We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melissa Wasi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melissa Wasi to your Saves list
Melissa Wasi
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sector Matara s/n, Pisaq, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Pisaq B&B and Inns
Key Biscayne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A true home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Joyce and Chito are wonderful hosts, they make you feel at home, way beyond simple hosts they truly take you in as part of their family. The setting right against majestic mountains is spectacular and the best restaurant in town is right on the property. Highly recommended. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    12
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
25
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed at Melissa Wasi for a fasting retreat, facilitated by Patrick O'Connor from thefastingpath.com
The facilities for this kind of retreat are excellent.There was a nicely equipped kitchen to be used by customers. I was accommodated in room 6, which is an luxury room on the hillside of the property. It was very clean, the shower had plenty of hot water and enough pressure. There was a satellite receiver with an adequate TV.
The Wifi was available and fairly stable at the owner's residence, which was also used as a common room. The gardens are beautiful. The place is a short 10 minutes walk to the town center of Pisac. Taxi rides are very affordable. Last but not least, the owners are really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Joyce and Chito, the owners, will do anything to make your stay so beautiful. They bring hospitality really to a different level. They live hospitality from their hearts. They inspire their staff to do the same! Melissa Wasi is the dreamspot in the valley. Surrounded by a beautiful garden where many hummingbirds love to stay. The rooms are located in original made houses of adobe, which create a wonderful atmosphere. They are very helpful in organizing you trip and know a lot of beautiful locations.

Room Tip: There are 3 bungalows; all beautiful. A kitchen and an open fire. Rooms in the house and rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We chose Melissa Wasi to start our trip in the Sacred Valley. Because we have never been at altitudes higher than 2 km before, we decided to get acclimatized in the Valley before going up to Cusco and other places higher than 3 km. We stayed 2 nights in the bungalow B3 facing a newly built restaurant. We enjoyed our stay. The hosts are wonderful people ready to help with everything. They arranged a taxi to pick up us at airport. They called a taxi and provided walking sticks for our trip to Pisac ruins. When we found that TV in our room lacks DVD player, we asked the hosts and they sent a person who brought a player and connected it to TV. Every evening, a person appeared in our bungalow to start a fireplace for us. The only problem, I could not figure out how to stop smoke from seeping into the room. Aside from this, everything was great. We liked flowers, beautiful garden, and mountain scenery. We also liked the new restaurant building that uses natural rock as one of its walls.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This bed and breakfast is nestled on a pristine piece of land framed with breathtaking views.
Chito, the owner, (his wife Joyce was out of town) greeted my fiance and I when we arrived and showed us to our room. His sincerity and genuine hospitality were refreshing to say the least.
We stayed in room 4 which was a sweet space including a comfortable bed and a brightly sun-lit bathroom.
We visited the Pisac Ruins which were a cab ride (around 25 soles= a little over 9$ US) up the mountain.
A ride back to the hotel from the Pisac market- just in town, is 3 soles, or about a 15-20 minute walk along the river back to Melissa Wasi.
Also check out the Blue Llama for delicious food and a excellent espresso. And use the ATM inside, as Melissa Wasi is cash only!
Chef Tim Butterly cooks amazing food at the restaurant on the property called La Trattoria Escondida (The Hidden Restaurant). We had a beet and goat cheese salad with organic greens, followed by a trout with homemade fresh pasta made by Rebecca. Marni, the server/ pastry chef/ extraordinaire also impressed us both with her delicious cheesecake, and welcoming spirit. The restaurant was packed! Local musicians were playing beautiful music in house which added to the warm atmosphere.
Breakfast was in the main house with Chito, and was a perfect selection of made to order eggs, pancakes, teas, coffee, etc.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed in April with our family. The hosts were very nice and the property is beautiful. They were very nice to our kids and let them drive the scooters etc. They helped us organize our trip, find a taxi driver.

We loved Pisac because the village is wonderful and the location is perfect to visit the Sacred Valley. As it is less high altitude we adjusted very well.

It is however too far to visit MP in one day. When we realised this we cancelled 2 nights and were reimbused by the host without any problem.

We stayed in one of the bungalows and unfortunately we cannot recommend them. The shower did not work, just a trickle. It was dark inside, impossible to read in the sofas, we all stayed around the little table.

One more thing, the B&B is being extended and more roooms are added. The son who was a house next door owns a healing studio and groups are coming for retreats. When we were there this was the case and we felt the odd ones out

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights during our honeymoon. We found it was a great place to stay: really relaxing, friendly and great food at the newly opened restaurant on site. There are also quite a few things to do nearby like the market in Pisac and the Inca ruins which are only a short taxi ride away. The owners are lovely and were only too happy to help with anything we needed. We would definitely recommend it as a place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melissa Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melissa Wasi

Address: Sector Matara s/n, Pisaq, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Pisaq
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Pisaq
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melissa Wasi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very cozy familiar B&B, surrounded by peaceful mountains and beautiful gardens. In Melissa Wasi guests will find the attention and rest they need. Located in the heart of the Sacred Valley, Pisac is the ideal location to begin all the tours. Melissa Wasi has 7 double or matrimonial, full equiped bedoroms and 3 cozy bungalows for a whole family or group of friends with their own chimeney, kitchenet and living room. We also offer a delicious and abundant breakfast (with our pancakes speciality) and the free use of our scooters. Melissa Wasi is the ideal place to feel at home while you are travelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melissa Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melissa Wasi Peru/Pisaq

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melissa Wasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.