We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pakaritampu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Pakaritampu to your Saves list
Hotel Pakaritampu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ferrocarril s/n, Ollantaytambo, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Union City, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Scenic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Good place to stay at the Sacred Valley. For those who has altitude sickness, this is a better alternative than staying in Cusco. A few minutes walk to the train station going to Machu Picchu. Excellent view of the mountain with colorful trees and flowers. Free breakfast and Wifi included. Short walk to the market/town.
After a full day tour of Machu Picchu, it is nice to relax here and not have to travel back to Cusco which is about 2hours away from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    128
    31
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
187
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed 3 night at Hotel Pakaritampu with a birdwatching group. It was the nicest hotel of all the places we stayed over 30 days and we stayed in quality hotels everywhere we visited. The rooms were clean, quiet, tastefully decorated and the grounds were fantastic. There were hummingbirds everywhere. The food in the restaurant was excellent as well. It was the highlight of our trip. Close walking distance to the train station or town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Location: Ollantaytambo is a lovely town with a nice square and Inka ruins on your door step. The hotel is a short walk from the town and 2 minutes from the railway station that takes you to Machu Picchu
Hotel: Surrounded by mountains this floral and fauna paradise has a rustic feel and spiritual calmness
Food: Breakfast and the alpaca dinner we had was good
Service: Generally very good except getting served in the bar (It was very quiet being as it was the off-season)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level so that there is less chance you will be woken with the sound of g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were staying here for a one night stopover as close as possible to the railway station so we could catch the early train to Macchu Piccu in this small touristy town and weren't expecting too much. (3minutes walk to the station!!!!)

Warmly greeted by a porter and polite, friendly, efficient, informative, reception staff and taken to our room quickly.

The hotel is a series of two storey buildings in a campus style in beautiful grounds creating an air of open space and relaxation. Note: no elevators.

Too be absolutely frank the rooms are basic by city standards, no fridge, tea/coffee, safe, a/c, heater, or other trimmings.

But the rooms were clean, everything provided worked and was in good order, the beds comfy, plenty of hot water (let it run for a few minutes first), free WiFi that worked. Overnight, when the trains stopped running, silence reigned, and a great sleep (the adjoining street is a deadend (the station) and has a no tooting ordinance for drivers. Did not see or hear another guest for the whole stay although they were others there - they must spread them out when they can.

We were the only people in the restaurant that night and while English was not well understood and service noticebly at a snails pace we had an enjoyable meal (Hey Peruvians whats with all the salt!). The following morning (5am) we were also the only people in the restaurant and a great selection was out for us and eggs cooked to order.

If we were ever in Ollantaytambo again, would definitely stay here again. So convenient, unpretentious & basic, but friendly, delivers on what it promises.

Room Tip: Not sure, but suspect they are all much of a muchness. If limited mobility request a ground floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The grounds of this hotel were lovely and peaceful but the rooms were very basic. They didn't have fans or air conditioning and they could do with an update and some modern amenities. Service was a bit slow in the restaurant and we had to take a small "moto taxi" to the town since the walk was too long and difficult in the altitude for the older and younger people in the group. Just too pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were so happily surprised by this hotel. It is a well-kept cottage style hotel with beautiful gardens and terraces in the charming Sacred Valley town of Ollantaytambo. It is on a street that prohibits honking cars, so this was our first hotel in all of Peru that we could easily fall asleep in. The location is perfect for catching the train to Macchu Picchu. It's also in walking distance to town square and the ruins. I wished we had stayed here more than one night. It was a very relaxing, enjoyable spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Really enjoyed a pisco sour up on the terrace garden watching the sun set on the ruins of Ollantaytambo. Gardens on the grounds were very nice. Quiet place. Breakfast was good. Short walk into town, but would recommend dinner at El Auberge (spelling?) just over the train tracks. Room was spacious, bed firm-ish, decor ok but not as nice as the rest of the grounds. Would be happy to go back there. Service also good.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pakaritampu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pakaritampu

Address: Av. Ferrocarril s/n, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pakaritampu 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name "Pakaritampu" derives from the Quechua words "pakari" which means "dawn" and "tampu" wich means "home"..Pakaritampu Hotel is located in the Sacred Valley in the village of Ollantaytambo to 2minutes from the train station with direct connection to Machupicchu. The town of Ollantaytambo is the starting point of the Inca Trail, a beautiful place thatoffers various tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pakaritampu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakaritampu Hotel Ollantaytambo
Hotel Pakaritampu Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pakaritampu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.