We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Urubamba
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a suite which was outstanding. Large and luxurious. We had a real fire each evening and hot water bottles are left under your pillow. We had our own garden with a sun lounger. The service was outstanding. The horse show whilst eating lunch (guinea pig which was delicious) was very good. We have stayed in a lot of good hotels, Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton etc and this hotel was as good as any of these. The swimming pool is small but there is so much to do and see in the area we did not need to swim. One tip is to make sure you have a guide to collect you, show you the area and return you to the hotel each day. The hotel is in its own grounds in the countryside and there isn't a lot of public transport. Plus a guide is best to help you identify the best sightseeing in the area and guide you round in private transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sol & Luna with our future visitors and for enjoying our facilities and services.

We would love to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Peru in order for you to enjoy your room, the horseshow, the gardens and our personalized service.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    115
    16
    12
    12
See reviews for
155
344
24
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A splendid hotel just outside the town of Urubamba. Lovely large bedrooms with open fire and excellent bath/shower room. Friendly helpful staff and very pretty grounds. Small pool, cold but as expected. Good seating area to watch over private garden and the wildlife. Nice bar and two good places to eat. If you need a hotel when doing the sites around the area, you'd be hard pressed to get any better.
Town is a short walk, 20 mins and an interesting insight into the local life. Taxi (tuk tuk) ride back is about £1.00, with a tip!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a flattering review of Sol & Luna.

We would be more than happy to see you stay with us again so that you can revel in your casita, our gardens, the gastronomy and the service we provide in your little piece of paradise!

We hope to see you back!

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. The grounds are lush, well manicured gardens. The rooms are fabulous suites. The bathrooms are beautifully design with an "open concept" feel. The floors are heated. As the evenings are very cool this is a great feature. They also bring a hot water bottle for the bed at turndown. Loved that. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The two restaurants ont he property are very good. The staff are very helpful and professional. Went horseback riding. The horses are beautiful and the guides very nice. Spa service was lovely. The only negative would be the pool. Unheated and essentially unswimmable given the temperature. Went for a walk around outside the grounds. Would not recommend. Seemed very sketchy and certainly nothing to see.

Room Tip: get a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your spacious casita, the gardens and the service we provide.

It is great that you took a horseback riding excursion with us and that you enjoyed our gastronomy.

It was a pleasure having you and we hope that on your next trip to Peru, you visit us again.

Best regards,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed two nights prior to visiting Machu Picchu and loved it. The food was great, the service was very good and the bungalows were spacious, clean and well decorated. The landscaping was visually breathtaking. The lodge has a great location for exploring other attractions such as Ollayantatambo, Mares and Moray in the Sacred Valley. Lunch with the Paso horse show at Wayra Ranch was outstanding. The horse show was nice for ambiance but not otherwise notable. Dinners were excellent, food quality and presentation was outstanding. Wine prices seemed a bit high. Overall, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our property and for your recommendation.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we are glad that you liked your casita, the gardens and the food and service we provide.

We sincerely hope to see you back one day!

Warmest regards,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights - a good thing - as you want time to unwind here and just enjoy the beautiful setting, pretty gardens and your lovely casita. We stayed in one of their premium ones - uber luxury with its own hot tub/jacuzzi, huge bathroom, lounge, bedroom and generous hallway. Nothing cramped about this place. The surrounding mountains are stunning and the gardens are well maintained and lovely to wander around. Nice stables too with very fine horses you can visit and help feed. There are two restaurants - one "formal" where you have breakfast and the other "more casual" located near the stables. We ate at the latter on our first night which was fine but a little "soul-less" if I'm honest. We enjoyed going out to Ollyantaytambo for a bite to eat on our second night - a taxi ride away - really worth visiting. A very friendly, bustling town with a good range of eateries and coffee bars and we enjoyed a fun evening there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and our future visitors.

We are glad that you could take full advantage of your casita, enjoyed the gardens and that you liked our ranch with horses.

We hope you can come back one day to stay with us again.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a place we would have loved to have spent several days in, but, sadly, our hectic schedule allowed for just one evening there after we arrived late in the afternoon (and we had to leave at 6:15 the next morning to catch the train to Machu Picchu - ugh!). Our room (a casita, actually) was wonderful. Lots of floor space, timbered tee pee-style ceiling, big king-size bed, beautiful bathroom and shower, and electric heat on a cool evening. The grounds were gorgeous, with lots of exotic blooming plants and flowers. Several nice meeting rooms, an attractive pool/cabana area, very nice restaurant/bar area, gift shop, etc. Overall, a very impressive property with controlled (gated) access, so you felt very secure while there.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be equally acceptable, as they are scattered around the property and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Sol & Luna!

Too bad you could not have spent more time with us to enjoy your casita, the gardens and facilities.

We certainly hope that you will return to Peru and this time spend at least three nights with us, so that we can spoil you the way you deserve.

Sincerely,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed another wonderful night in the lovely Sol Y Luna and will stay again when next in the Sacred Valley. The staff are so friendly in the hotel and the restaurant provided us with a delicious meal and show. My favourite touch is the cosy hot water bottles delivered to the room at night. This hotel has the most beautiful gardens to walk through whilst soaking up the sun and fresh air. I can't wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We also cannot wait for you to visit us again!

Hope you do so soon to enjoy some more of our food, service, gardens and the hot water bottles to keep you warm at night.

Sincerely,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa

Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol & Luna Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.