We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wayra

Wayra
Fundo Huincho Lote A -5, Urubamba 1, Peru
+(51)84 201620
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 35 restaurants in Urubamba
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Peruvian, Grill, Fusion
Description: Wayra means wind in Quechua, the language of our Valley. Now, it also means a unique space where nature, art, gastronomy, adventure and good living blend together.
Restaurant details
Description: Wayra means wind in Quechua, the language of our Valley. Now, it also means a unique space where nature, art, gastronomy, adventure and good living blend together.
Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were told this was the casual restaurant with pizzas and our teenagers were thrilled - pizzas were however a started and very filling and the main courses were very standard peruvian though very good. I think mine were hoping for the equivalent of a dominos :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    22
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wayra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Outstanding lunch and service, on patio. The horse show with Paso horses was a surprise and very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Food and Horse Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stopped for lunch at Wayra Ranch on our return trip from Machu Picchu to Cusco. The food was very good, mostly grilled. The servers brought many different dishes and all were very good. Lunch was served on a patio and after we ate we watched a horse show. First the riders performed with their horse and then 1 rider and horse danced with a women. Everyone in traditional dress. Quite a nice show and a great way to spend a couple of hours. Since this lunch was included in our tour with International Expeditions, I do not have any information about cost, etc.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ditchling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A meal and an excellent show made for a relaxing evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Wayra is in the grounds of the Sol Y Luna Lodge and Spa Hotel.
It consists of a restaurant, inside and outside show area and associated Paso Horse stables and ranch.
It was an easy walk down from the hotel, on well lit paths.
The appeal on two evenings was two different shows that were seen after the meals. It is a good idea to check before you come to see which shows are available on which evenings.
(There are also lunchtime Paso horse shows with meals, but we weren't around for those).
The first was an excellent circus show, with four performers, including acrobatics on a rope, juggling, rotating inside a giant hoop and much more.
The second show, on a later night was a short but also excellent display of precision riding on four Paso horses, with extremely skilled riders and equally skilled and schooled Paso horses.
The service in the restaurant was friendly and welcoming and you were not rushed if you were not quite finished your meal when the show started.
The menu in Wayra is relatively restricted. The food was good, rather than exciting.
So my overall rating is a balance of two excellent shows with two good meals, giving an average of very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Luncheon in Luxurious atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is upscale, a little pricy for some but very well done and absolutely good value for money.
Its a delightful stop midway in the Sacred Valley. The food is presented well, and the waiters just keep bringing tasty portions, a little of everything available from their brick ovens. Lunch is served on a beautiful patio with a fantastic view of the surrounding mountains. Meanwhile you are entertained with a lovely show of Peruvian Paso Fino horses. Its a great introduction to Peruvian culture, and a taste of the coastal music and dance. Especially nice if you're not going to stop in LIma long enough to see any of that. I highly recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayra also viewed

 
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Wayra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.