We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado

Save Saved
You added Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5to Paradero Yanahuara | Yanahuara, Urubamba 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Urubamba
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here one night, during my tour. I only wish I was more acclimated to the altitude, when I was here. Some rooms can be a climb, from the lobby and restaurant. This hotel offers a planetarium and observatory show for $10 cash. I almost wish the hotel, didn't have so many lights on their property to make viewing the night sky better. The hotel didn't appear to be walking distance to anything.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room, if you have a problem climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    184
    53
    22
    4
See reviews for
129
254
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The ride up to this property goes through typical Peruvian neighborhoods, so its extravagance is surprising! The grounds are gorgeous! The room was clean with a rustic feel. our room was right outside of the llama/alpaca pen, so we woke up to see these cool animals right outside with the mountains behind! The restaurant was delicious and had a local blind musician entertaining one night. There is coca tea in the lobby as well as your room. The desk also loaned us a converter when the one we brought from home didn't work. it is not near the town proper or other restaurants, so you would need transportation if you decided not to eat on site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were in a triple room on the second floor, overlooking the llama stable. The setting of the property and the grounds were breath-taking.
The main buidling had some construction work going on, so there was a makeshift restaurant without much of an ambience.
The room was very average, like a basic hotel chain in the US, quite worn, the heating did not work, but they promptly got us a portable heater which was adequate. The showers did have good pressure and hot water.
The breakfast was okay, the dinner was very good, the drinks in the lobby bar were very good. The service at dinner was good, otherwise it was bad.
The planetarium was interesting.
In summary, the setting is spectacular, but the name of the hotel conjures up a certain image, which the rooms and the service at times do not live up to.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel was a welcome relief after my hotel in Cusco. The grounds are beautiful, the room and bathroom large and rustic feeling, almost like a cabin, with the most comfy beds and pillows I had on my entire trip. The view from the room is great - and it's nice to have an area by the window with table/chairs for sitting and enjoying the panoramic vista (first floor have verandas, second floor have balconies).

The breakfast was really good, with a man cooking omelets to order. Dinner was a little less impressive - I ordered sweet potato ravioli and got 3 large raviolis that were mostly pasta, not much potato, and hardly enough food to fill me up (and I'm not a large person). The one issue I had with the room is that despite the large bathroom, the toilet is tucked into a corner behind the door. IF you lean forward a fraction of an inch on the toilet your head is touching the wall, and if anyone opened the door it would smack you in the side of your head. I also had a large moth and spider in my room on arrival but that is to be expected when you stay at a property that is so 'close to nature'.

It's not super close to the train station though - it's about a 15 minute drive, longer if there is traffic as the last part of the road leading to the station is only wide enough for one vehicle at a time (wtf?) so my driver had to back up down a side street and sit while a large tour bus passed through. Still I left at 7am and met up with my group and made the 8 am train to MP in plenty of time. Until we got really close to the station there were almost no cars on the road at that time of day.

Overall I would totally stay here again - it's a shame I only had one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We fell in love with this places. So romantic and relaxing. such a beautiful view from our room.
Very good service and excellent restaurant nice bar. we memorizes with the fireplace. The room had a nice balcony view of the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I agree with mujerlinda, beautiful setting, the rooms have very rustic decor, with white rough stone walls and an unusual designed ceiling, the enclosed seating area was nice, but the room felt very hot during the day, with the sun shining in, loved watching the two alpacas in the garden. Did not eat at the hotel, so cannot comment on food.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel actually located in Yanahuara ("black underwear). Bar was nice and the dinner was wonderful! I had carpaccio, beef with rice, and a chocolate tart. Hotel room had nice enclosed balcony area and 2 regular sized beds. Bathroom was very nice. Grounds were beautiful and they had some alpaca in a small enclosed area behind our room. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado

Address: 5to Paradero Yanahuara | Yanahuara, Urubamba 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#5 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#8 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sacred Valley’s most complete hotel: a mountain chalet-styled retreat with panoramic Andes views from every room and every angle. On more than 8 landscaped acres, it breathes an air of tranquility and relaxation. Unique among Sacred Valley hotels – most of which remain isolated in the valley, offering precious little for guests to do – it contains an extraordinary, full-service “Sacred-Spa”, a domed Planetarium-&-Observatory for stargazing in the massive Southern-Hemisphere sky, and gourmet restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado Hotel Urubamba
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.