We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and excellent amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Urubamba
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and excellent amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a very special property with exquisite landscaping and individually decorated casitas that had unique and whimsical pieces of local artwork. The staff was cordial and attentive and even brought a special bottle of champagne on our anniversary. I agree that the rooms got cold at night, but the heaters do work if you give them a couple of hours to warm up the spacious casitas. Also, the hot water bottles were a great addition. The food at both restaurants was superb. Wonderful pumpkin soup and trs leeches cake! I personally found the service in the formal dining room too stuffy. To be greeted at 6 am with "Good morning, Madame," while eating a breakfast buffet in hiking clothes made me feel uncomfortable. I also hope the management finds a way to include a tip for the waitstaff in the restaurant bill. It appears that the only way to tip a waiter is in cash, which is unexpected and inconvenient. This consideration aside, I enjoyed my stay at Sol y luna and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Good morning Born2travel262,

Thank you for your review,

Sorry for the cold in your room, we apologize for this inconvenience.
However we are glad to see that you enjoyed the hot water bottles!

We will take your suggestions into consideration in order to improve our services at the restaurant.

We hope you had a nice trip in Peru and we would also love to welcome you back someday!

Best regards,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    115
    16
    12
    12
See reviews for
155
344
24
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Sol Y Luna is an oasis of magnificently landscaped gardens with beautiful casitas (round adobe bungalows) set among the flowers. The rooms lack climate control of any kind (there are stand alone electric heaters that moderate some of the morning and evening cool), no TVs and internet is supposed to be in the rooms but is only really strong enough and available in the reception area (hence the four stars instead of five). But in spite of these modern shortcomings, this is a very comfortable and relaxing environment. It is quiet, the beds and baths are very comfortable and the food is excellent (local delicacies include Guinea Pig which we didn't try). We were a little lightheaded from the altitude and they brought oxygen to the room (free, no charge).The stables on the property and the Wayra ranch Paso horses are worth some time. All in all a very interesting and rewarding place. So much more than just a hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Good morning Merlin 321,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We do apologize for the lack of heat in your room and hope that you were able to sleep comfortably regardless.
We also hope that the bad internet connection did not cause a large problem during your trip; we are installing a new wifi system in all of the casitas.

Thank you for making Sol y Luna a part of your trip and we hope to welcome you back one day,

Kind regards,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had the opportunity to stay here for a night in May. The property is located in the heart of the Sacred Valley or Valle Sagrado and at night its great to watch the stars in this 'big sky' country. You are surrounded by a few snow covered peaks as most glaciers in the Andes have melted. The property itself has about 40 Casitas. Simple in design, and modest it is a place where you can let go of it all. Spa isn't the best and the service isn't top notch. The millions of flowers surrounding the pastel and happy colored casitas give a great vibe to the place. You really do get a sense of peace staying here. You won't be paying top dollar to stay here, but if you go in for the Casitas Deluxe those are well worth it. If they improve the service, it would be a really great place to stay!

Highly recommend if you like boutique properties with an artsy touch. Their philosophy is really good with the neighboring Wayra - show restaurant - using the funds for the community!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Good morning UniqueBoutique,

Thank you for your review,

We will most definitely take your critiques into consideration in order to improve our services here at the hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you had a beautiful trip in Peru,

Best regards,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here as part of the REI Machu Picchu tour we were on; had no idea this was one of the hotels in the package. It didn't take long for me to classify this as one of the nicest hotel experiences I've ever had. The property is lush and beautiful but it's the lodgings that are so special. I've been describing the individual "rooms" as "huts", but clarifying that they're huts in the much the same way that Buckingham Palace is a "tenement". Because of this, with each hut separate, neighbor noise was never an issue. I was with my nephew and so had requested separate beds; because of this our hut had two floors, he had the upstairs portion with two double beds, I had below with one king. Lots of windows although i suppose I agree the rooms are a bit dark but not so much that it was an issue. Beautiful bathroom (although the mirror was miles away from the sink; made putting in your contacts or face shaving a challenge) and plenty of room to maneuver throughout the hut; downright spacious. My friend's hut had 2 beautiful stained glass windows which added to its charm. Yes, my nephew was chilly at night but in fairness he turned down my offer of a hot water bottle! The space heaters don't do a whole lot, I agree. You can probably find fault with a hotel no matter where you stay, but this one was really a delight.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Paula,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Sol & Luna.
It’s a pleasure to read that you liked the casitas!

We want our guests to feel comfortable and to have their space and privacy to get enough rest and enjoy their trip, definitely neighbor noise is never an issue!

Greetings from the Sol & Luna team,
Thank you again for your comment!

Sincerely,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHEVILLE
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

As you drive through the little town, you wonder why you even wanted to stay here. But when you turn into the hotel grounds, everything is beautiful. It turned out to be one of the best hotels we stayed in on this trip. We had no complaints. We only stayed two nights but wish it could have been longer. Great breakfast and fast (free) Internet in the business center. Be sure to ask where the business center is as it is located in a separate building from the reception. We enjoyed sitting on the porch of our casita watching the sun go down.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sol & Luna.
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for a wonderful review and we hope to see you back again sometime!

Greetings from the Sol & Luna team,

Wishing you the best,

Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Wonderfully peaceful spot to take a break during a tour of Peru, especially at high altitude. Beautiful grounds, amidst spectacular mountain ranges. Rooms spacious, comfortable and rustic. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The standard restaurant is relatively expensive (by Peruvian metrics), but excellent. We even had an impressive acrobatic show, like a mini-Cirque-du-Soleil. The fine dining restaurant is both superb and surprisingly reasonable. Small wonder that Peruvian cooking is so trendy these days.
Three tiny warnings: it is cold at night, so use your room heater; TVs only available in upgraded rooms; poor room lighting (why do so many quality hotels have poor lighting for working or writing?)
But do stop by in this Andean oasis and enjoy the quintessential tranquillity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Good morning PTS99,

We truly appreciate your review regarding your recent stay with us at the Sol y Luna.
It’s great that you were able to see one of our evening show; we are putting a great effort in giving to our guests different options to enjoy by night.

We will take into consideration all your comments.

Thank you again and don’t hesitate to visit us, it would be our pleasure to be your hosts again.

Kind regards,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoe
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The property has many unusual flora/fauna. Fun to look at. Individual casitas which are charming. Heated by small individual heaters which don't really do the job. VERY DARK in rooms. Hard to see what is in suitcase. Hot water bottles are both sides of our bed when we returned from dinner = wonderful surprise! Excellent food and service at dinner. Delicious virgin drinks which is a treat for those who do not consume alcohol. Not so great service at breakfast. Very good crepes for breakfast - when they finally fill the container.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt_Chevaleraud, Director de Recepción at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear EnjoyExploring2

Thank you for sharing this comment,
Glad that you liked the hot water bottles!
We regret that the service at breakfast was not as good as dinner and we will work on it.

However, we hope you enjoyed your stay and that you had a nice trip in Peru.

Greetings from the Sol & Luna team,

Best regards,


Matthieu Chevaleraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa

Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.