We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, fantastic location and wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo | Sacred Valley, Urubamba C01, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Urubamba
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, fantastic location and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights which is highly recommended so you can acclimatise to the altitude before heading to Machu Picchu. We had room 11 which was an absolutely beautiful Junior Suite overlooking the stunning gardens and the mighty Urubamba River. Everything about the Rio Sagrado by Orient Express was faultless. The staff were impeccable, the food delicious and the location breathtaking. Thank you to Floris and his team for a wonderful 3 days... We will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear JenT
Our pleasure, we all enjoyed having you stay with us and are happy you had a wonderful 3 days at Rio Sagrado
Looking forward to meeting you again

With warm regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    39
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
72
237
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

During our trip to Peru, my husband and I had very good experiences at 3 Orient Express Properties (Rio Sagrado, Santuary, and Monasterio), but Rio Sagrado was by far our favorite. What a gem!

It's the staff that truly makes this property shine. Valeria provided superb email correspondance over the nine months leading up to our trip! She gave us suggestions and coordinated our activities for us. Tony and Raul were kind, fun, attentive and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Every staff member remembered our names after the first time they met us and greeted us by our names everytime thereafter! I can't say enough about the quality of the service at Rio Sagrado. We felt like we made friends when we were there.

The even better news is that in addition to the fantastic staff, the property is just beautiful and very well maintained. Even though it's the start of fall there were flowering plants, trees, and bushes everywhere. The river and the mountains in the background add to the peacefulness of the property. We stayed in a junior suite which was spacious and well appointed. Loved the partially "open" shower. The breakfast included a wide variety of cold items (fantastic fruit), as well as made to order hot items. We enjoyed several meals at the hotel .... their preparation of local ingredients (particularly vegetables and trout) were wonderful.

We enjoyed many activities that the hotel offered / helped coordinate. First, the Pisco tasting & lesson put on by Raul on Wednesday night. Who knew there were so many different types of Pisco! We also enjoyed bottle feeding the baby alpaca and llama (well, maybe I did more than my husband). The alpaca has a little 'tude!

The first full day we asked the hotel to arrange a driver to take us to Pisac to see the ruins, the market, as well as lunch at a local restaurant. The Pisac ruins are fantastic and very much worth a visit. A small taste of what you'll see at Machu Picchu. The Blue Llama was a great place to have lunch. Fun drawings on the wall show the "blue llama" at famous sites around the world. Food was tasty and very reasonably priced. Eduardo our driver was very nice even though our Spanish was limited and his English was limited!

Our favorite activity came on our second full day when the hotel arranged a trek with Valeteen (our guide). We drove to Moray and then began our trek viewing the amazing concentric terraces the Incans built here. We then walked through stunning countryside and had the pleasure of observing local families harvesting crops, herding sheep and pigs. We even had small children come running up to great us and luckily we had candies in our backpack to share with them. We then walked through the town of Maras and had our lunch outside the town's church. We shared fruit from our lunches with a local grandmother, her daughter and her twin grandchildren who were sitting in the same square in front of the church doing some craftwork. After lunch we walked down into and through the Maras salt mines. Oh my gosh, I had no idea that's how salt was mined! It was very very cool to see and then actually walk through the salt terraces. It's owned by two communities and then the 3000 terraces are cared for by many different families. We then walked into the valley, across the river back to Rio Sagrado. We went about 8 miles over about 5 hours - - - truly memorable.

One more item of note - had one of the best meals of our trip at el Huacatay in Urumbamba. We shared the alpaca carpaccio (amazing) and I had the alpaca filet. Truly beautiful food. Also the cinnamon dessert was out of this world. MUST DINE HERE!

Thanks to Rio Sagrado for one of our most memorable travel experiences!

Room Tip: Junior Suite was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Rio Segrado is tucked away in marvellous grounds in the Sacred Valley.

Be prepared for lots of steps but the hotel offers all you would expect plus the chance to feed baby Alpacas and LLamas.

Please don't take to much notice of the menu, if you have other choices, the staff would appear to meet you individual needs.

Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Rio Sagrado for 2 nights using the hotel for trips to Urubamba valley and Macchu Picchu. The hotel offered a excellent service in a friendly and peaceful environment.
Wireless internet access was included for free.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I spend 2 nights in May at this fine hotel - unparalleled service, beautiful rooms and setting, and delicious food. The staff was a perfect mix of professional and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Rio Sagrado for five nights, using the hotel as our base to explore the Sacred Valley. We chose this lovely retreat over the bustle of Cusco and were so glad we did! The hotel couldn't have been more lovely and the staff more friendly and helpful. The atmosphere of the bar and restaurant is a perfect combination of modern and friendly; the food and drinks are superb. The free breakfast was substantial - with continental fare plus cooked-to-order eggs, french toast, etc. There were special dinner offerings on different nights so we never tired of eating on site. We loved chatting with the restaurant manager, Cesar,and our teen daughter was ecstatic to feed the baby llama and alpaca in the mornings.

Our room was spacious, especially compared to other hotels we stayed in Peru, and had a beautiful view of the gardens and Urubamba River. We had a private patio area where my husband was able to spend a productive day working via the internet while my daughter and I toured.

We used Orient Express, the company that owns the hotel, to arrange all of our tours of the Sacred Valley and were delighted with all of our tours. The hotel also has a variety of tour options available. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if we return to Peru!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights the last week of May at the Rio Sagrado looking for peace and relaxation after a week tour of Cusco, the Sacred Valley, and Machu Picchu. My wife picked the perfect spot for that! My wife did not leave the grounds once between check in and check out and I only for a morning hike to the nearby salt ponds. Still, there was not enough time to enjoy the beauty and sounds of the grounds, the river, and the mountains.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant manager, Cesar, was particularly interesting and we learned much about Peruvian food, fruit, and drink from him. In addition to the wonderful food and drink, we enjoyed the relaxing spa, feeding the cute baby alpaca and the sweet baby llama, lying around in the hammocks, wandering around the beautiful gardens, and learning how to make pisco sours and ceviche. We were also able to get some last minute gifts from the women who trek down to the river to do their weaving and sell their goods.

We were very fortunate to have been upgraded to the Villa Capuli as the hotel was completely booked. The villa was gorgeous, two stories, with essentially a whole wall of glass which faced the river. Even the master bedrooms’ showers had a view of the river. The soothing sound of the water in the river and the irrigation streams was very pleasant. The first night we went to the bar for a while before dinner and the night air was fairly cold when returning after dinner. Unfortunately, the fire that the staff had built in the villa’s fireplace had gone out by the time we got back. The villa was somewhat cool, but the heated floors felt wonderful on the feet. We were more careful the second night, making sure the fire was going well before leaving for dinner.

Our stay at the Rio Sagrado was the perfect end to a wonderful vacation. We were looking for a place where we could catch our breath before we had to head back to the routine of daily life. This place fit the bill wonderfully. Yes, as one of the other reviewers pointed out, there are a lot of stairs if you go directly from the restaurant to the office, however we found that the less direct, more meandering paths were much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado

Address: Km. 75. 8 Carretera Urubamba-Ollantaytambo | Sacred Valley, Urubamba C01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En el Valle Sagrado de los Incas, entre campos verdes y altas montanas se encuentra el Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado. Este bello hotel de lujo esta construido de materiales naturales con la intencion de parecer un pequeno pueblo andino. Situado a una altitud inferior a las inmediaciones del Cusco, sus villas encantadoras proveen el ambiente perfecto para relajarse y aclimatarse. Asi que disfrute los productos frescos de El Restaurante, goce de un masaje en el spa y conozca en el verdadero espiritu de la vida peruana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.