We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hacienda del Valle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hacienda del Valle to your Saves list
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sector Pucara s/n Yanahuara, Urubamba 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Urubamba
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Terra Andina Hotel is a former Libertrador. It is a little difficult to find, located between Ollantaytambo and Urubamba, but worth the hunt! It is nestled in between mountains, with beautiful landscaping. The rooms are large, with balconies overlooking the mountains and extensive grounds. It is a very nice, relaxing place to stay. Staff are very helpful, and very courteous. They arranged for us to take a 4 hour taxi ride to various places around Sacred Valley. They also allowed us to store our luggage there while we visited Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    48
    22
    13
    4
See reviews for
34
67
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

The Libertador Valle Sagrado was a big part of my unforgettable Peruvian experience. Its’s a colonial style hotel, which is typical of Cusco, has been designed to blend in with the natural surroundings and offers fantastic views of the lovely garden, mountains and the Sacred Valley. My room was both big and comfortable and made me feel at home with satellite TV, safety and 24 hour room service. The hotel is fantastically located and gives you easy access to Machu Picchu, the town of Ollantaytambo, the market at Pisac and the Maras Salt Pits. The hotel’s staff was friendly and bilingual. Highly recommended and affordable hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

This was our first stop on our vacation, we stayed two nights. Edgar and Jaime picked us up at the airport and got us safely to the hotel. This place is beautiful! Their website doesn't do it justice!! Rooms are very spacious, clean and extremely charmingl! Everyone there was so nice and helpful!! All our meals there were delicious!!! Miguel, the manager, greeted us on our second night with some delicious drinks. Miguel was very helpful and informative. Julliano (sp?) at the restaurant was so nice and funny! He was a joy to see in the mornings and at night!! Julliano made us the best coffee! It looked strong, but was extremely smooth, and it was served with hot milk. Noncoffee drinkers in our group were raving about it. And us coffee drinkers were in heaven!! The hotel arranged for a tour of the Sacred Valley (Maras, Moray, Chinchero, Ollantaytambo and Pisaq). Edith was our tour guide for the Sacred Valley and Richard was our driver. Edith was very informative and extremely nice! We wish we would have asked to have her as our tour guide in Cusco. Richard drove us safely all over the Sacred Valley, which was not an easy feat at times. We loved this hotel, the staff, the accommodations and the food!! Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed at the Valle Sagrado Lodge after Cusco and before Machu Picchu. The view was amazing! The room itself was large, modern, and very charming with lots of polished wood. The location is a bit removed from the town, but worth the comfort and views.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

When we were in Peru we got caught in between a public transportation hike and ended up showing up at the hotel at 11 pm at night. They were able to accomadate us and make us feel very comfortable.

We were only planning on staying here one night but ended up staying here 3 days. This place was our favorite place in Peru.

Due to the strike we were the only guests at the hotel for one day because no one was able to come and go and the manager made sure that we still had breakfast and all the other things that we would need.

This place is so beautful and serence, not to mention the rooms are magnificiant.

A great thing that the hotel is doing is hiring local people from the area - to train and educate them so that the community can also become more invested in tourism as well as taking pride in the area in which they come from.

The hotel restaurant has very good and fresh Peruvian food!

The manager was so accomadating and not to mention a very great and educated conversationalist who did whatever he could to make our trip at this hotel as amazing as possible. I would recommend this for anyone who needs to get away and just relax. It is located a bit outside of Ollantaytambo but definetly worth the trip.

  • Liked — location and customer service
  • Disliked — nothing, it was amazing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We arrived late in the evening at the Libertador Valle Sagrado Lodge after touring the Sacred Valley. We checked in and went to our room. The room was large and comfortable. It also had good-sized balcony. I did find the safe a bit difficult to work with, but that was minor inconvenience. We had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel that evening. The food and the service at the restaurant were good.

Then next morning we were up early to catch the train from Ollantaytambo to Machu Picchu. It was dark when we arrived the night before so we really didn’t get to fully appreciate the grounds and the surrounding mountains until the next morning. The scenery was quite nice. The breakfast buffet was one of the best that we had while we were in Peru.

I suppose the one drawback would be that the hotel it is located fairly far from town, so walking into town would be difficult. However in our case this wasn’t a problem because we were just there for an overnight stay.

If you are looking for a nice place to relax after touring the Sacred Valley, Libertador Valle Sagrado Lodge is a good choice.

I would have enjoyed spending a little more time there.

  • Liked — The rooms/balcony and the scenery.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We spent two lovely days at this hotel.We were a group of fourteen ages 11 to 52 from Argentina and we all enjoyed it very much. Rooms are spacious and impecable. Food was extremely good althouth the service was a little slow. All the staff members were polite and fiendly at all times. The gardens were blooming with flowers and we found it difficult to leave such nice surroundings. A very good choice to stay.

  • Liked — The surroundings,the view
  • Disliked — slowness of waiters
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hacienda del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda del Valle

Address: Sector Pucara s/n Yanahuara, Urubamba 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda del Valle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family hotel chain with operations in 2 of the most important tourism destinies of Peru. One of our locations is Puno where it is Titicaca Lake (the highest navigable lake in the world) and the other one is in the Sacred Valley in Cuzco. Our hotel in Cuzco it's located in Yanahuara between Urubamba and Ollantaytambo city. The first one is the main city of the sacred valley and in the other one is located the biggest train station to go to Machu Picchu's ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Hacienda del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Del Valle Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hacienda del Valle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.