We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly creative and delicious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Huacatay

El Huacatay
Urubamba, Peru
+84 201790 / +84 9676876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Urubamba
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly creative and delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were surprised to find such creativity in a small town in Peru. My husband had the lamb chops and I had a shrimp dish. Both were amazing. In my opinion, the prices were more than fair given the quality of the food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    86
    27
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Fl
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by some locals and then we saw the reviews in tripadvisor. We really enjoyed the food in here. I had the saltado mixto and my husband had the gnocchi and they were both great but the best without a question was the appetizer; we had the alpaca carpaccio and it was really really good. The service and the drinks are also great. Just go prepared because the place is cash only.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a fantastic dinner in this lovely small restaurant. The food was really well prepared. We had the alpaca entre and the gnocchi. Really, really delicious.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“To expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had the shrimp and potato soup and it did not taste like anything. It was small for $14 USD and I could have gotten an entire meal for the same price at a better restaurant. The waiter took a long time to bring salt and by that time, the soup was cold. They could do better here with the service and food for that price. It was the most expensive restaurant in Urubamba and not the best food. I got the soup because had taken 50 soles with me thinking that would have been enough to eat dinner, but I only had enough for soup and tea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in the unassuming town of Urubamba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This little restaurant is tucked away in the town of Urubamba and we found it to be very romantic and innovative and delicious! We ate here twice (lunch and dinner) and has a nice vibe for both (lunch is nice to eat out on the patio) and dinner was romantic inside. Both times we were very happy with our choices and thought it was very unique and delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Huacatay also viewed

Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 

Been to El Huacatay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Huacatay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.