We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ruins - Worth the Climb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Temple of Ollantaytambo

Temple of Ollantaytambo
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Improve this listing
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An example of magnificent stonework, this ancient ruin originally was a temple and later a fortress used by a number of Incas to repel an attack by the Spanish conquerors.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Ruins - Worth the Climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a very good guide, which made the attraction all the more enjoyable. The ruins are well preserved and there are great views from the top. Be prepared for lots of climbing. Not recommended for people with mobility issues or small children. If you are a bit out of shape, it is do-able, but just take your time and stop often to enjoy the views and take lots of photos.

The climb is also a good warm-up for Machu Picchu

Travel Tip: If you are carrying a water bottle, you can pick up a locally made shoulder carrying case from the vendors outside for about 3 sols - 1 US dollar. Its well worth having your hands free.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    201
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ollantaytambo ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I loved it. The ruins are amazing. Get a guide, because he or she can give you the background of the temple, which is very interesting. Lots of climbing, and a little nerve racking if you are afraid of heights.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I wasn't staying in Ollantaytambo, but would have really loved to stay in this place for a day or two. So this was my day trip before i took the train to Aguas Calientes. The temple of Ollantaytambo is quite stunning, the view is great.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Temple of Ollantaytambo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Fabulous Inca ruins at elevation 12,000+ - worth the climb but I got really sick. Condor travel was great though they sent a doctor an nurse to our room and they fixed me up with a shot and drugs. Wasn't able to eat or drink for 5 days...so consider this an adventurous diet.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Views and steps - just as you expect with Inca ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Even if you don't want to climb all the way to the top, there is plenty to see at the base of these ruins and there are great views of the ruins on the surrounding mountains.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Ollantaytambo also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Temple of Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple of Ollantaytambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Temple of Ollantaytambo to your Saves list