We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SERVICE AND VERY FRIENDLY PEOPLE!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo | Sacred Valley, Urubamba C01, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Urubamba
Lima
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SERVICE AND VERY FRIENDLY PEOPLE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent two days at this Hotel and it was one of the best experiences we had. Since we arrived to the hotel, staff were very kind. We are specially grateful with Hans, Rhay and Dick.

We had a room with a beautiful view of the Urubamba River.

We tried their food at the restaurant and it was delicious, specially the "Noodles Urubamba".

Also the room service was very good and puntual.

At last point, take note that rooms don't have television, however if you want to watch some movies, the hotel can provide one with DVD reproducer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    39
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
72
239
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I loved this hotel! What a surprise after driving through a typical Peruvain village, crossing the railway line and finding behind high walls the Garden of Eden!
We stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room. The room was perfect in every way. Plenty storage space. Tea and coffee making facilities. Picture window with terrace. View of mountains, valley and gardens with very playful lama and alpaca. Shower with glass walls and roof and strategically placed plants in front.
Breakfast was very good and the evening meal in the restaurant was excellent.
We used the spa and had wonderful massages. They were expensive but worth it .
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

What a hotel.
Peace, serenity, luxurious rooms and service of an exceptionally high standard - this place has it all.
We spent two nights here last week during our honeymoon trip and the experience was blissful.
The team here are so service oriented that this will be remembered by us as an extremely special experience for the rest of our married lives!
We were treated to brilliant service in every area of the property. Maria in the spa, Raul in the bar and Tony in the restaurant really impressed - nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was superb here, the best on our entire trip and the kitchen is operating at a really high level.
Floris, the hotel's GM is doing a great job in running this property, can't thank him and the team there enough for exceeding our expectations so highly.
Very highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I have loved our experience here at Rio Sagrado! The staff is among the kindest I have encountered in all of my travels. If you want to "un-plug" and enjoy a paradise pastoral style, then I would reccomend Rio Sagrado for you! Foodies will enjoy the entrees that are literally plucked from the garden on site. Fresher than fresh fish and cuts of beef to melt in your mouth! The spa is intimate and enjoyable and the rooms are tranquility at its most sublime. Five Stars!

Room Tip: The staff kindly upgraded us to a junior twin suite. Very spacious and modern with a private deck b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights in March 2011. The area was amazing. The hotel was just in front of the river and the views wass soooo pleasant. Our room was exactly as we could see on the web. We really appreciate the biutiful furnitures, and the smart decoration. The accomodations were warm, had a very good smell and were very clean. The little garden in front of the room gave us an amzing view on the river and mountains. The bathroom was really good too. We had good dinners there. It truly was a wonderful experience. The only we regret a little was that the staff, sometimes, had a lack of profesionality, but we went there at the begining of the life of the hotel and I am quite sure that they upgrade now! Definitely if you go in the Sacred valley you should go there!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have only been awed by service in a hotel a few times in my life. This was one of them. Rio Sagrado is situated along the Rio Sagrado river in the Sacred Valley. It has a perfect balance of nature and accommodations.
We stayed here for three nights as base camp to explore the sites of Sacred Valley before embarking upon Machu Picchu.
The staff was there to arrange everything possible. In fact, it is difficult to arrange trip details in Peru from the US. I would recommend asking the hotel for help. Britney is very helpful. The entire staff was friendly, well trained and genially cares for the guests. Flores, the Manager has done a superb job in creating a culture within this oasis.
You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is an oasis. It sits in a valley with rooms having balconies overlooking a peaceful river with mountains behind. There are numerous flowers throughout the property. The room itself has a very comfortable bed and pillows. The shower is wrapped in glass looking out at the valley and mountains. With no TV but an ipod docking station, it is a relaxing respite from touring. The restaurant was excellent- the trout, chicken and sauces, all exceeded expectations. The only problem was that our room was overrun by small ants. We changed rooms but the second room also had ants- not as bad- but still- waking up with 8 dead ants in your bed and having them walking all over the counter was not what I would expect at a high end hotel. The staff has limited english skills and don't expect a full service hotel experience. However, for being in the middle of nowhere it was a welcome sight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your compliments. We will keep working on our service to deliver fantastic travel experiences and charm that will always prevail in our guests' memories.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Patricia Pinillos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Address: Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo | Sacred Valley, Urubamba C01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En el Valle Sagrado de los Incas, entre campos verdes y altas montanas se encuentra el Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Este bello hotel de lujo esta construido de materiales naturales con la intencion de parecer un pequeno pueblo andino. Situado a una altitud inferior a las inmediaciones del Cusco, sus villas encantadoras proveen el ambiente perfecto para relajarse y aclimatarse. Asi que disfrute los productos frescos de El Restaurante, goce de un masaje en el spa y conozca en el verdadero espiritu de la vida peruana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.