We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW 16 massive terraces with 260 steps---well worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple of Ollantaytambo

Temple of Ollantaytambo
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Improve this listing
Visit Temple of Ollantaytambo like an insider
Top Rated
$83*
and up
Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An example of magnificent stonework, this ancient ruin originally was a temple and later a fortress used by a number of Incas to repel an attack by the Spanish conquerors.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“WOW 16 massive terraces with 260 steps---well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

It is not only the largest occupied settlements in the Americas but is is also imposing. My guide said we will walk to the top and take our time. You need about 2 hours to do it right.
Everyone who walked it encouraged the next person that they could make it.
A great 360 degree view was well worth it!!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    330
    21
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wish I could have spent a lot longer here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I was on a tour. We arrived a bit late in the day due to a prolonged lunch on the way in (the temple closes quite early ie around 5). Its one of my biggest regrets of the whole tour as I think this temple is really something very special. I loved Manchu Pichu (of course) but actually felt more energy in a lot of the various locations here. Would definitely need a good tour book or tour guide otherwise wouldnt know or understand all the aspects found within this temple area. There is a lot of history and crooks and crannies to be had here. There is a market directly outside of the temple and it had a lot of history books that I never saw again for the rest of the tour. All in all - wish I had known more about this temple before arriving and wish I had been able to spend more time here. Beware though.. there is no shortage of stairs to look around this location !

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This may have been my favorite Inca ruin. It was STUNNING. My pictures from here are always the ones that get an, "oh my lord, where is that?". It was great. We had a very interesting tour here, had great food, had fun shopping in the market and generally enjoying the views. I mean, literally the only thing that bothered me here was that one waitress tried to charge me tax, but when I said no, I'm not dumb, that was the end of it. I highly, highly recommend visiting Ollantaytambo.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
680 reviews 680 reviews
269 attraction reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
1,791 helpful votes 1,791 helpful votes
“More Impressive Than You'd Expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Ollantaytambo is located about 37 miles (60 km) Northwest of Cusco in the heart of the Sacred Valley of the Incas. This ruins site is unique because it served as both a temple and a fortress for the Incas. You can see the magnificent stonework on the Wall of the Six Monoliths, which is perched on top of the massive Terraces of Pumatallis. There is a stairway leading up to the top of the terraces, where you can gain panoramic views of Ollantaytambo town, the Sacred Valley, the Andes, and the curious Granaries that occupy neighboring cliff faces. You can see the ruins scattered all over the town and the surrounding countryside. The archaeological interest doesn't stop there - you can walk up to the granaries (if you have it in you), and if you walk the paths along the river you'll see vast terraces coating the hillsides.

There is the temple of the fountains at the bottom, where you can see the places where the mummified kings attended ceremony to worship the water source. The stonework is very high quality throughout the site, it is much bigger and more impressive than you'd expect. It's also interesting to see the village from above, where the town is laid out the way it has been for over 700 years. The other parts of the ruins site carved into the rock faces, and the granaries, provide an outstanding effect.

Tip: Stay a night or two in Ollantaytambo town instead of visiting from Cusco. The town is quite charming in itself, and a nice break from Cusco. You can do horseback riding, ATV tours, river rafting, and mountain biking from here. By doing this too, you can visit the ruins in the morning before the hordes from Cusco arrive in the afternoon (around 2:00 PM seems to be the busiest time).

Having been to the ruins around Cusco, this site is much more impressive. If you plan to climb the terraces, just do it at your own pace, and stop to rest along the way. Bring water and a hat. You can buy tickets at the gate or use your pass to all the ruins sites in the area. Take a certified tour guide with you for the best experience.

Caveat: Of course, only visit here if you haven't just been to Macchu Pichu - that should be the last ruins site you visit or you'll spoil all the rest.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Not impressed by this at all. The majority of this site is just numerous levels of retaining walls (or agricultural section). Some decent stonework remains at top but not much. Price is high if you weren't planning on getting the full Cusco tourist ticket.

I went here first and actually started worrying that Macchu Picchu would be overhyped luckly that was not the case...... ruins can be spectaucular but Ollantaytambo doesn't fall into that category.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Ollantaytambo also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Temple of Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple of Ollantaytambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.