We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in wonderful area of Peru” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pakaritampu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Pakaritampu to your Saves list
Hotel Pakaritampu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ferrocarril s/n, Ollantaytambo, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in wonderful area of Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Lovely hotel with great restaurant. Enjoyable visit except wood floors creak when people walk the halls and awake you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    128
    31
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
187
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel is an ideal location from which to explore the Sacred Valley - other sites before or after visiting Machu Picchu. The hotel grounds are incredible, as is the food, and the staff. There is a small bar just above the restaurant as well - which is a good place to meet people from all over the world. The rooms are not luxurious - but they are pretty and clean and roomy. I had not realized I could not take the large piece of luggage I'd brought to Peru .... along with me on the train to Machu Picchu. The hotel recommended a few places I could buy a reasonable, smaller bag - and it was a short walk into town to find one. The town of Ollantaytambo has an incredible fortress which you must visit if you stay at this hotel. I'd definitely recommend staying here - I wish I'd been able to stay two days instead of just the one.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Pakaritampu is located within walking distance to the Ollanta train station (a 3 minutes walk to catch the bus/train to Aguas Calientes) and about a 10 minutes walk to the Ollanta ruins. The hotel grounds are immaculate with a beautiful views of the surrounding mountains and the Inca ruins. Our room was spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. The hotel staff was also very very helpful. We had kept our extra baggage at the hotel before we left of Machu Picchu and we returned at about 10 PM to collect our baggage. Our taxi was supposed to be waiting at the hotel to take us to Cusco. However due to some confusion by the travel agency, our pick up was did not make it. The front desk person (can't recollect his name) was super helpful in calling our travel agent to sort out the situation. Thanks a lot to him (and of course our travel agent - Pachamama's Debbie) in getting us a taxi from Urubamba to take us back to Cusco. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet sanctuary in the Sacred Valley, I would recommend Hotel Pakaritampu. It is a walled compound located not far from the train station. The grounds are very well kept. There are several 2-storey buildings, with one being the lobby area, and the others hotel rooms, and a restaurant.

The rooms are spacious and clean. There is no TV or radio in the rooms which adds to the peacefulness of this property. The bathroom does not come with body lotion, and the shampoo is in single-use packets. Room service is not offered. The restaurant is more than adequate.

Great place to rest after a long day of hiking. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed here two nights. Did the local ruins the first day and Machu Pichu the next. The grounds are nice. The buffet breakfast was very average and eating facilities were very cold / utilitarian. There is supposedly free internet, but it did not work on our computer. When we called the front desk, we were told it would work in the reception area. This did not work. The staff offered to "let" us use their computer at a charge to us. One of the mornings there was absolutely no water. We complained and the staff told us that it was our fault because we had 3 people. ....we booked a triple and thought we were entitled to 3 showers. This was the worst hotel of the trip. Cold atmosphere and little service. Wished we had just stayed at Casa Andina Sacred Valley. The private collection hotel from Casa Andina was excellent

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, NJ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed here on the 3rd of a 3-night stay in Ollantaytambo (our other 2 nights were spent at El Albergue, whcih was sold out the 3rd night).
The garden setting of Pakaritampu is attractive, although maybe a bit too manuicured and out of place in these surroundings.
For the rest: expect sullen service; a pleasant and comfortable, non-descript hotel room; a plain bathroom; and an unbelievably boring dining room which resembles a cafeteria and serves equally boring food. We love to eat....this was the low point of our dining experiences on this trip.
The hotel caters to tour groups and is the largest hotel in town. Contrary to the previous reviewer, it is within easy walking distance of the village (no more thn a 5 min walk at most!).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Liked this hotel. Rooms were nice and the common area was great for relaxing and enjoying a good book. Only problem - too far from Ollantaytambo. Was hoping we could explore the town more - but we got in too late to our hotel and it was too far of a while.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pakaritampu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pakaritampu

Address: Av. Ferrocarril s/n, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#3 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pakaritampu 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name "Pakaritampu" derives from the Quechua words "pakari" which means "dawn" and "tampu" wich means "home"..Pakaritampu Hotel is located in the Sacred Valley in the village of Ollantaytambo to 2minutes from the train station with direct connection to Machupicchu. The town of Ollantaytambo is the starting point of the Inca Trail, a beautiful place thatoffers various tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pakaritampu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakaritampu Hotel Ollantaytambo
Hotel Pakaritampu Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pakaritampu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.