We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ferrocaril s/n,, Urubamba 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Urubamba
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Resort and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here 4 days and found the room and facilities very nice. Watch out for the Pisco Sours - they have a kick. Beautiful resort and the staff and service was amazing. Definitely a must stay! Dinner next to the fire place was a great way to end the day. Food was delicious.

Rooms were large and showers had plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Ask for view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka; part of the magnificent ensemble of the Luxury Collection!

Over happy to realize that your experience in our resort was really fabulous and that you did enjoy every minute of it.

Look forward to your coming soon again.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    91
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
298
595
39
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Location, location that age old recommendation is very true in this respect. As previously noted, this luxury hotel is in a prime location beside the river, this gives guests an option of a river view or a mountains view. Both have their own attractions, peace and quiet everywhere. The town of Urubamba is not the most pleasing on the eye but the people are wonderful, from cheering school children waving and all saying 'Hello, good morning' to the locals in the central market to the cashiers in the bank, all most receptive.

The hotel prides itself on guest recognition, after the first name take for breakfast you are confidently addressed as Mr or Mrs thereafter. Front desk, concierge, doorman to waiters and waitresses all make sure they know their guests.

We are not normally eat in the hotel type of people and this was the only downside. Breakfasts were fine, lunches in the Kiri Bar were excellent. We ate an evening meal on two ocassions, both the main courses did not meet what we thought might have been a high standard. When the evenings chef's special is Swordfish, but offered on two nights three nights apart I question if it is fresh. I did have it one nigt and it was so dry it was a big let down. Now the deserts are another story, absolutely fantastic, presentation superb and taste was wonderful.

On one evening we just wanted a glass of wine with dinner, they offered a Merlot from Argentina, I sent mine back it was so rough. Now they didn't charge for either so that is to their credit.

Our favourite place was the Kiri Bar, wonderful people looking after us, Johanna and Delfur, these two people really made the trip. Best Pisco Sours, Delfur, he even gave me his recipe. General conversation and information, especially with my wife, Johanna, she is very fluent in English and just wants to speak with the guests. We sat at the bar on most evenings either before we went out for dinner or afterwards, knowing we could have some really good exchange of subjects, and Delfur would make us our Pisco Sour. So from us it is kudos to these two people who made us feel very much wanted and welcome. Thank you.

Room Tip: Even numbers are the river view, odd numbers mountain view. All are wonderful as it is only two stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Concerned about the situation you went through with your dinner and wine experience and thank you for your understanding considering our high sanitation and HACCP standards.

Thank you indeed for your excellent words on our Staff (especially Johanna and Delfur who have already been advised about your comments) and our property.

Right! our location in the middle of the Sacred Valley is just great. You can easily reach all different communities and touristic places.

Once again, thank you for your excellent comments on us and do look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having just spent a couple of nights in Cusco we cut our stay the short by a day and checked in to Tambo Del Inka a day earlier than planned. What a great decision. Cusco is fine for a day but wouldn't recommend for any longer. Here you will find a beautiful resort with fantastic design in a lovely small town.

The staff here were very friendly. It was extremely quiet due to the wet season. We had great weather during our trip though!

The spa was super but I could see the being a shortage of loungers in high season. The restaurant room was incredible. Like eating in a beautiful wooden cathedral. The bar was lovely and a better place to eat as it had more atmosphere.

The only downside was the very limited menus available. We checked into the Westin in Lima after this and the menu was a revelation in comparison. I wonder if the menu is better and more extensive in high season? There are too many sandwiches and not much else in the bar and room service. You don't come for the food though. There are other restaurants just outside the front of the hotel.

We had a lovely room on the 1st floor with access directly onto the garden by the river. I would definitely recommend these rooms. Large and beautifully decorated.

The highlight though was the staff. Most notably Rene in the bar. All others were great but she was so personable, professional, friendly and a credit to the hotel and to the Starwood group.

We took a tour from here to Macchu Picchu on the train from the hotels own grounds. This was organised by the tour operator in the hotel T'ikariy. It costs more than other options but with a private guide it was the best option by far.

Would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Really happy to realize that you did enjoy your stay with us and do look forward to hosting you again in time.

Thank you indeed for your kind words on our staff and property itself. In fact, our staff is oriented into exceeding all our guests´ expectations and glad to see that you alsop felt that way.

Concerning the menu, I have already talked to our Excecutive Cheff and we are altready working on it in order to give several other alternatives to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and be sure we are doing our best in order to comply all the needs and requests.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights ending December 22nd for my birthday. Room 251, which was at the very north end of the hotel and was on the side facing the mountains and not towards the river.

The internet was almost non-functioning while we were staying at the hotel. The connection via wifi and wired connection were down for most of our 3 night stay. As others have mentioned this is the "rainy season" and the hotel was at a very low occupancy. So the internet problems were more than likely not due to the number of guests using it.

