We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Market is so-so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pisac Inca Ruins

Pisac Inca Ruins
Pisaq, Peru
Improve this listing
Visit Pisac Inca Ruins like an insider
Private Tour
$199*
and up
Private Tour: Pisac, Ollantaytambo and Amaru...
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Pisaq
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Market is so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had heard and read that Pisac market was huge and really authentic. Upon arrival it seemed to be just like every other market in Cusco! Yes, it was bigger and near the Pisac ruins so much more special, but it's still a market (once you've seen one you've seen them all!) Still fun to visit though :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,295
    699
    170
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
148 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Nicest native kids ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went there not expecting much, but were overly surprised by the architecture and solutions for the water problems. Then we went dow to town where we found the nicest kids ever some asking for money but as soon as we started playing with them, they forgot about that and we were able to see them in their inocence. what a great time we had. Showing them pictures and talking about the life they have there. I will never forget that. People is what makes this place truly special.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Market-Ruins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

On a tour arranged by GAdventures. Market is distinguised by being large. It was a Sunday so it was apparently busier than usual. Local group of entertainers was passing through the marekt during our visit. Our tour driver said we did not have to worry about being accosted by photo recipients for propina - not. They were as aggressive as any other place we stopped. We found the ruins very interesting well preserved and busy. The one way road in was a zoo. Must be crazy busy in peak season. Good option to visit if its on your trip through the Sacred Valley. Be sure to stop at the viewpoint on the way in from Cuzco for the best view up the valley. Entrance fee is s$70 for a one day pass for 4 of the ruin sites.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great market, especially if you can experience the farmers market. Good place to pick up souvenirs. Be sure to bargain!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little Market and Ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great little town. Our trip was enhanced by the local bus journey there. Cost about 40p one way for an hour+ trip over the mountains to Pisaq and the market. To see the ruins, you need a taxi and have to pay a 70 peruvian Soles entry fee. Which is valid for 2 days and covers some other attractions. Oue Taxi driver waited 2 hours for us to return and took us back to the bus stop in PisaQ. Sort out the price before you leave.
Another one to visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pisac Inca Ruins also viewed

Pisaq, Sacred Valley
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Pisac Inca Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pisac Inca Ruins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.