We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best massage experience ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ferrocaril s/n,, Urubamba 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Urubamba
Lima
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best massage experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I booked the Refugio Andino massage which is one of the wellness rituals for couples. Two masseuses (mine was called Ivoni and she was amazing) gently take you to a VIP room where you have a jacuzzi and sauna to yourselves for about 40 minutes. Also, they have chocolate-covered strawberries and chilled champagne for you to enjoy. Afterwards they give you an 80-minute massage with heated stones. The massage was incredible. They make sure you feel good from the beginning, asking you for your preferences in every step. After the massage, they take you to a relaxation area (because the last 2 hours have been really stressful!) where you can enjoy andean teas while lying on a warm chaise lounge. It was perfect and I'm hoping to do it again soon!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

It is terrific to read your comment and realize that your experience in the SPA was outstanding.

Thank you for your magnificent words on our staff, especially Ivoni, our service and property.

Please be sure that we will be waiting for you and your nextt SPA teatment.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    90
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
297
589
38
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you don't stay here the only thing I can say is --- your loss!
This is the place to come and relax after sight-seeing and hiking Machu Picchu.
It is off the hook and just everything that you'd ever dream of at the end of the rainbow!
The experience of the whole hotel is larger than life. The train comes almost right to the backdoor of the hotel - and a short walk.

The room is probably one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in - makes the top 5!
Dressing room was huge. Bathroom was the size of some hotel rooms. My room had a porch with a nice view.

Restaurant is over-priced. Breakfast was good ----My dinner was awesome. My travel companions dinners were average. Drinks were really good.

The room lighting is a bit tricky but mastering the lighting wasn't on my agenda. Just a really nice set up for the whole room. Big and Relaxing. Bathroom was partitioned by glass - separate toilet/bide, Sink, Shower and Tub. AWESOME BARTHROOM!

All kinds of space to relax around the hotel. Game rooms and sitting rooms and a huge bar.

The Spa was great.
Massage was also one of the best! The best therapy for tired muscles from hiking and working. Spa treatments were reasonable and professional.

Nothing to say bad about the place- yes one....Checking out was painfully slow! Leave an hour to check out just in case someone is in front of you.

If you don't stay here look at the pictures and cry.

Room Tip: Get a room with a porch on the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you indeed for choosing Tambo del Inka!

Very garteful to you for your outstanding appreciation on our staff, service anf property. Glad to know that did enjoy every minute of your stay with us and that you tasted our food, tried our SPA therapies and relaxed after a nice amazing journey in Machu Picchu.

Let me share with you that our building was designed by architect Bernardo Fort Brescia and that our interior decor was created by Caparra estudio together with local artisans.

Definetely, being located in the heart of the Scared Valley and having our private train station gives all of our guests and faster access to other towns, communities and ruins nearby.

We look forward to your staying with us again in time.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel has good hardware and beautiful garden.

Things to improve are:
I) The light in the room is very dim, more so for guests who are on business.
The writing table is so dark that one could hardly read nor write.
2) The air condition blower is very loud and it is disturbing sleeps.
3) I wish there could be a paper bag in room for most shoppings in the region don't
Provide good packaging.

I was in room 144 and later to 328, same problem despite reminder.
The good side of thing is that a service man came quickly and placed another lamp on the table, this solved My working problem. Working at night is important for an Asian traveller for time difference.

Service standard
The service staff in the restaurant for breakfast was efficient and attentive.
The staff at the reception was a little rude and mean with his language.

Overall, the property was a good one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka for your stay in the Sacred Valley!

It is really nice to hear that your overall experience in our resort was simply great!

Thank you for your honest appreciation and for sharing part of your experience with us in order to improve our service and comfort. Definetely, we will take your recommendations into account and make the proper follow up in order to exceed all of our guests´ expectations.

Concerned to hear your perception at the Front Desk. Be sure all our personnel will be refreshed on service matters.

