We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apu Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apu Lodge to your Saves list
Apu Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lari Calle s/n | Urubamba, Ollantaytambo 84, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in Ollantaytambo at the Apu Lodge for 5 nights and were extremely pleased and wouldn't hesitate to stay here if we return to the area. We used Apu Lodge as our base of operations for exploring Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley, and Cusco.
As everyone mentions, it is a bit of a hike up a cobblestone path to get to the hotel; however, we arranged a driver through the Lodge who picked us up when we landed in Cusco and he and another staff member helped the three of us get our bags to the hotel (which also showed us where it was!). I will highly recommend contacting the hotel in advance and let them help arrange your arrival, the drivers they use are good, reliable, and quite reasonable (100 Sol for the three of us for door to door service).
The owner and staff at the lodge were friendly and extremely helpful, can't say enough good things about all of them! They all gave great tips, hints, and answered any questions we had (and some we didn't know enough to ask) as well as helping arrange for tours and drivers.
This is an older building in a very old town, if you are looking for a sterile, modern resort, this is not going to be your flavor. Hot water is not always easy to come by later in the day or evening for showers, you are right next to the jungle and surrounded by gardens so there are bugs that may get in the room, and you may notice the power ebbs and flows a bit, but this is Peru and not the Vegas Strip!
From the Lodge, you can easily walk to many restaurants, markets, ATMs/Money Exchanges, and the train station. The train station is about 10-15 minutes for walking, but if you can't handle a little walk, Peru probably wasn't the best choice for your vacation in the first place.
We had a great experience from start to finish and definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor to get the best views from your windows. We had rooms 21 and 22...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    71
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
65
101
29
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Apu lodge was ideal for our stay in Sacred Valley. Louise was especially helpful in organising guides, and her excellent knowledge of the local area. Hostel is up a cobblestone road inaccessible by car but trolleys were organised to take our luggage there. Well worth the short walk to have an awesome view overlooking the ancient ruins from the hostel .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The best way for me to describe this lodge is: good, but nothing special. The part of town it's in is a bit far from everything. It's quite a ways from the train station and taxis can't drive down the old cobblestone road it's on. We arrived at night and trying to find the lodge was a bit difficult, partly because of the old streets of Ollyantaytambo, poor lighting, and the lodge's poor location.

Also, there were all these dead little flies in our bathroom the next morning. I have no idea where they came from but it was weird.

Breakfast was average and wifi service was good. Rooms were generally clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came here for a night after Macchu Picchu - we just wanted a base from which to take a sacred valley tour. To be fair - I think our stay was just a one-off subpar experience, and the staff was very nice and helpful. The reason for the 3 star review was 1) it was very far off the beaten path - maybe would not have been a problem except we were tired from MP 2) hot water didn't work 3) the toilet broke and would not flush. The driver picks you up and does help you take your luggage to the hotel, but it is 7 or 8 min walk over a lot of uneven stones in the dark so if you have a lot of luggage you will need to carry some yourself.

The breakfast was extremely good and the property was very quiet and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in the Sacred Valley for a week late September. Apu Lodge was ideal base and the owner Louise was very helpful in advising where to go - did Machu Picchu by train from here. Wonderful to have local knowledge and help with transfers to/from Cusco. You can see all the local ruins from the hotel and its just a short walk into town for restaurants and shops - main part of town is pedestrian only. Apu Lodge is very comfortable with good showers, duvets and lovely breakfast - they will cook eggs to order each morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on first floor for better views of the ruins but you can see them from the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We enjoyed our 2-night stay at Apu Lodge in October. They had arranged the car and driver who brought us from the Cusco airport to Ollantaytambo with stops at Maray and Salineras on the way, and our driver helped walk our luggage up to the lodge.

We liked the feeling of being in the village and away from traffic, with the sound of running water in the channel by the street. Ollantaytambo is a delightful little town and a pleasant place to explore and get used to the altitude, and we're grateful to all the reviewers on Tripadvisor and elsewhere who suggest starting in the Sacred Valley rather than Cusco. I would have enjoyed another few days in Ollantaytambo to explore the area further.

The lodge grounds are pretty and the view of the ruins from our 2nd-floor room was great. The room itself was somewhat plain but clean and the beds were comfortable, and breakfast was adequate, with bread, fruit, juice, coffee or tea, and either scrambled or fried eggs. We had some pleasant conversations with other guests in the lounge at breakfast and in the evenings.

Aside from the basic rooms, there were two things that were small negatives. We had some of the problems with hot water that others have reported. There is a relatively modern propane hot-water system visible on the north end of the building, but getting it to deliver consistently seems to require some coaxing at times. The staff can advise you on how best to keep the flow hot. Internet access appeared to be through a cellular data provider and adequate but somewhat limited in speed, and wifi was only available in or near the lounge. We accessed our email through our iPhones and had some strange errors with mail server access which we did not experience elsewhere, with both Google and AOL raising security alerts or locking accounts, but I did not try to track down why.

We left most of our luggage with the lodge while overnight at Aguas Calientes/Machu Picchu, and had the car and driver pick us up at the train station with our luggage for the return trip to Cusco. Probably not the budget way to travel, but very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our 3 nights in Ollantaytambo. It's a beautiful complex with gardens on the "outskirts" of town right under two sets of Incan ruins in the mountain just behind the lodge. From the front, you can see the main ruins of the site, which catches the afternoon sun. The "street" is the original walkway with the irrigation channel running down the side, carrying water from the glaciers in the mountains beyond. It's located a little uphill, but not far from the main plaza. I liked the location because you get the sense the what it was like to live in an Incan town when you walk to and from it. The inn is well-maintained, well-staffed, has good coffee and decent breakfasts. The owner is on-sight with her family, and the manager, Carlos Diaz, is very helpful both before and during the stay. He can arrange pickups from the airport, and drivers and guides for the area. He also conducted an evening session on Andean cosmology and took us out with his telescope to see some of the constellations that were/are significant to the Andeans. They kept out luggage while we went to Machu Picchu, and met us with it at the trainstation to take us to Cusco afterward.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apu Lodge

Address: Lari Calle s/n | Urubamba, Ollantaytambo 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apu Lodge is the only hotel of its calibre located in the Inca streets of the village of Ollantaytambo and its position on a terrace gives it a fantastic view from all rooms of the historic fortress and ancient houses. It has spacious gardens and is very peaceful.All rooms have view of the ruins, private bathrooms with excellent shower and are furnished with simple elegance. Owned by Scot and local husband so English spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apu Hotel Ollantaytambo
Apu Lodge Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apu Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.