We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of mullu cafe

mullu cafe
plaza de armas 352 | av.la molina 1047 int. 24, lima 12, Pisaq 00, Peru
51-84-203073
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Pisaq
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Peruvian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Since 1999 Mullu Cafe offers creative dishes mixing peruvian and asian cuisine. The place is rustic style, lounge music and a spectacular balcony view of the Pisac Market. For travelers that want to feel like home.
Sunnyvale, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were at the Pisac market on a Sunday morning. My husband did not want to shop so a friend and I were shopping at the market and my husband found this wonderful restaurant to grab a beer and watch all the market activity. The restaurant has a balcony overlooking the market area so you can see all the colorful fruits and veggies that the Peruvian villagers are selling. Plus enjoy watching the colorful clothing and outfits of the women there. When we were done shopping, we joined my husband for lunch. It was a light delicious lunch, well prepared and elegantly presented. I had the tuna with an Asian influence and it was very good. We enjoyed being there and the owner was also the server, at least that day. He pays attention to everything that goes on at his restaurant. It has a relaxing atmosphere and very good food. Thank you for giving us a great gourmet lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    32
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Mullu is a wonderful cafe environment. I went here with a group of friends and we enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The place is like a new age electronic haven. If your into electronic music and its scene than you'll love this place. We shared the "Pad Thai" which is HUGE, dont order this by yourself. We also had the crab curry, I recommend sharing the plates because they are quite large. Also, the juices are quite refreshing. This place is an oasis in Pisac and its great to see things on the menu that you wont find anywhere else.

My only complaint was the Pad Thai was well OVER seasoned with soy/fish sauce and the noodles where over saturated with the salty flavor. Having Pad Thai all over the world and making it myself I can safely criticize it. But besides that everything was top notch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garudax, Propietario at mullu cafe, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Onemindspinning,
Thanks for enjoying our place. we suggest you that in your next visit just customize your Pad Thai, we can make it less salty, more sour, spicier, sweeter and change it from shrimp to tofu, or chicken to mushroom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, laid back, global menu with lots of options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This restaurant doesn't stand out, as you have to go through a retail store and up the stairs. Once you find it you won't want to leave. The restaurant is laid back with very good music. The global focus of their menu means a lot of exciting options to try. It doesn't stop with food. They have a broad assortment of beverages, including mixed drinks, fruit juices, and fruit smoothies.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wish I could go back here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was the best food we had during our whole 5 month trip and some before that. Pisac seems an unlikely place to find such good food, but here it is, in a cool setting - funky decor and paintings. I would definitely not miss a trip here if I were in Pisac. Its a little pricey for Peru but not for the quality of food, it would be much more back home. There is the added bonus of sitting out on the balcony to people watch during the day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

the pad thai is pad thai! the service is with a smile the fish dish is just crazy good. the desserts are meant to make you feel like you just ate a dessert! <3

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mullu cafe also viewed

Pisaq, Sacred Valley
Pisaq, Sacred Valley
 
Pisaq, Sacred Valley
 

Been to mullu cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mullu cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.