We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ruins & interesting market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pisac Inca Ruins

Pisac Inca Ruins
Pisaq, Peru
Improve this listing
Visit Pisac Inca Ruins like an insider
Private Tour
$199*
and up
Private Tour: Pisac, Ollantaytambo and Amaru...
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Pisaq
Attraction details
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice ruins & interesting market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very worthwhile stop. We visited the market in midweek, so didn't see it at its best, but nice. We didn't buy anything since we were at the start of a long trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,295
    699
    170
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Rivals Machu Picchu without the crowds and expense!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband Peter and I visited the Pisac ruins on our next to the last day in Peru’s Sacred Valley and were absolutely blown away by the ruins. Visitors to the ruins can opt to take a steep and fairly long hike up the mountain or you can do as we did, take a taxi to the top where one can hop out of the taxi to purchase tickets before riding on to the entrance. We were so glad we opted for the ride up because we spent nearly eight hours hiking up and down the mountains to almost every point in the ruins then hiked back down to Pisac, taking the time to soak in the views of the surrounding landscape and beautiful architecture.

When we first arrived, we were a bit dismayed by the hordes of people that made the ruins feel claustrophobic. We soon discovered, however, that the vast majority of those visitors arrived via tour buses or other organized groups and rarely ventured much beyond the main entrance. They were belched out of vehicles long enough to hear the typical tour guide spiel and shoot a few photographs before hopping back in their vehicles to head to the next stop of their whirlwind tour of the area. Once we moved away from the entrance, we encountered only a few dozen other visitors.

The Pisac ruins are much more spread out than Machu Picchu, so I recommend you allot sufficient time to traipse from section to section if you want the full experience. Sure, the structures near the entrance are spectacular, but so is the rest of the site, which is surrounded by sentry posts perched precariously near the edge that allow spectacular views of the terracing. If you do not leave the main area near the entrance, you miss such wonders as the Temple of the Sun, the Sacred Plaza filled with stones that reflect and honor the sacred mountains surrounding the area and the curved wall, one of very few of its kind, near that plaza.

We attempted to hike up to the graveyard in the side of the mountain but missed a turn and ended up on a neighboring farm where a woman and her son were tending to livestock. Peter went over to have a chat, and she quickly pulled out her weavings for our shopping pleasure Seems everyone is a weaver.

I highly recommend visiting the Pisac Ruins.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bit over rated - the market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you are going to go to Pisac, go early in your trip the Cusco so you can appreciate the market. Otherwise as we thought, it was just another market with everyone selling the same stuff. We went on a Tuesday and the main square was filled, but nothing special. I would recommend going on a Sunday for sure. The prices may be a bit cheaper, but for the cost of getting there by Taxi, 50 sols there and 40 return, I would save the money. The ruins are a hard hike and we had done Machu Picchu so we did not explore them.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Harbour
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worthwhile trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We visited the ruins twice, the first time with a group and when the crowds were there. The next time, we were earlier (before 10) and had more time to hike to the Intihuatana (hitching post of the Sun). We spent about 2 hours photographing and enjoying the views of the surrounding valleys and terraces, and could have spent another hour there looping back on the lower trail.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Second only to Machu Picchu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

These ruins are a must-see if you are in Peru! My wife and I went to Pisac to see the market, but since we got to the town before the market opened we decided to go to the ruins first. AMAZING! I dont know how describe the ruins better than in that one word...but I will try. This Incan community consisted of several home sites in different areas. One of the great things about these ruin is that you can explore everything. Unlike Machu Picchu, there are not minders everywhere telling you where you can and cannot go, so you are free to explore. It makes you feel like you are really discovering something. Also, this site provided the best terraces that we saw in Peru. One piece of advice that I would give is to get there early! We got to the ruins around 8:30 in the morning and almost had the place to ourselves. By the time we left the place was swarming with people. GO EARLY and PLAN FOR A FEW HOURS, you will need it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pisac Inca Ruins also viewed

Pisaq, Sacred Valley
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Pisac Inca Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pisac Inca Ruins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.