We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Esquina Cafe-Bakery

La Esquina Cafe-Bakery
Plaza de Armas, Ollantaytambo, Peru
084 204078
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, International, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The food was delicious and healthy. Highly recommend the quinoa salad and the chocolate chip cookies. The owner was so nice - even sold us empanadas after she had closed the bakery and refilled our water bottles with safe drinking water. She also gave us lots of suggestions for things to around the town. One of our faves was her suggestion of spending some time with a local named Julio who offered wood carving classes. The afternoon we spent with Julio was by far one of our favorite days of the whole trip. He's a sweet, humble man and a great teacher even with a language barrier present. By the end of our class we felt like we were a part of Julio's family. All part of the wonderful small-town experience you get in Ollantaytambo. So wished we spent more time in this town!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    104
    35
    12
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Okay for a quick snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Good:

- right on the main plaza (that's where you arrive to Ollantaytambo if you get there by car/bus)
- pleasant decor and atmosphere
- okay coffee and big salad portions

Not so good:

- have wifi, but the internet was very slow when we were there
- service could've been better, otherwise, you feel like you ordered something in a supermarket and get your meal

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a great cafe with awesome food that is clean, organic and totally affordable. One of the owners is from Seattle and was so helpful! I had El Moro and my husband had the sesame crusted chicken sandwich. Don't skip out on dessert, you will not regret it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“very helpful owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We got good tips on what to do while in Ollanta (go see Julio and his wood carvings!) and their sandwiches and Empanadas were awesome:)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great little cafe -- and great spot to fill your water bottle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stopped in here to have breakfast one morning before hiking. It was a great little spot! The food was yummy and very filling (I had an egg sandwich, and my friend had an omelet and coffee). Sometimes when you're traveling, you want really authentic food, and sometimes you want something familiar. This is one of those places to visit when you're craving familiarity (when you're familiar with western food, that is). The decorations were really cute, and because of that, we half expected it to be really overpriced compared to other restaurants in town. But it wasn't -- it was along the same price range. The service was also great.

I particularly liked that they offer free refills for your water bottles. The area does not have the infrastructure to properly deal with all the excess plastic bottles tourists buy as they're traveling through the country. Thoughtfully, this cafe will give you clean, filtered water for free (and you don't have to buy anything). It's a great spot.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina Cafe-Bakery also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to La Esquina Cafe-Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Esquina Cafe-Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.