The restaurant and spa had excellent service (Samuel at breakfast was excellent), but I cannot say the same for the front desk. They had a hard time dealing with issues we had with the room. There were problems with the lights in the room. They would constantly flicker and would then would turn off and on randomly. We contacted the front desk several times about the lights and the internet, but nothing was ever done during our stay. No notes were ever taken on our account, so each time I called I had to re-explain the problems. For some reason there was never a manager or supervisor working, maybe due to the upcoming holiday?The problems with the room were only addressed by the front desk after I contacted Starwood's corporate offices. We were then given an apology and a free meal on our last day.

It was also difficult to get an electronic copy of the portfolio. I was sent a photocopy of a handwritten bill that which was just a list of charges. There was nothing on the bill that indicated what the charges were for. Beyond the issues with the room, internet, and communication with the front desk it is a beautiful hotel and a great cash and points value. Whatever happened to getting a bill under your door the last morning of your stay? Does this hotel not confirm your email and ask if you would like to have a portfolio sent to you like every other Starwood hotel?

To play it safe I would print off your tickets to the train, park, or any tours before you get to the hotel. They do have computers in the business center, but they were suffering the same problems as our room.

I frequent Starwood hotels and have status with their SPG program. I don't often write negative reviews unless something stands out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, Director General at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you indeed for letting us share our experience with you for three days in December!

Room 251 has a beautiful mountain view facing our Chicon glacier. In fact, all our rooms have nice vews either to the river or to the mountain.

Really concerned about the internet situation. In fact, as you mention, it might be because of the rainy season that we had several problems. This is the reason why no charges were made to any of our guests during this period.

Thank you for your sincere words to our service in the Restaurant and Spa. Samuel has been congratulated in your behalf. He thanks you for your amability.

Really sorry about the misunderstanding at the Front Desk. Soon after contacting you at the hotel, we had a refreshing meeting with all our FD personnel about problem solving situations and we are following up on this matter. On the other hand, our maintenance personnel has already worked on the room light issue.

Kindly accept our apologies from all our staff and management at our resort.

Remain at your disposal and look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012. It was our first night after a quick over night in Lima. The hotel was wonderful and the rooms were large and luxurious with spa bathrooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool area was nice as well, but they could provide more lounge seating for guests. We were there for just one night so we did not see the town, but we were content to hang out in the hotel, relax and enjoy the delicious food. I would recommend taking the hotel train if you are going to Machu PIcchu. We arranged for our own train because the timing of their train did not fit our schedule very well. The problem with that is Peru Rail is strict with your luggage size (leaving from Ollanta to Aguas Calientes, but not from A.C. back to Poroy/Cusco). We had a typical medium size suitcase each that the train said was too large. The hotel did warn us about this and said they could have arranged to have our luggage sent to our hotel in Aguas Calientes. We ignored this and ran in to problems while leaving-totally our own fault! We offered to buy extra seats for our luggage, but they said it was a space issue. The train personnel said they would see if there was space for our luggage and get back with us, but never came back and the train was leaving in 5 minutes. Luckily we spotted locals getting through with larger luggage than ours and talked to the ticket taker again. He asked where we were staying in A.C. and we said Inkaterra. For whatever reason, he let us through. We were lucky! Of course the train car had 5 extra large racks for our luggage. Ha ha...lesson learned! We had a great stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka as you destination while in the Sacred Valley!

Really happy you realize that you did have a great experience while in our resort. Thank you for your kind words to our staff and property.

Little concerned about the situation you went through while travelling on the train. At the end, as per what I understand, everything went alright.

Again, thank you for your comments and hope to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A beautiful hotel nestled amidst some breath taking natural beauty. The breakfast is the hi light at this place where in one has the option of doing bfast by the river side and the setting is indeed serene
The staff is prompt in service and most of them speak English
Tourist normally use this destination as a stop over to machu pichu
Great option

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

I am happy to read that you had a great time while in our hotel.

Thank you indeed for your kind words on our staff and property. You are right, our hotel has two beautiful views, one is the river and the other is the mountain or you can just side inside and enjoy the quietness of the hotel.

Thank again for your appreciation on us.

Looking forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I loved this hotel. I enjoyed the tree-like structure of the roof supports and the beautiful finish to all the timbers. The comfortable room overlooked the gardens and the river.
Dinner and breakfast were the high-light. Amazing foods with great choice, and the ability to sit outside overlooking the river at breakfast.
The grounds were beautiful. The giant fireplace in reception was awesome.
I enjoyed the pool, however I was not allowed in the spa area as this was reserved for people having treatments.
A must to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka as your destination while in the Sacred Valley!

Please let me inform you that our property was desgined by architect Bernardo Fort Brescia and that we officially opened on May 5th, 2010. Our grounds, rooms are different outlets are just relaxing and gorgeous.

Happy to realize that you breakfast and dinner experiences were outstanding and that you did enjoy our pool, design and service.

Thank again for considering us a MUST TO STAY AT and hope to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Ferrocaril s/n,, Urubamba 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Inka is a part of Starwoods Hotel and Resort. Guests staying here may be eligible to use their Starwood Prefered Guest (SPG) points according to what is stated on their webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel Urubamba
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.