We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUr favorite stop in Peru” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Albergue Ollantaytambo to your Saves list
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OUr favorite stop in Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Albergue provided us with the most enjoyable overall experience of our three weeks in Peru. The room was so comfortable and pretty. We felt safe and welcome. The sauna was relaxing and refreshing. The staff helped us considerably, storing luggage, answering questions and providing information. The grounds and gardens are beautiful. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the coffee. I highly recommend staying at the Albergue.

Room Tip: WE loved the balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    233
    53
    30
    7
See reviews for
199
451
61
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A very friendly hotel in a great location with a fine restaurant, this hotel tries hard to please. With one exception. It lacks heat. Technically, it has little oil filled radiators in the rooms, but we found that ours only put out enough heat for the bathroom, barely. Granted the depth of winter in July only produced temperatures down to about 30 degrees fahrenheit when we were there, but it was cold enough to make coming out from under the comfortable down duvets downright undesirable. Bring your best fur-lined jammies if you plan to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed one night and was amazed by the beautiful vibe and ambience of the place. The hotel was the first in ollantaytambo and was later developed again in the 60s. The rooms are wooden and spacious but he gardens and the view to the mountains are breathtaking. The private sauna to the side if the hotel was an enjoyable experience as it was Fire lit with stones on top of the stove with eucalyptus leaves on top. The breakfast was included and was first rate pancakes
eggs etc. the staff are very friendly. The hotel is conveniently on the train station.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I rarely review on this site although I consult it every time I travel. Felt the need to provide some input since planning a trip to peru can be pretty overwhelming. We visited ollantaytambo, Machu Picchu, manu cloud forest, and cusco in that order. El albergue was the perfect place to enjoy ollantaytambo because of the location, the food, and the charm of the hotel. It was awesome to be able to so easily access the train station which is a major hub in between cusco and MP, not to mention how fun it was to just sit at the hotel restaurant and watch all of the people coming and going. The hotel gardens are beautiful and the rooms are clean and comfy. Even though the rest of the vacation was awesome was def sad to leave ollantaytambo and el albergue!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

El Albergue, should be listed as a heritage building, built in the 1920’s as a train station hotel, still maintains the original architecture complimented by the owner’s paintings hung on the walls. The gardens are lovely, with humming birds indigenous to the valley.

The hotel is committed to sustainability practices with the agriculture of the valley by supporting the restaurant with an organic farm and Pachamama traditional wood stove oven lunch available with advance reservations. The food is picked on the premises and the restaurant offers delicious foods. The hotel discourages guests from buying plastic bottles and offer filtered water for the guests. Recycling is part of the protocol of El Albergue.

The rooms are nicely appointed, clean and warm. A sauna is included in the price of the room, though I found this out later. The best part of this experience was the customer service and the service received by Sergio! Sergio assisted in every way possible to make our trip to the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu hassle free from transportation, tour tickets, information and a welcoming smile. Our only regret is we neglected to get this review done sooner to share with others our wonderful experience with Sergio and El Albergue Hotel. We will recommend this hotel to all friends and fellow travelers. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Book in advance not to miss this exceptional experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
609 reviews 609 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Albergue was without a doubt the best hotel we stayed at during our Peru trip. Very nice setting in a garden with wonderful trees and flowers, really nice spacious room in a rustic style (the paintings on the wall by the owner Wendy Week are at least ... Interesting), outstanding service including the presence of an American student for spanish-english translation, cost-effective and fast laundry service, very good food and fast service in the restaurant (see also separate review). Room equipped with safe, but not with TV nor Coffee maker.

No trouble with noise from the trains at night, the last one blasts its horns at about 10pm.

The hotel is basically part of the railway station which is REALLY convenient for your rather exhausting trip to Machu Picchu. Just hop from breakfast, which start very early at 05.30, into the train. And coming back from Machu Picchu, it is 2 minutes to your shower and 30 minutes to your fabulous dinner!

If a taxi driver does not know about the hotel (like ours coming from Cusco) just ask them to take you to Ollantaytambo station.

At the end of the stay, the hotel arranged our taxi transport (at the fairly stiff price of 65 US dollars after negotiation down from 75) to Cusco and it was confirmed to be included on the bill by the receptionist (regrettably checkout happened in the absence of the friendly translator lady). However upon arrival in Cusco the Taxi driver received a phonecall from the hotel that the bill had NOT been included. To avoid ending the tremendously good stay in an argument, we paid the driver in cash.

Overall very much recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor room 13 was just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is a perfect place to explore the region and to go to Machu Picchu and Cusco - it is just by the train station where Hiram Bingham (and other) train stops on the way to\from MP. The rooms are nice, spacious, have character. Houses are set in a garden and the view from the terrace is extremely beautiful with snow mountains on horizon.
The restaurant is also good and the staff is friendly and helpful.
So I would highly recommended for exploring the Sacred Valley and for acclimatizing

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Albergue Ollantaytambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.