We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Eat Dinner Spot in Sacred Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tres Keros Restaurant Grill & Bar

Tres Keros Restaurant Grill & Bar
Av Senor de Torrechayoc, Urubamba, Peru
20 1701
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Urubamba
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must Eat Dinner Spot in Sacred Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

If in the Sacred Valley - Tres Keros Restaurant is not to be missed! Owner/chef Ricardo will welcome you into his restaurant-like-home and make sure you are satisfied and well fed. The service was great and the prices are amazing. Big portions - great experience - excellent taste of local produce and favors.

Menu Tips:
Start with the Yucca - it comes with two delicious dipping sauces - I am craving more of the spicy one as I write this. The wine selection is nice and the bar is fully stocked - served by the glass or bottle. Ask for a shot of Pisco. For a main course I got the filet with a balsamic berry reduction - on the side it had an incredible sweet corn purée. My boyfriend (who is a professional chef) got the salto lomado and he said the tenderloin is some do the best he has ever ate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    50
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in Urubamba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was, by far, the best meal on our recent visit to Peru. The hotel staff recommended this restaurant and we weren't sure what to expect. The restaurant had a charming atmosphere and owner/chef, Ricardo was personable and interesting to chat with. The food was fresh, high quality and very tasty. We ordered local favorites including the Lomo Saltado, which was tender and flavorful. I also highly recommend the chef specialty tenderloin with banana, balsamic reduction sauce. Truly a memorable meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you are looking for a fine dining experience in a warm, comfortable atmosphere while in Urubumba then Tres Keros isn't to be missed! We were a party of six - four adults and two children, ages 4 and 7. Each of the six different dishes we ordered was presented beautifully and tasted even better! The menu offers a large selection of everything from the traditional Lomo dishes through to vegetarian fare. A fairly good wine list is available (but the beer selection here, like most places we visited in Peru is quite limited). TIP: Don't miss the Pisco collection - ask the owner to give you a tour and then select at least one as your after dinner potable. NOTE - This is not a child-friendly restaurant in the North American sense - no kids' menu or offer of crayons. None the less the kids we were with who are seasoned travellers enjoyed the food, then promptly fell asleep in our laps as we enjoyed the rest of our visit. Hope you enjoy your visit as much as we did!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great food, great service, great price! A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our hotel recommended Tres Keros, and the atmosphere is great inside, homey with a nice fireplace and music. And the food was even better than we'd been told to expect! An amazing filet, excellent pasta, a glass of great wine, and soda = a fabulous meal for 2 for ~$35. Seriously, better than beef we've had for any price in the US - and the first time my husband hasn't added salt to a meal in a long time, since it was already perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked, and flavorful. The server and owner were also great. The menu was translated to English, which made this an easy stop. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We came across Tres Keros as it was just outside Tambo del Inka. Had an awesome lunch including what my wife said was the best yucca she has ever had and she is from Columbia.

Was so good that we rearranged our schedule on the way back from Machu Picchu and invited our driver and guide for lunch. Unfortunately, it was Tuesday and they were closed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tres Keros Restaurant Grill & Bar also viewed

Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Tres Keros Restaurant Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tres Keros Restaurant Grill & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.