We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of stairs to climb but worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple of Ollantaytambo

Temple of Ollantaytambo
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Improve this listing
Visit Temple of Ollantaytambo like an insider
Top Rated
$83*
and up
Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An example of magnificent stonework, this ancient ruin originally was a temple and later a fortress used by a number of Incas to repel an attack by the Spanish conquerors.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Lots of stairs to climb but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Ollantaytambo ruins are the main and only thing to see in this small town. Ollantaytambo temple can be found at the end of the main road in this town. You need to walk a few minutes to get to the base from the road.

There are over 200 big steps to get to the very top. I have major problems with my spine and initially decided not to climb. Then mind got over matter and I decided to slowly ascend, climbing a few stairs and resting once in a while. My mouth was dry even when I kept drinking sips of water every few minutes. That can be blamed on the altitude here though. I strongly recommend you take plenty of water with you if you are to climb this temple. Having some gum to chew would be a good idea too!

The summit was crowded and at times hard to find space. Going up the stairs you can take some very nice pictures looking down and up. As you climb you go past these terraces where you can rest.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    331
    21
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice site.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I were staying in Ollantaytambo for a few days so of course we had to check out this temple. The site seems well preserved and there are even employees that blow whistles at you if you go off the marked path which was pretty comical. The ticket is very expensive if you aren't planning on visiting other sites in the Sacred Valley. Go early and beat the crowds and the heat and you can see everything in a few hours.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic ruins to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stumbled upon our tour guide , Raul, the afternoon we had arrived in Ollyan ,while we were shopping near the ruins. He answered a question my husband asked outloud.Our family group of 7 ended up going on a tour with him the next morning at 7:30 am- perfect as no tour groups were there from bus tours!Tip: go early to ruins!! He was extremely knowledgeable and was the best tour guide of any tour we had later in MP, Pisac, etc. The ruins there are stunning and interesting-don't miss!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I had done quite a bit of reading prior to our arrival to Peru. However nothing prepared me for the jaw dropping vista of the Temple! The hike up is strenuous but just take your time. You will we well rewarded for your efforts. Be sure to take a jacket as it is breezy at the top. It's hard to imagine that Machu Piccu could be any more awe inspiring!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratt, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent ruins and view of the valley. Get a guide, it makes it so much more meaningful. Hiking to the top is a rather tough hike, but the guides will rest you and explain things along the way.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Ollantaytambo also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Temple of Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple of Ollantaytambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.