We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's that? An observatory?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado to your Saves list
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5to Paradero Yanahuara | Yanahuara, Urubamba 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What's that? An observatory?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very nice property in the middle of Inca valley. Beautifully landscaped, playground and llamas for the kids and an on-site Observatory and Planetarium. Unfortunately, only four of us attended the planetarium show about Astronomy in the Inca culture. I know, it sounds nerdy, and it probably is, but isn't the whole reason we all traveled here to learn the Inca culture?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    235
    58
    23
    4
See reviews for
158
320
35
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed there in Oct 13 for two nights -- the staff was wonderful (helpful, solicitous, and responsive), the rooms classy and unique, exceptionally clean, with an incredible view of the property and the surrounding mountains. The food was simply amazing -- gourmet quality -- and breakfast was first rate. I just simply can't think of anything negative to say about it. I would go there again in a heartbeat -- one of the two best places on our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a good but not great hotel in the Sacred Valley. The location is a good stopping point for the trip from Cusco to Machu Picchu, located in Yanahuara, which apparently means Black Underwear. A cab ride is required to get to the restaurants in Urabamba, so you are a bit captive to the resort after your day. It is built right in the middle of a neighborhood and is not close to anything, which may be an issue if that's what you want. We found the service sub-par, admittedly due to the language problem (we don't speak much Spanish), but to a person, the staff didn't appear to care how things were going, from the check-in to the restaurant service to the check-out. We had an Andean cottage which was very nice and spacious with lovely views. The hotel is a very large property with expansive grounds and even an alpaca pen. It is nice, but with better service could be so much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Private Collection Sacred Valley and for sharing your experience with us.

We regret if we did not fulfill your expectations regarding the service. It is essential to us to inspire our staff to give their best and anticipate our guest’s needs in all kinds of situations. Our hotel manager and specialized areas will be strengthening these matters with our staff in order to continue improving our service every day.

We truly hope you consider us for a next stay at any of our properties.

Sincerely,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is super dirty! Our room was dark and dingy. We stayed on the first floor and we could hear our neighbors upstairs and they were not quiet. Bathroom was the worst! It was so dirty that I was scared to take a shower and our toilet wouldn’t flush properly. We could see our “beautiful” room after a hike from the main lobby, yes you have to pretty much hike to your room/ bungalow.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor because you can hear people upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Private Collection Sacred Valley.

We are sorry to know you did not rest properly in your room and you had some difficulties with the restroom. It would have been useful to know about this while you were still staying with us in order to revert the situation immediately. Certainly what you comment does not relate to our service standards. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience experienced.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here one night, during my tour. I only wish I was more acclimated to the altitude, when I was here. Some rooms can be a climb, from the lobby and restaurant. This hotel offers a planetarium and observatory show for $10 cash. I almost wish the hotel, didn't have so many lights on their property to make viewing the night sky better. The hotel didn't appear to be walking distance to anything.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room, if you have a problem climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The ride up to this property goes through typical Peruvian neighborhoods, so its extravagance is surprising! The grounds are gorgeous! The room was clean with a rustic feel. our room was right outside of the llama/alpaca pen, so we woke up to see these cool animals right outside with the mountains behind! The restaurant was delicious and had a local blind musician entertaining one night. There is coca tea in the lobby as well as your room. The desk also loaned us a converter when the one we brought from home didn't work. it is not near the town proper or other restaurants, so you would need transportation if you decided not to eat on site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were in a triple room on the second floor, overlooking the llama stable. The setting of the property and the grounds were breath-taking.
The main buidling had some construction work going on, so there was a makeshift restaurant without much of an ambience.
The room was very average, like a basic hotel chain in the US, quite worn, the heating did not work, but they promptly got us a portable heater which was adequate. The showers did have good pressure and hot water.
The breakfast was okay, the dinner was very good, the drinks in the lobby bar were very good. The service at dinner was good, otherwise it was bad.
The planetarium was interesting.
In summary, the setting is spectacular, but the name of the hotel conjures up a certain image, which the rooms and the service at times do not live up to.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado

Address: 5to Paradero Yanahuara | Yanahuara, Urubamba 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#5 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#7 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sacred Valley's most complete hotel: a mountain chalet-styled retreat with panoramic Andes views from every room and every angle. On more than 8 landscaped acres, it breathes an air of tranquility and relaxation. Unique among Sacred Valley hotels - most of which remain isolated in the valley, offering precious little for guests to do - it contains an extraordinary, full-service "Sacred-Spa", a domed Planetarium-&-Observatory for stargazing in the massive Southern-Hemisphere sky, and gourmet restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado Hotel Urubamba
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.