Thank you indeed for bringing these matters to our attention and sure hope to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The place is impeccable, amazing, and very fairly priced per night. The amenities are superior and the rooms are large with walk in closet. We spent more money per night at other hotels in Peru and this was awesome. We checked in to find the King of Norway and entourage staying at hotel. The location is perfect for sight seeing ruins and quaint villages in Sacred Valley, otherwise 1.5 hours from Cusco to get here and this is where you want to be... The Sacred Valley of the Incas. I had had enough of mid-evil cities (Cusco) with Spanish Churches built on Inca ruins, streets not meant for cars, plazas with fountains dedicated to some spanish explorer that decimated the Inca, and City poverty. The Sacred Valley of the Inca is like staying in Montana or Jackson Hole with a Peruvian flare. The resort makes the adventure travel so nice and they have a private train station so you can go straight to Machu Pichu without taxi/shuttle inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Great to know that you had a marvelous time while in our resort. Thank you indeed for your sincere apprecaition on our staff, service and property.

In fact, being located in the heart of the Sacred Valley gives all of our guests an easier and faster access to other towns, communities and ruins nearby.

Definetely, sure hope to welcome you back in time and let us share part of our magic with you all.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

One of the best places I've ever stayed in. The hotel staff is outstanding, always very kind and helpful. Food is delicious, also one of the best restaurants I ate in Perú. No wonder why the king and queen of Norway were sitting next to us at dinner. All the services and facilities are excellent and no doubt I'll be back soon.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka!

Very glad to read your comment and realize that your whole experience in our resort was excellent!

Thank you for your magnificent comment on our staff, service, food and property itself. Definetely, it will be a pleasure to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I think about this place every time I think of our amazing time in South America 2012 (first wedding anniversary holiday) - we came here to acclimatise - travelling from the amazon and to Machu Picchu... LUCKY because I didn't cope well and Tambo had the coca tea and oxygen tank ready straight away, having altitude sickness and being here made everything better - my husband says I slept for 9 hours and was deluded that the oxygen was expensive (inclusive in your amazing stay!)

I still dream about the French toast - not being able to stomach anything but this... (Photo attached)

Feeling like death and being here with everything you could ever need - views, comforts, chocolate on your bed, cleanliness, beautiful food, atmosphere - if you stay in hostels your whole trip for one night here - you will thank yourself, for years to come. Really, no exaggeration!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for chossing Tambo del Inka; part of the magnificent ensemble of the Luxury Collection!

How to start telling you the way I feel when reading your comment and realize that we were part of your amazing experience within South America.

Thank you indeed for your magnificent appreciation and for sharing part of your feeling with us. A pitty that you did not feel very well due to altitude sickness while your stay and sure hope that did get over soon.

Sure hope to welcome you back in time.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Tambo del Inka last week for three nights as the jumping off point to our time in the Sacred Valley. Perfect.
Obviously, if you are planning a trip to this region, Machu Picchu will be the highlight. The hotel actually has a train station ON THE PROPERTY, about a three minute walk from the lobby. The train will take you straight to Aguas Calientes, where you hop the bus to Machu Picchu. Couldn´t be more convenient.
The hotel itself sits right on the Urubamba river and the setting couldn't be more tranquil. The rooms, I would guess around 500+ square feet, are simply fantastic. They upgraded us to a ground floor unit with a private deck. The bed, sheets, pillows, towels, robes and bathroom accessories are all top notch, as is the decor.
Our first day at Tambo, we arrived after a long flight from São Paulo, via Cusco, and were pretty drained. So we decided to do the couples massage, and I must say, it was one of the finest 90 minute massages I have ever had. And very reasonably priced in comparison with other 5 star hotel spas.
Breakfast buffet was more than ample, with tons of selection both hot and cold.
The lobby bar mixes us a mean pisco sour, and the ambiance is lovely.
All in all, a great stay, great service, wonderful comfortable surroundings.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room, they are quiet and have a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, Guest Relations Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Really glad to read your comment and realize that you did have a great experience while in our resort. In fact, as you said, our location in the heart of the Sacred Valley and our private train station gives a faster and easier access to all of our guests to other towns, communities and ruins nearby. Just a perfect home base in the area.

Thank you for your stunning appreciation on our staff, service and property and definetely we do look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Isaac Pilares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Ferrocaril s/n,, Urubamba 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Inka is a part of Starwoods Hotel and Resort. Guests staying here may be eligible to use their Starwood Prefered Guest (SPG) points according to what is stated on their webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel Urubamba
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.