We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm family style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sauce Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sauce Hostal to your Saves list
Sauce Hostal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ventideiro 248, Ollantaytambo, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
md
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Warm family style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Small quaint hotel with family hospitality. Very friendly & helpful staff welcoming us & taking our bags to our rooms upon arrival. Rooms spacious & clean, comfortable beds, hot wonderful shower, & free wi-fi. Had water bottles in room replenished daily along with choc candy & small souvenir. Portable heaters & electrical converter available upon request. Only issues were the fireplace smoke from downstairs drifted upwards to our rooms & the hardwood floors make foot traffic outside the rooms more noticeable but overall a very comfy home style atmosphere. Breakfast was simple but plentiful & eggs cooked per individual requests. Loved the fact that the hotel was so close to the ruins, town square, restaurant & train station making the location ideal. The owner made all feel so welcomed in her home/hotel.

Room Tip: Can ask for room with the view of the ruins or river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    50
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
62
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
unazurda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I booked Hotel Sauce for my family's trip to the Sacred Valley, and Graciela and her staff were wonderful hosts. The place is beautiful, the rooms were comfortable, and we were very central to the Ollantaytambo ruins as well as to the town centers -- the square and the road up from the train station. Graciela is very helpful in getting wake up calls and helping you arrange for transport, if you need it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night on my way to Machu Picchu and it is perfect for a pit stop. The hotel entrance is nice, the bedroom was large with a very comfortable bed , the bathroom a very good size with a good powerful shower. It was spotlessly clean too.
Be warned there is no television in the room which means that if, like me, you are traveling solo and end up in Ollantaytambo around 4pm having already visited the place then it can be a long evening. This is not the hotel's fault of course but had the agency told me I would have brought a book! There was a TV in the downstairs room but when I got back from a local internet cafe later on in the day there were 2 people reading in there and I did not want to disturb them.
I had to be out of the hotel by 6.15am to catch an early train the next morning and asked if I could have breakfast at 6am to which I was told that breakfast didn't normally start till 7am. After a very amicable discussion with the lady at reception (whom I suspect was the owner) I was told me breakfast would be ready for me at 6, now that's service for you. At $90 a night I felt I could ask for someone to go the extra mile. All in all I had a very pleasant experience at this hotel and could not recommend it more.Thank you to all who work there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

What a great little hotel in a charming city! We spent one night in Ollyantaytambo on our way to Machu Picchu. The ruins here are incredible and the Hotel Sauce has great views of the ruins. Our room was basic, but very clean and nice. And the staff was so friendly and helpful. Oh, and the breakfast was delish!

If you're in the area, I'd definitely recommend both Ollyantaytambo and the Hotel Sauce.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Thourghly enjoyed staying in this lovely place. It was clean, quiet and homey. The location was really nice being right in town easy to walk to everything. Perfect spot in Ollantaytambo!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Hostel Sauce was a great place to stay. Clean, good showers, central location, great views of the ruins. Our only problem, which the staff worked quickly to fix was the wood smoke in the rooms on the east side of the hotel. There is a chimney (not belonging to the hotel) outside which pumps out smoke that ends up in the rooms on the east side. They moved us to the west and we were vert happy there for four nights. Most people seem to stay one night in Ollan en route to MP, what a mistake! There is great hiking in town, beautiful ruins that you can gave to yourself in the morning if you arr staying in town, excellent restaurants and its much cheaper than aguas caliente. Hang out at hostel Sauce for a few days You'llove it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Nice play in center of Ollantaytambo. Definitely recommend staying at least 1 night and travelling to Machu Picchu from the train station here. The staff helped us with everything from picking us up in Cusco to making a quick lunch for us for Machu Picchu even when we were running late for the train. They speak very little English, so knowing some Spanish might be helpful. Certainly not a requirement.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sauce Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauce Hostal

Address: Ventideiro 248, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sauce Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sauce Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hostal Hotel Ollantaytambo
Sauce Hotel Ollantaytambo
Sauce Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sauce Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.