We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recuperative overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sauce Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sauce Hostal to your Saves list
Sauce Hostal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ventideiro 248, Ollantaytambo, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Peterborough, Ontario
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Recuperative overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had to descend from the Incan Trail due to altitude sickness and this was a great place to recuperate. The room was very clean and had a view of the ruins. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The hotel is very close to the main square. Not feeling all that great it was nice to have a restaurant on site for a drink and a snack. Breakfast was available and there was a good selection of the typical Peruvian staples. It was abut a 15 minute walk to the train station with access to Machu Picchu. .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    47
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
60
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

After a long car ride from Cusco airport, this hostel was the perfect pit stop for the night before boarding our Peru rail train ride to Aguas Calientes the next day. We booked a room for three and it was big, clean, and quiet. We had the view of the ruins :) They prepared breakfast very early the next day since most of the guests took the first trip to MP. Train station is just a 5min walk away. There is a cash machine at the front door of this hostel :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the river & the ruins
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The negative: the wifi didn't work (it connected but wouldn't load any pages), and the towels were a bit thin.
The positive: the staff were amazing and very helpful. I got a little bit altitude sick and they helped me with that, and they also let us use their facilities to eat some fresh mangoes we had bought after we had checked out. The place is conveniently located. Continental breakfast which was basic but catered for vegetarians.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Virginian
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a night here as we made our way through the Sacred Valley. We enjoyed it. The only drawback was that the whole place had a chemical smell that never dissipated--as if they had just fumigated or painted/varnished.

The room was clean and pleasant with a terrific view of the ruins. We were close to the ruins and the square and a short walk (10 min) to the train station. The staff was nice enough to pack us a boxed lunch to take with us for our very early train ride since we checked out and left before breakfast. They also stored our luggage for us while we went to Machu Picchu.

Bathroom had hot, strong shower.

Wifi signal was too weak to work in the room. Not sure about the signal other parts of the hotel because we weren't that worried about it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Such a great find!!! We got here from Cusco via a collectivo and got dropped off at the square. The hotel is like 30 second walk downhill from the square overlooking the ruins. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the lobby area is nice with a cozy fireplace. One of the staff members had her 1 year old there and he was the cutest baby ever!! The hotel has a restaurant that was started recently by one of their friends and it was the best food we had in cusco. It was gluten free restaurant and we had awesome sushi and gluten free pizza and if you had a little too much to drink that night the bedrooms are just a few stairs away. They also organized a driver for us on our return from Macchu Picchu to visit Maras, Moray and Chinchero who was great and very affordable. They also had awesome breakfast. If you are in Olly you need to stay here.

Room Tip: Get the room that has the views to the ruins. It is a beautiful sight to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanocouver,BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying in this family run hotel and had a quiet rooms facing the ruins. Very clean with comfortable beds

Efraim (sp?),the innkeeper, was very friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great place! My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon trip to Peru. The owners were unbelievably friendly and helpful. They helped arrange transportation around the Sacred Valley to several sites and another time back to Cusco. They got us really good prices, compared to what was on most internet blog sites, with friendly drivers. The view from room 13 is awesome - looks right out over the ruins. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quaint and the price was very reasonable. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get room 13!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sauce Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauce Hostal

Address: Ventideiro 248, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sauce Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Sauce Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hostal Hotel Ollantaytambo
Sauce Hotel Ollantaytambo
Sauce Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sauce Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.