We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Sweet Home

Home Sweet Home
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ollantaytambo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home Sweet Home
Save
You added Home Sweet Home to your Saves list
Calle Principal A-2 | Cusco, Ollantaytambo, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
cheltenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Home Sweet Home in Ollantaytambo in December and we loved it, it was clean and cared for and everything worked properly. We were greeted by Luis on our arrival and he could not have been more helpful, he personally showed us the places we wished to go and we will never forget sitting in The Sacred Valley in the garden having the lovely breakfast that he had prepared
The town is small but interesting and it is not far to the train station to go to Machu Picchu. When we were there most of the people we met were locals (all very friendly). This place is unspoilt and well worth a visit. We have just returned to the UK from a round the world trip and we both agree that it was one of the nicest places we stayed.

  • Liked — The location and the service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kamakura, Japan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

We stayed in the Ollantaytambo branch of Home Sweet Home. The hostel was well positioned just a block or so from the main plaza. It was very nicely decorated and the lady who runs it was very sweet and helpful, although she only spoke a tiny bit of English. Breakfast was very pleasant - we ate outside with full views of the mountain behind us.

For us though, there were some important shortcomings. Firstly, the toilet area was a little smelly - this didn't bother me so much but my partner was bothered by it. Secondly, overall cleanliness was below par - mats, floors and bedspreads etc looked very nice but had that 'never been cleaned ever' feel about them. But the real deal-breaker for us was the lack of reliable hot water... We were told upon enquiry that hot water was available 24hrs, but in the 2 nights we stayed there we never really came across it. In the jungle this is fine as it is hot and humid, but Ollantaytambo is quite chilly and the mornings and evenings can be downright cold, so in our minds hot water was a definite necessity which we had to do without.

So all in all, Home Sweet Home was full of spirit and character and really did have that welcoming, 'home'-like feel about it... and it would have been perfect if it were not for a few fatal flaws. If you can put up with the cold showers and are not too worried about a bit of dirt though, the price is very reasonable for a very nice location in a town which in our research we found to be quite expensive overall.

  • Liked — character, location, friendly welcoming feel
  • Disliked — no hot water, not so clean
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

This hostel has 3 locations, I stayed in the one in Cusco. The owner, Catherine, is absolutely lovely, as is the rest of the staff. The hostel is a bit of a climb up the hill from San Blas, but has a great view overlooking the city and is a five minute walk from the Plaza de Armas. San Blas is a safe area with many art galleries, bars, cafes, and shops. The hostel is clean, with hot water, cable tv, DVDs, and a decent breakfast. It does get cold but they will provide extra blankets. See their website at: [--]

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacita
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

The Home Sweet Home is what it's called! You arrive - and feel at home! The hostels furniture is almost luxurious, but prices are reasonable. The breakfast is.. well... go and try it!!! The owner and staff are lovely and when you leave (which might be later than you planned to ;o)) you found new friends. I will be back for sure!

  • Liked — the service, you don't feel like a guest, more like a visitor in the home of friends
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

The scenery in Ollantaytambo is marvelous!!
This hostel have great facilities and services, we got a lot of interesting information about the area and people.

Honestly, we recommend this hostel to everybody who comes to Cusco and want to stay in a peaceful place.

  • Liked — service, facilities and activities near the hostel
  • Disliked — don't change a thing!
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home

Address: Calle Principal A-2 | Cusco, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Sweet Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.