice and invite us into the surroundings. It is a very charming place, beautiful gardens, a fire pit, with a sitting area to enjoy the warm fire, have a drink, and enjoy the good company. We later met the owner. Her name is Beatriz who is a very interesting Lady and who told us all about the place and its history. Next evening we came back to have dinner, the food was delicious and again we enjoy Beatriz's company and one of her guests from Germany. They both had pizza made in the oven outside while we enjoy our dinner. It was a very especial night!
We will absolutely recommend this place. To stay or just to eat... don't miss it!
Los chicos from Atlanta, Georgia :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome, espectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

After checking reviews on Tripadvisor, we went there for dinner. Everything was superb! We had pizza margherita (unique quinua crust), aji de gallina (like a spicy chicken stew) and trout (local fresh fish). We met the host, Beatriz, a lovely lady from the area. In all, a wonderful experience. Not to be missed!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the Sacred Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I will never forget our experience at Ananau. The owner is so welcoming and put a lot of thought in the menu and decor of the restaurant. Our first night there, we had an amazing trout dish, margherita pizza made with a quinoa crust (amazing), a traditional stew and the trio dessert. Everything was delicious! The second night, we tried the pumpkin squash soup, pesto pizza and had a different trio of desserts - both nights were so satisfying. The best part of this restaurant is getting to know its history and the owner. The food is just the icing on the cake!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claremont, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yucay Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We happened upon this restaurant while out for a stroll along the main street. It is on the next street north across from La Casona de Yucay where we stayed and what a find. This unique restaurant would fit in among any of San Francisco or Berkeley's most charming and the food is excellent. Owner Cecelia lived in the US in Big Sur and also spent time in Berkeley. Regardless, she has designed and built a beautiful place where she and her staff welcomed my family for 2 consecutive evening meals that were outstanding. If you are in the Sacred Valley, this is well worth seeing and experiencing. There are homemade pastas including gnocchi made with the regions excellent potatoes, fantastic pizzas cooked in the outdoor oven and many other excellent regional specialties all prepared with an open view into the kitchen. Really a special place. She also has an equally charming hostel on the grounds which she graciously showed us on an impromptu tour . . .

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananau Restaurante also viewed

Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Yucay, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Ananau Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananau Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.