We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a total gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Albergue Ollantaytambo to your Saves list
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a total gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

this is one of the sexist little inns I stayed at while in Peru. very nicely done rooms, gardens, and food is great. don't be put off by it being directly adjacent to the trains, the distrubance is very minimal.

Room Tip: second floor rooms have a superior view over ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    233
    53
    32
    7
See reviews for
200
452
61
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The El Albergue hotel and restaurant are definitely worth stopping off in Ollantaytambo for. It's quite difficult to find unless you are coming by train; the entrance is directly off the platform, but instead of stepping into a ticket office, the entrance opens up into a lush and secret garden, enclosed by lovely 1920's colonial buildings. The service is great, the rooms are simple but somehow quite luxurious, and the restaurant is fantastic - with fresh produce from their farm. And they do the best chocolate brownies - and Pisco Sours - in Peru. We only spent two nights here, but would dearly loved to have spent another week. We loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back which will be further from the trains. The first floor rooms have lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent three nights at El Albergue and loved it! It has a real charm to it and the staff are incredibly friendly. Small little courtyards dotted among the dozen or so rooms make it a peaceful place to relax. The rooms are large enough, not fancy, but you have everything you need. You can hear the trains a bit, but it is nice rather than annoying. The breakfast was included in our room and was excellent, the service even better. We ate two dinners there and they were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This locations was great, being right next to the train station was convenient and fun. The walk up to the centre of town was easy (maybe 10min). The staff were very friendly and the rooms were very spacious. Breakfast was ok but dinner was excellent, and the 2-1 Pisco Sours were enjoyed by all while watching the trains go by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

One of the highlights on our trip to Peru, other than MachuPichu. great boutique hotel on the rail line, very easy to catch the train to Aguascalientes. The rooms where spacious and clean, great garden areas to sit in and enjoy the surroundings. The meals in the restaurant where very good, but a little slow at times depending on the number of patrons there, as there was only one waitress. Bartenders made us great pisco sours for happy hour 2-1

Never heard a single train in the morning or evening as we stayed in room 14 near the rear of the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I loved this hotel. Its gorgeous. Set in a beautiful garden, with a farm next door, surrounded my magestic mountains and ancient Incan ruins. The restuarant is the best I had in all of Peru, and I travelled for a month extensively. There is a Sauna, a bathtub, hot water ( obviously), gigantic beds. Its really fantastic. And as a renovator myself, I loved the floors...the sinks...the entire interior decoration. It was perfect to simply wake up, have breakfast, and physically watch our train pull into the station, board it, and bam! in Machu Pichu within a few hours. dont bother stressing yourself out, trying to find some other option. This is THE BEST option for a hotel for anyone travelling to Machu Pichu via train, even just a best option for anyone staying in Ollyantantambo. And no, because it is located at train station, I think I should add, my sister and I never heard one train, except for the one we boarded to go to Machu Pichu on.

Room Tip: Garden Suites. The open onto a patio that overlooks a beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is in a great spot if you are staying overnight in ollantaytambo before going to macch picchu. It is right on the st,ation but a room that overlooks the garden blocks out all sounds. The rooms were clean.
BUT... I couldn't help but feel the hotel is overpriced and badly run.. Service is pretty average. For example we askedif they could arrange a trip to maras ans salinaras. We were quoted $ 95 but were able to get anew taxi with driver for about $40.
When our rooms were cleaned the doors we left unlocked.
The restaurant is touted as organic but the food can only be classed as poor and overpriced. My meal was inedible and even though i couldn't eat it i was still charged.
When we went to check out we were charged an Extra 10%. Luckily i had retained my invoices from when i booked that showed a total price that did not include the 10%. Afterr an argument we paid what we had agreed earlier.
So in summary i couldn't recommend this place. There are far cheaper and better alternatives.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElAlbergue, Manager at El Albergue Ollantaytambo, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to review El Albergue, I am sorry to hear you were not pleased with your stay here.

As to your complaints about transportation costs, I would like to say that El Albergue offers a fully licensed and insured minivan service on which we pay taxes, guarantee your personal items, and offer the convenience of paying with a credit card. You might understand that this costs more than your average sedan taxi on the street, which do not comply with government regulations.

There is a 10% gratuity charge which we distribute amongst all of the hotel workers and which is clearly stated on our website, and at reception, unfortunately at the time of your reservation this was not posted on venere.com where you reserved and so we did not charge you for this service, we are sorry for any misunderstanding that may have occurred.

Finally, I am surprised to hear you were charged for your meal, it is our policy to exchange any meal that is not to our customers liking, although this is not the case with the vast majority of customers who rave about the food and service here.

Kind regards,

Joaquín Randall
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Albergue Ollantaytambo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.