We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fusion cuisine overlooking Pisac market” 5 of 5 stars
Review of mullu cafe

mullu cafe
plaza de armas 352 | av.la molina 1047 int. 24, lima 12, Pisaq 00, Peru
51-84-203073
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 restaurants in Pisaq
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Peruvian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Since 1999 Mullu Cafe offers creative dishes mixing peruvian and asian cuisine. The place is rustic style, lounge music and a spectacular balcony view of the Pisac Market. For travelers that want to feel like home.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Delicious fusion cuisine overlooking Pisac market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A lot of restaurants in Peru describes their food as "fusion cuisine," but this is the real deal! The menu is full of choices drawn from Thai, Vietnamese, Japanese, and other cuisines, but they each have a uniquely Peruvian aspect to them. We especially enjoyed the raviolis stuffed with alpaca meat with a sweet passionfruit and berry sauce--yum! Also liked the Viet-Indochine rolls. The chicken stuffed with mozzarella and basil was only OK, but it came with an outstanding side dish that I will dream about--sweet potato and almond puree. Delicious smoothies, too!

Each dish was made to order so it wasn't a quick lunch, but we loved the setting with the balcony over the Plaza de Armas, which allowed us to take some great photos of locals buying produce at the market.

Definitely recommend to anyone visiting Pisac for the market and/or the ruins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    85
    25
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A good option in Pisac, bit there are probable better values.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I have had coffee here several times waiting on out of town guests shopping the market. Decided to try breakfast today as I stopped here in route to the not so famous Pisac Potato Park which i will write later.

The breakast was ok, anybody, even I can fry up a good bbreakfast. The standout was the toast. It was exceptional and of course the balcony setting overlooking the market on a Sunday morning. No doubt I will be back here, but probably just for coffee after I fill up on on cheap empanadas in the market.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best lunch in all of Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We shared sandwiches here on a Sunday which turned out to be our favorite lunch spot in all of Peru where we traveled for almost 3 weeks. Great spot overlooking main square. Give it a try!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy Andean food with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to Pisac to see the Inca ruins that are situated above the town and to visit the renowned Pisac mercado. We hiked around the ruins first, then discovered this small restaurant when we went in search of lunch to recharge. I had the alpaca and my companion had the lomo and both were truly delicious. We felt that the price was fair as well. The presentation was attractive and portions were generous. Additionally, we sat on the balcony above the Plaza and watched the market down below as we ate, which was enjoyable and entertaining. From the balcony we also had a good view of the ruins in the hills above the town. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Peru.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia, NB
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic view :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stopped here several times, they have a small patio overlooking the market. They are not the cheapest in town but they have a nice tasty elegant meal, I had Alpaca burger which was good. They serve a great cup of tea, it is a lovely experience. Friendly staff that make it a nice place to hang out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mullu cafe also viewed

Pisaq, Sacred Valley
Pisaq, Sacred Valley
 
Pisaq, Sacred Valley
Pisaq, Sacred Valley
 

Been to mullu cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mullu cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.