We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic place, amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Save Saved
You added El Albergue Ollantaytambo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Ollantaytambo
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Magic place, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was probably our favourite place on our trip to Peru and the food was definitely up there with the best. It was such a visual treat walking to our room through the garden, a small oasis.

We loved both of our rooms but preferred the garden room for the overall view and quietness. We loved the look and feel of the rooms with fresh flowers and glass water bottles.

Enjoy happy hour between 6 and 7 with two for one pisco sours and nibbles until your dinner booking comes up. The frozen lemonade here is a standout with the addition of mint. Dinner here is not to be missed, there are none of the usual Peruvian standbys such as pizza and lomo saltado Pricing is the same as elsewhere and there is an organic farm on site, hence quality ingredients. There is a musician playing in the dining room every night which adds to the atmosphere.

We loved stopping in at Café Mayu right on the station platform for a tea, coffee and yummy chocolate brownies to enjoy in the garden after a trip out.

Breakfast though is quite an ordinary affair despite the high benchmark for dinner. There was no milk to put on the muesli, just pouring yoghurt. together with 3 types of fruit, 3 pieces of toast and eggs (fried, scrambled or pancake)

They are happy to store bags if you are heading off to M.P. Reception also organised a 6 hour trip to Pisac for USD95 and a transfer back to Cusco for USD65 for us.

We will certainly be making a detour back here in the future, its a perfect base for exploring the valley or heading up to M.P.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor garden room first stay , no 13 and balcony room, no 12 for the second. We like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    520
    193
    40
    21
    5
See reviews for
162
383
49
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at El Albergue in October. The hotel was in a beautiful setting, our rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. The location right at the train station was very convenient and quiet in spite of the trains. We rarely heard them. The breakfasts had lots of variety. We ate every dinner at the restaurant because the menu had lots of choice and every meal was well prepared and delicious. We highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Room 16 has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was exactly what I was hoping for. Very clean and nicely decorated. Staff was extremely friendly and always willing to help. Located next to the train station which was perfect for trips to Machu Picchu. Short walk to ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Beautiful setting, cozy rooms, fantastic intimate restaurant with live and authentic music, the best place to get the train to Machu Picchu. But the hot water was very spotty, as was the water pressure, and the early morning train will wake you up whether you're catching it or not. It is also a bit of a walk to the town square which, at night, can seem very long and dark. Otherwise, a great experience with soft beds, excellent wines and good coffee.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

El Albergue is perhaps the best hotel/B&B I've ever had the pleasure to stay, and certainly the best train station ever.

Our room was inspiring with beautifully rustic furnishings that didn't overwhelm & multiple four-paneled hardwood windows (works of art in their own right) -- it was the kind of room you never want to leave. Their on-site restaurant served a delicious breakfast & dinner, varied for any taste while still being unique. But best of all was the service: Sergio at the front desk is one of the kindest & funniest people working in the business, a fact known to everyone who stays here. He personally walked us through El Albergue's gardens, picking fresh herbs for my lady & I to sample while our farm lunch was being prepared under boiling-hot stones. I'll never forget the food or the experience.

We loved it here so much that when our train returning from Machu Picchu broke down near Ollantaytambo, we leapt right out to stay another night in this gem of a place.

Don't miss it -- it's the best place in the wooooorld!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Okay so I know this is like one of the best places to stay at in Olly but we tried a night at hostel sauce and I felt more at home there then here. We had less than warm welcome when we got to the hotel and the rooms were nice but lots of bugs, especially flies. We did eat the restaurant which was phenomenal but we continued to see the lack of friendliness from the people that worked there. Seemed like the guy (not sure if he was the owner) at the restaurant was too busy to say hello even though we were only one of the 3 patrons in the entire place that night. He seemed to be taking care of a larger group that was spending more a lot better. The breakfast was great and the morning staff actually seemed a lot nicer. Beautiful garden to sit and relax and play board games which we did. Overall the property was great but wish the owners realized the value of customer service.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the train tracks unless you have an early am train
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We read the recommendations on Trip Advisor when we made our decision to stay at the El Albergue. Every aspect was better than we expected. Sergio took care of everything from airport transfers to all day tour of the Sacred Valley. The town and ruins in Ollantaytambo is worth exploring. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Albergue Ollantaytambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.